Local online pub guide
North London Branch real ale pubs
- Belsize Park
- Sir Richard Steele
oc.bupseleetseht@olleh(020) 7483 1261
97 Haverstock Hill
29/07/18 - Reopened. Four new unused pumps (a bank of three and an isolated single), a recent visit saw two in use which given the time of year sounds sensible. The evening closing is described as "until late" so midnight has been assumed. The food serving times are not known.
After a long campaign against by CAMRA and local residents, planning permission was finally given for conversion of the upper floors to flats involving the loss of the first floor bar. From the Camden New Journal of 04/01/18, "After a long-running planning wrangle, which saw Faucett Inn go to a Whitehall planning inspector to appeal a decision by the Town Hall to block its scheme, it won permission to renovate upper floors and create a new function area on the ground floor. It is also building new toilets and a kitchen.
An extremely popular, multi-roomed corner pub, brimming with bric-a-brac and paraphernalia. With a patio garden to one side it is hard to miss the huge corner sign advertising the defunct Wests Brewery which it once was then passing to Charringtons. There is a fine bowed stained glass window. Sir Richard Steele (1672-1729) hailed from Ireland and was a literary man founding in his time both Tatler and the Spectator. Food served all day at weekends.
ku.oc.daetspmahnotgnihsaweht@yriuqne(020) 7722 8842
50 Englands Lane
Popular and imposing Victorian corner pub. Extensively retained period woodwork together with lots of cut and etched glass complimenting the stucco ceiling and island bar. Listed on CAMRA's National Inventory of historic pub interiors for its surviving interesting Victorian fittings. Features to admire include the entrance floor mosaic proclaiming "Washington Hotel and Billiards", the wall tiling and the lovely painted mirrors towards the rear with their pictures of flaura and fauna. There is a separate meeting room/bar downstairs, capacity 60. Beers rotate, two or three guests usually on. Building dates from 1865. Named after the village of Washington in Sussex, whence hailed the first licensee. The pub involves itself in the local community including sponsoring the Washington Cricket Club.
- Sir Richard Steele oc.bupseleetseht@olleh(020) 7483 1261 97 Haverstock Hill Belsize Park NW3 4RL
- Bounds Green
ku.oc.11nhgalenareht@yriuqne(020) 8361 4238
82 Bounds Green Road
Impressive looking pub with a large, pleasant garden with a traditional wood-panelled interior, open fire in winter months. The beers available can change, has also had Adnams Broadside, Greene King IPA, Timothy Taylor Landlord, Wychwood Left Back. Occasional tap takeovers which seems to focus on "craft keg" beers, see their website for details and for their menus.
- Ranelagh ku.oc.11nhgalenareht@yriuqne(020) 8361 4238 82 Bounds Green Road Bounds Green N11 2EU
- Chalk Farm
moc.esirpretnenedmac@ofni(020) 7485 2659
2 Haverstock Hill
Victorian pub outside Chalk Farm station. Medium-sized interior with connecting front and back rooms. Plenty of entertainments in the upstairs room, including comedy, live music, poetry readings. Seating on the pavement. Has reopened after a brief closure for a refurbishment in Sept 2016. Food and hotel rooms. The original Courage fascia has been revealed, including rare Alton (Hampshire) Pale Ale lettering.
- Enterprise moc.esirpretnenedmac@ofni(020) 7485 2659 2 Haverstock Hill Chalk Farm NW3 2BL
ten.yrubsneeuqeht@ofni(020) 8452 0171
110a Walm Lane
Fairview New Homes (North London) Ltd bought the Freehold from the Conservative Association in 2012 and lodged a planning application to demolish the pub and replace with a 10 storey block of flats, with no pub. In November 2013 new plans, for a 10 storey block with a pub, were submitted. Brent refused permission in March 2014 and Fairview appealed. February 2015 - appeal was refused. The Queensbury pub leases part of the building from the freeholder.
Fairview New Homes (North London) Ltd changed its name to Redbourne (Queensbury) Ltd in September 2016. In 2018 Redbourne submitted three new plans – one in January which was refused by Brent Council in May and two in December. Both new plans – referred to as Scheme A and Scheme B were both refused in June 2019. Redbourne have appealed all three. The first of the three schemes mentioned above was subject to a Public Inquiry in August 2019 and the outcome is expected in November 2019.
2019 October – the Appeals for Schemes A and B has started, and a public inquiry date to follow on 12th December 2019 for approx. 6 days. More details can be found on Save The Queensbury website: http://savethequeensbury.info
The front terrace (with gas heaters) proves to be a busy spot, especially in the summer and there's a restaurant at the back. in between is one room containing a mixture of large sofas and armchairs, tables and stools. Visiting in September 2019, there were four ale pumps on, including Doom Bar and Sharps Atlantic. They also have excellent cocktails and a good selection of wine available and a kid's menu.
The Queensbury has weekly pub quizzes, fortnightly jazz Sundays, and fortnightly Saturday DJs. Busy Rascals, a club for babies and toddlers also use the pub. The Sunday roast is excellent and the pub also host Thursday steak nights. The operators also run The Royal Oak in Bushey. The Queensbury pub is a landmark building in the Mapesbury Conservation Area.
The local Conservative Association coffers likely did well out of this conversion of a part o The operators also run The Royal Oak in Bushey.
- Queensbury ten.yrubsneeuqeht@ofni(020) 8452 0171 110a Walm Lane Cricklewood NW2 4RS
- Crouch End
- Harringay Arms
(020) 8348 4813
153 Crouch Hill
Closed July 2017, reopened 08/12/17, as one of Enterprise's managed expert partnerships. The following was written before the change -
Small community pub with a friendly welcome, opened in 1877. Easily Crouch End's most traditional real ale pub, when it serves real ale (can be erratic especially wid-week)- small from the outside, cosy on the inside. One wall features historical maps of Crouch End, another has old photos of Irish authors, playwrights and poets. Two televisions offer Sky sports to a discerning audience without dominating the pub. in contrast to the modern trend, the pub still has its dartboard; if you would rather stay seated chess boards are available on request. There is a small outdoor area for smokers at the back of the pub. Like many N8 pubs it hosts a quiz night, the Harringay's offering takes place on Tuesdays.
- Kings Head
ku.oc.dnehcuorcdaehsgnikeht@yriuqne(020) 8340 1028
2 Crouch End Hill
The first thing you notice about the Kings Head is the lack of an apostrophe in its name, either on the frontage or the pub sign, which depicts the King of Hearts from the traditional deck of cards. The second is the inside of the pub, which the large windows make easily visible from the street. The pub is renowned for live entertainment, with comedy downstairs three times a week, live music on Fridays and jazz on Sunday afternoons. There is also a quiz on Wednesday nights. The walls are adorned with photos of comedians, and there is plenty of comfortable seating to study them from. As well as real ale and cider, foreign brews such as Hoegaarden, Franziskaner, Leffe and Fruli are on sale. There is an extensive menu.
- Maynard Arms
ku.oc.8nsmradranyam@ofni(020) 8341 6283
70 Park Road
A gastro conversion a few years ago, now a part of Greene King's Metropolitan Pub Co brand which has led to more guest beers. For a single bar pub, it is on the large side and in warm weather the doors open straight onto the courtyard. Food serving times and current menu best found from their website. Camra card carrying members get 10% off their pints. Presently have four changing beers, and continue to stock Greene King IPA permanently. As a rule the pub tries to only order ales from London Breweries. While the offer is changed as much as often, they stock Truman's, Sambrook's, Twickenham and Portobello more than any other breweries.'
- Harringay Arms (020) 8348 4813 153 Crouch Hill Crouch End N8 9QH
- Dalston Kingsland
- Railway Tavern Ale House
(020) 3092 3344
2 St Jude Street
Under the new operators, the left side of bar has been extended with pizza oven added. The l/h area is now more visible as curtains removed and bar counter servery curves to the left side and rear now around the pizza oven. Fireplace located in a cosy corner with armchairs. Until late 2018 had been run by the same team that manage The Pineapple, NW5 and Tapping The Admiral.
Beers from such as 5 Points and ELB. There is also a good range of craft kegs. The confusingly, named and smaller Railway Tavern on Kingsland Rd in E8 has now closed. Was for a while called Old Henry's Freehouse it reverted to the original name.
- Railway Tavern Ale House (020) 3092 3344 2 St Jude Street Dalston Kingsland N16 8JT
- East Finchley
- Clissold Arms
ku.oc.smradlossilc@ofni(020) 8444 4224
105 Fortis Green
In February 2006 CAMRA initiated a programme to celebrate the impact of pubs in history (Pubs in Time) and the Clissold Arms was only one of two pubs in London to receive a prestigious plaque commemorating the fact that the pub was the site of the first public performance of Ray and Dave Davies, the founding members of the Kinks. Situated between East Finchley and Muswell Hill, The Clissold Arms is a popular local pub, often commended for being family friendly. In 2014 it was awarded Best Family Pub in the South East and London by the Morning Advertiser."
- Clissold Arms ku.oc.smradlossilc@ofni(020) 8444 4224 105 Fortis Green East Finchley N2 9HR
- Finsbury Park
moc.letohdleifsnocaeb@sgnikoob(020) 8826 5200
357 Green Lanes
Welcome installation of real ale in one of Harringey's oldest public houses, still retaining many original features and character. Quiz night Thursdays, pool tournaments Fridays, and DJs on Saturday.
moc.bupkcotskcalb@ofni(020) 7561 1337
284 Seven Sisters Road
It has just (March 2016) reopened after a makeover. Now with see through windows, stripped floor, bare walls and brickwork, large clear windows, small central assume original bar, one large open room now. Tons of space assume for match days. Somewhat pricey! Adnams Ghost Ship at £4.40/pint March 2016.
moc.liamg@rabahahuorb(020) 8348 8553
499-501 Green Lanes
Intimate bar with soft ambient lighting. Look for the smallish back seating area designed for courting couples?!!! Front area has a combination of brick and wooden walls with an attractive black tiled bar with bar stools on one side . Rustic wooden tables and seating. Range of tapas style bar snacks. Two outside benches for smokers and to watch the traffic. A former Indian restaurant converted into a pleasant pub around 2006. There is a roof terrace which does not stay open as long as the bar, details are on their website.
In late 2018, a wine bar next door, operated by Brouhaha, became a more integral part by knocking through an archway (next door to the left as you look at the bar) to join the two premises together.
ku.oc.doowsnworbeht@reganam(020) 8802 0494
271 Green Lanes
Note - payment by card only, no cash.
This Victorian pub stands between Stoke Newington, Finsbury Park and Manor House, just a couple of hundred yards from the North West entrance to Clissold Park. It re-opened in early August 2011, and is run by the same family who run the Rose and Crown and Jolly Butchers (both in N16) and the Wrestlers in Highgate. This has seen the introduction of a wide range of cask beers and ciders and an imaginative food offering served from an open kitchen, full details of which can be found on their website. The first floor has been opened up to provide a lounge and there's a large beer garden together with outside seating on the street. There are some very impressive brewery mirrors including a Bass one built into an ornate wooden fireplace, together with some nice etched glass features. Closest tube - Manor House about 10 minute walk or take 141/341 bus. Bus 106 passes by to get to Stoke Newington/Finsbury Park station.
- Faltering Fullback
moc.kcabllufgniretlaf@ofni(020) 7272 5834
19 Perth Road
Local' pub that's always busy. Three small seating areas with two clustered around the bar and one to the side more like a private room with a friendly atmosphere enhanced by careful use of lighting. The side bar leads into a larger back room with picnic tables, pool table and a Thai kitchen at rear. Food is served 18.30 - 22.30. When you step out into the back you enter what at first seems like a small, ground floor walled garden but this quickly opens up to a series of higher level decking linked by stairs which probably doubles the overall area of the pub. Smoking permitted outside. It is hard to do justice in words so go to the pub's website which offers a virtual tour. The flowers are truly a tour de force both at the front of the pub and in the garden. in keeping with its name TV screens show football and rugby. The handpumps in the back bar are quite old but only those in the front seem to be used. Retains some old Courage insignia on the exterior. Guest beer regualrly seems to come from Truman's. Quiz Monday.
ku.oc.yrubsnifeht@sreganam(020) 8809 1142
336 Green Lanes
Another pub to have had a refurbishment, just up from Manor House tube. It has been through many disguises in the past including the infamous Mr Q chain and now features live music or anther live event every evening, there being a stage in the back room. It had a thorough clean up and is darker and moodier than before although during daylight the huge picture windows admit plenty of light and there is ample seating with lots of larger tables for sharing and eating. Lots of exposed brickwork, open pizza kitchen and some books on the window sills to read. Large, pleasant front terrace.
- Kings Head
(020) 7359 6350
126 Blackstock Road
A basic, street-corner pub of a type once common but now increasingly under threat. Very much a locals' pub with friendly bar staff and no other pretensions. It has quite an impressive exterior with some old beer advertising signs indicating its once Courage ownership. The pub is long and thin with most of it extending down the side street (Monsell Rd.), the decor is pleasant enough being carpeted throughout and ample seating with a dart board at the far end. There's a large screen TV although it did not seem to feature Sky Sports. No evidence of food, customers seemed to be bringing in their own without any problem.
ku.oc.sgnuoy@tsilarutan(020) 3437 0770
14 Woodberry Down
Opened August 2018 in a new development close to the banks of the Woodberry Down reservoir.
- Old Ale Emporium
(020) 8348 6200
405 Green Lanes
Small corner-house pub with mix of students and locals. Following a renovation this pub now has a lovely atmosphere. There is a heated covered area for smokers, a polished wood floor, nice furniture, celebrity photos on the wall and a jukebox with 5000 selections. The guest ales come from the Heineken list and can be quite varied. Greene King Abbot has been a regular but has recently been replaced by a seasonal from Belhaven. In August 2017 there was also a collaboration brew between Hydes and a US brewer. alongside Spitfire Gold. Basically the cellar man will choose what he thinks is a good beer and will be popular with his clientele which can produce unexpected surprises at a fair price (£3.50 as pint in Aug 2017). In summer 3 pumps are running but this can stretch to four in winter.
- Park Tavern
(020) 7561 8501
164 Tollington Park
Friendly, two room pub, much used by the Irish. Real ale restored in 2013 at a very reasonable £2.50 a pint. Doom bar might be on instead of Coaster. A recent refurbishment has result in the restoration of the Wenlock Ales signage.
- Stapleton Tavern
moc.nodnolcitna@notelpats(020) 7272 5395
2-4 Crouch Hill
Acquired by small pub company Antic in 2010 but tied to Greene King on lease, the beers listed can change but will come from GK as generally will any seasonals/guests but this can vary. Strong food operation, for times see their website. Home to a truly bizarre collection of ornaments, tiny lampshades, ice skates, and an original 1970s video games table and oid-fashioned table football machine. A very large back room has an impressive lantern. Quiz Thursday. The 2 guests now seem to be non-GK. Recently it was Titanic Chocolate & Vanilla Stout and Wharfebank Magellan. When this establishment traded as the Stapleton Hall Tavern it was quite a famous live music venue. [The original Stapleton Hall Tavern was licensed in 1765 at the NW end of Stapleton Hall Rd., was sometimes known as The Green Man and became Stroud Green Conservative Club in 1888. The house has subsequently been converted to flats.]
ku.oc.rabdribt@seiriuqne(020) 7503 6202
132 Blackstock Road
Confirmed in Dec 18 as now selling real ale, Jennings Cumberland available on a visit with Redemption Trinity turned around. Only one beer will be on at any time rotating. Handpumps installed in the summer 2018 and took part in the N5 Real Ale Crawl in October although not in N5!
- White Lion
moc.4nnoiletihw@tcatnoc(020) 7561 8880
125-127 Stroud Green Road
Sold by Wetherspoon to Urban Pubs and Bars and has now re-opened after a refurbishment. Two cask ales available. Previously one of the oldest Wetherspoon's pubs, established in 1986, converted from a car showroom. The White Lion originally featured in the coat of arms of the Mortimer family, and was later incorporated into the coat of arms of King Edward VI.
- William Butler Yeats
ku.oc.4nstaeybweht@ofni(020) 8617 3400
20 Fonthill Road
Has gone through yet another change in 2013 which has resulted in two handpumps appearing. A third handpump appeared by 2015, although none were in use on an August 2018 visit. Crouch Hill on the overground is about 800m away.
- Worlds End
moc.krapyrubsnifdnesdlrow@seiriuqne(020) 7281 8679
21-23 Stroud Green Road
Just 2 minutes walk from the Wells Terrace side of Finsbury Park tube station. Consisting of many different areas, with a central bar and retaining a number of interesting features, especially the ceiling around the stage which is, once again, being used for its designed purpose - Thu (upbeat acoustic), Fri (Ska funk), Sat (band night), Sun (acoustic). and there's a poker night with an entrance fee on Monday night.
When the stage is not in use a huge screen for sports drops down and there are numerous screens dotted around the pub which allows different sports to be shown that are advertised on a board outside.
Short menu comprises pub standards old and new (burgers, sausages, fajitas, fish and chips) served 12.00 - 22.00 (except Mon - Weds when food service closes at some time between 15.00 and 18.00). Fantastic table football machine.
- Beaconsfield moc.letohdleifsnocaeb@sgnikoob(020) 8826 5200 357 Green Lanes Finsbury Park N4 1DZ
- Cork & Bottle Hampstead
(020) 7267 6484
154 Fleet Road
After being closed for around a year, now re-opened as Cork & Bottle and a recent visit shows both 2 handpumps and a wall of 8 keg taps so, unlike some of their other operations, this will not be just a a wine bar. (see below). That said the outside signage refers to Wine Bar and Wine Shop so we think that will be a significant focus of its operations. First beer to appear which looks like it will be a regular is St Austell Tribute. Kegs were all standard apart from Neck Oil.
The Gresham Collective is to open its third Cork & Bottle wine bar, in Hampstead. The company is opening the venue in Fleet Road after taking over the former The White Horse pub. It will feature more than 300 bottles of wine while there will also be an outside garden. The food will include its usual plates of cheese and charcuterie as well as its signature ham and cheese pie. There will also be a larger menu, which features dishes such as garlic stuffed snails
This pub was rebuilt in its current form in 1904. An a attractive triangular corner pub, with long pedigree, dating back to 1721, and including customers such as George Orwell, who worked at a bookshop opposite, and Joe Orton. Interior decoration is listed by CAMRA as an historic pub interior of regional importance, including fine oak bar panelling, decorative ceiling, stained glass and floor tiles. Decorative fireplaces, sconces, old prints, Victorian-style lampshades, chandeliers and rococo mirrors lend an elegant ambience to the wooden tables and chairs, interspersed with upholstered furniture. There is a small garden (or outside area with tables and chairs), rest rooms in basement. A neighbourhood gem. Nearest Tube station: Belsize Park.
- Duke Of Hamilton
moc.3wnnotlimahfoekudeht@ofni(020) 7916 0595
23 New End
Reopened on the 1st of November under its original name, a recent visit saw two cask beers as listed plus Windsor & Eton Canberra Autumn Ale. Serving food and drinks 7 days a week for lunch and dinner. Brunch on Saturdays and roast on Sundays.
Had a brief period as 'Hampstead Lounge & Jazz Club' so it is good to see it revert to its original name. The first impression is of the large front terrace, elevated from the street, and the burgundy exterior which leads to the main bar area. Here you are greeted by a semi-island bar which on one side leads to a rear seated alcove.
The front terrace has some nice new furniture and the main bar retains most of the features it had before the change of name but with new fixtures and fittings, carpet and so forth.
The downstairs cellar-bar was converted into a small, intimate jazz club with its own stage and bar (no cask beer). Regular events will continue to be held. Nice to have a live music venue when so many in London have closed.
It had been run for twenty years by Michael and Mary Wooderson, in 2010 it was saved from conversion to residential following a huge campaign by local residents, councillors, CAMRA and the local press.
Over 200 years old, with stables to the rear and a cobbled courtyard, the pub is named after a prominent Civil War Royalist. North London Branch local CAMRA Pub of the Year for 2002 and 2003. Listed as an ACV Nov 2015 following an application by the Hampstead Neighbourhood Forum.
The key picture is as the pub looks now but for the record we have kept some previous images as well.
ku.oc.sgnuoy@ksalf(020) 7435 4580
14 Flask Walk
One of north London's best known pubs, rebuilt in 1874 and bought by Young's in 1904. A veritable Hampstead institution, originally the Lower Flask, which, after its acquisition by Young's, underwent a sympathetic refurbishment, albeit one that was somewhat controversial with locals. The old public bar, with its separate entrance, darts board and TV screen, is very much as it was and, incidentally, this is the only part of the pub open from 11.00, the lounge opens at noon. As you enter the lounge, your eyes are immediately drawn to the fine tinted sepia photographs which adorn a full-height timber-and-glass screen separating this room from the public bar. This small, intimate area then leads into a larger back bar. Finally you are led into a conservatory, very much for eating. A CAMRA London Heritage Pub listed for its historic interior. Tuesday quiz nights. Third of a pint taster paddles available and are good value. Various board games including dominoes. Children permitted until 20.00.
- Freemasons Arms
moc.clpbm@036410nub(020) 7433 6811
32 Downshire Hill
Roomy gastro-pub, offering starters, salads, pizzas, pastas, mains and desserts, along with extensive wine list. Very popular with young professionals, it seems. interior still retains some nice features, such as fireplaces, but mainly dominated by track lighting, soft music, upholstered banquettes, wooden tables and chairs, along with recent extension to dining area (which sacrificed garden space in a less than aesthetic manner). The still-large garden was allegedly the site of 17th century games of Pell-Mell (a Dutch ball game which gave its name to Pall Mall), though the pub is first recorded in 1820. There is the Hampstead Room below, which can be rented for private use.
Its unique feature lies in the basement, a full size "old English" or "London" skittle alley, one of only two in the capital (also prone to flooding from time to time, as the pub sits above a tributary of the River Fleet). More of a dining than a drinking destination. Listed as an Asset of Community Value in Sept 2016.
- Garden Gate
ku.oc.daetspmahetagnedrageht@yriuqne(020) 7435 4938
14 South End Road
Close to Hampstead Heath and Parliament Hill this is a large, comfortable, multi-roomed venue, furnished with wooden and upholstered tables and chairs, soft lighting, soft music, stained glass, non-working fireplace. Plenty of room around front bar, with another room at the back. Vast garden, which offers barbecue on weekends in good weather. Some interesting other keg beers such as Hiver, Redchurch and Siren. Menu of starters and mains, such as sausage, burgers, steak, chicken, pies, fish & chips, available for lunch and dinner. Decent wine list. The nearby station used to be called Railway Tavern recorded in 1874. Listed as an Asset of Community Value in Sept 2016.
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@9517(020) 7431 0889
250 Haverstock Hill
There has been a pub here since 1666, when this was the main road out of London, the present building dating from the 1920's built as a hotel featuring modern gas lamps for lighting. The large lamps outside may well have been for such purpose. Originally the George, it had a spell as the Great Tree from 1700 until later in the 18th century. Used to be a Rat & Parrot (S&N Retail) for a few years until 2004.
The exterior is quite impressive in "Brewer's Tudor" style with leaded windows in the upper story. There is a large single, open plan L-shaped bar which has undergone recent refurbishment to brighten the place up and create a very comfortable environment. Using plenty of light wood, soft colours, lighting and gas coal-effect fires, there's a stripped wooden bar with stools around it and a mix of sofas and standard tables. The floor is alternatively tiled or wooden and the back area seems to be reserved for eating in the evenings. There is a small patio to the rear, largely given over to smokers. Hot and cold meals are available daily. All NHS staff get a 10% discount.
- Haverstock Tavern
ku.oc.nrevatkcotsrevaheht@ofni(020) 7482 5352
94 Haverstock Hill
23/11/19 - "This has just reopened as the Haverstock Tavern - no obvious links as yet. Real ale pumps spotted." Confirmed three cask beers on as at 30/11. Suspect a beer from Leeds might be a regular and perhaps the Pride but we shall see.
This is how it was -
Est 1721. Rebuilt in 1863. Reverted to its original name (Load of Hay) in 2016 after 14 years as the Hill. Cosmetically changed in the last incarnation (Belrose). Fairly spacious with a small room adjoining the main bar, grey and cream decor, tall bar-back with mirrors and pilasters.
- Holly Bush
ku.oc.srelluf@hsubylloh(020) 7435 2892
22 Holly Mount
A marvellous multi-roomed pub at the top of some steep steps leading from Heath St., there is a less steep incline if you approach from the tube via Holly Mount. A sensitive refurbishment some years ago opened up the rooms at the back and there is an upstairs dining room. However, for many, the jewels of this pub are the rooms containing the main bar and that off to the left as you enter, with its traditional open fire. There is a particularly excellent sign from former owners, the Benskins brewery. Full of atmosphere and character, we can only be thankful the rooms were not swept away by several tasteless schemes mooted in the past. On seeing them you will appreciate the Grade II listing and its place on CAMRA's London Regional Inventory of historic pub interiors.
The pub was acquired by London brewers Fuller's in early 2010 but, so far, the only change has been to the beer range. Food served in the bar rooms, the back room is laid out for diners only; the upstairs dining room only opens Fri to Sun. Small seating area at front mostly for the benefit of smokers, no drinks outside after 20.00. Listed as an ACV Nov 2015 following an application by the Hampstead Neighbourhood Forum.
Offers a 20% discount on cask for card-carrying CAMRA members.
- King William IV
moc.eilliwgnikeht@ofni(020) 7435 5747
77 Hampstead High Street
This old coaching inn with a large central bar has been a stalwart of the gay scene for many years which has earned it the local nick-name of the Pink Willie. The entertainment is geared to the target audience and there is seating in a very pleasant back garden and outside on the street by a crepe stall (separately operated so don't bring crepes into the pub). Essentially one room wrapped around a central bar but remnants of former room dividers help break the place up into several discrete areas. The closing hours Fri to Sun are described as "late bar". The guest beer tends to come from Caledonian Brewery. Half pints tend to be marked up. Listed as an ACV Nov 2015 following an application by the Hampstead Neighbourhood Forum. Rock Group Whiskey Mick on Mondays, Piano Bar Sing-a-Long session on Thursdays and Cover Version Trio Bad Dog Bites on Fridays. Occasional live music some Saturdays (tbc) and a quiz on Sundays. The pub also hosts bi-monthly charity fundraising events which are very well supported by customers and local businesses alike.
- Old Oak
(020) 7267 3085
1 Mansfield Road
Closed briefly in early 2018 when taken over by Ei Group's Craft Union Pub Co division. Now reopened with new monochrome fascias but otherwise mostly unchanged.
The previous refit was only carried out in October 2013. Tables outside in front for use in nice weather. The locale of Gospel Oak, where it is situated, refers back to a tree under which parishioners gathered to hear an annual gospel reading - a continuation of a pre-Christian practice. Gospel oaks also acted as boundary markers with clergy giving Bible readings as part of the traditional annual ceremony of the Beating of the Bounds. There used to be an eel/shellfish stall in front of this pub - long gone now, alas.
- Olde Swiss Cottage
(020) 772 2348
98 Finchley Road
After being a Sam Smiths keg outlet for many years, real ale made a somewhat surprise return in 2009. Looks like a Swiss chalet which is somewhat incongruous in the midst of an island surrounded by some of London's busiest roads but there is a historical perspective. It was built in 1830 by T Redmond and it stood next to a toll gate; travellers would stop at the tavern while waiting to pay their fees. There had been a gabled building on the site called Lausanne Cottage said to have been used by Charles II as a hunting lodge and their may have been an earlier pub called the Swiss Tavern. The Swiss chalet look was popular in the first half of the nineteenth century. From 1840 the area grew up around the pub. in 1850 it was the site of the terminus of the General Omnibus Company for their line to London Bridge. The underground station came in 1868 named after the pub. There is a large outside drinking terrace with two inter-locking rooms inside. Smith's beer is, as with all their London pubs, good value.
ku.oc.sgnuoy@kcubeor(020) 7433 6871
15 Pond Street
Cosy pub, opposite The Royal Free Hospital, acquired by Young's in 2008, dating from 1860 as the Roebuck Hotel, furnished internally with wooden tables and chairs, some upholstered, and sofas, low lighting, soft music. Conservatory and garden at the back, lower room available to let. Food served at lunch and dinner - Med-style starters and mains, also fish & chips, burgers, sausage & mash. Tables outside in front. Sunday quiz. Underground: Belsize Park. Overground: Hampstead Heath. Buses: C11, 24, 46, 168.
moc.sbupnodnol@gatseht(020) 7722 2646
67 Fleet Road
This roomy Victorian pub (ca. 1874) was a reliable back street boozer. In 2008, new owners (two brothers who started with the Regent in Kensal Green) painted the entire vast Victorian frontage black, pared down the interior to minimalist, with wooden tables and chairs, punctuated by candlelight, and re-vamped the huge garden behind with bookable cabanas, summer BBQs and events such as acoustic music. The pubs beery intentions are made plain by the huge backboard with beer menu on the right as you enter. Over a dozen keg beers are on tap with many from London such as Beavertown, Five Points and Kernel. Handpumps at the centre of the bar dispense cask beer and cide. Pub is dog-friendly. Menu features some pub specials, gourmet burgers and different kinds of cheeses, with the downstairs devoted to food. Extensive bottled beer menu. The same operator also runs The Mall in Notting Hill and Beer & Burger at Willesden Green.
nodnol.daetspmahslleweht@ofni(020) 7794 3785
30 Well Walk
Possibly the most gastro of all gastro-pubs in NW3, some 80% of the custom is diners which could be explained by the hearty portions. Food served daily. Not easy to find as bears a passing resemblance to one of the many fine houses you find around here. The interior has been furnished and finished in a modern style, black tiles adorn the walls and there is a lounge area at the back with a TV. In May 2018 guests were from Truman's. Underground: Hampstead. Registered as an Asset of Community Value in June 2016. Overground: Hampstead Heath.
- Cork & Bottle Hampstead (020) 7267 6484 154 Fleet Road Hampstead NW3 2QX
- Grand Junction Arms
moc.liamelgoog@smranoitcnujdnarg(020) 8965 5670
Large multi-roomed pub in predominantly industrial area. Large tiered garden for children to play in leading down to the canal. The outside drinking area faces the Grand Union Canal (moorings available) and there is a stage for live events. Front bar has two pool tables and a large screen for sports. Middle bar is more intimate with sofas and doubles as the hotel reception area. Large beamed back bar can hold functions. Music or karaoke may feature on Fridays. Good value food served with various theme nights.
- Masons Arms
ku.oc.01wnsmrasnosameht@ofni(020) 8960 2278
665 Harrow Road
This pub was given a beautiful revamp. It has retained lots of the original features and the introduction of atmospheric lighting and chandeliers lend it a look of glamour. The staff are all very friendly.
- Royal Oak
moc.01wnkaolayor@tcatnoc(020) 8965 0228
95 High Street
Rebuilt in Elizabethan Revival style between 1891-3 this imposing pub is Locally Listed by Brent Council and has a mixed clientèle. It has a bar in front of an open kitchen and various entrances which indicate how, at one time, it would have been divided into several rooms. The Park Parade side entrance includes some impressive tiling including a tiled painting of a Parliamentarian trooper hunting for King Charles II after the Battle of Worcester in 1651 with Charles hiding in an oak tree. In Jan 2016 Urban Pubs & Bars leased the pub investing £300k adding a feature staircase (which leads to a hugely impressive upstairs room and bar) and the open kitchen. Four handpumps, although in October only three were in use.
- Grand Junction Arms moc.liamelgoog@smranoitcnujdnarg(020) 8965 5670 Acton Lane Harlesden NW10 7AD
ku.oc.oohay@letohyrubsilas(020) 8800 9617
1 Grand Parade, Green Lanes
Well worth visiting for the magnificent Victorian architecture alone, the pub is listed on CAMRA's National inventory of Pub Interiors of special historic interest with its French Renaissance exteriors and Art Nouveau motifs. At night, its shining dome can be seen from same way away. A selection of good food is served and there is a separate dining room. Later at night that room can feature DJs or occasional live music. Quiz Monday evenings. Poker Night Wednesday.
- Salisbury ku.oc.oohay@letohyrubsilas(020) 8800 9617 1 Grand Parade, Green Lanes Harringay N4 1JX
- Bank Of Friendship
moc.pihsdneirffoknab@icul(020) 7226 8711
226 Blackstock Road
Traditional, comfortable pub on Highbury Hill, close to former Arsenal Stadium. Sizeable outside, paved garden seating area to rear. A proper locals' pub. Like being in someone's living room, with the TV for sports in the saloon bar, low background music in the public bar. Quiet corners where you can gather to chat, and a blazing fire in winter. No food served. Described by one of our contributors as "a gem of a pub to be savoured. Not many like this left." Recently extended their range of cask ales, to include a monthly guest. Seriously busy when Arsenal at home. An open mic night takes place every Thursday night from 8:30pm-11pm, and they have just launched summer Sundays live sessions featuring unplugged blues, jazz & folk musicians live in the pub every Sunday from 5-8pm.
moc.liamg@bupsrennugeht(020) 7359 2467
204 Blackstock Road
The Gunners is a shrine to the club with red decor and many framed photos old and new. During all games, the front room is busy and loud but all good natured whereas the room to the rear is a bit more sedate. On recently were London Fields Shoreditch Triangle IPA (6%!) and Portobello Star. A nice place to either celebrate with or drown your sorrows. Food comprises pies and burgers.
- Highbury Barn
email@example.com(020) 7226 2383
26 Highbury Park
Originally a farm (this building?), becoming a tea garden in the 1850s and then a pub in 1861. Was Greenalls, S&N Retail, and finally a Spirit "City Pub" before being bought by a small pub company. Positioning itself as a community focused pub and clearly gets very busy on Arsenal match days when plastic drinking vessels may be used. The exterior has some fine tiling which extends in a most unusual way into an arch-like structure wrapped around the side of the pedestrian area in the side street where there are benches and people may smoke. Although it seems integral to the pub it is not owned by them. inside it is essentially one large room wrapped around an L-shaped bar with high tables and stools.
moc.liamg@5nenibdooweht(020) 7354 1061
215 Blackstock Road
Re-opened in 2007 and it has turned into a venue which is lovely, warm and cosy inside with plenty of artwork decorating the walls. Good range of beers, which has been recently extended - beers from local breweries are now a regular feature. On Tuesday evenings there is a very popular pub quiz which puts seating at a premium. A big screen on match days when it can get busy (note the pub opens at 11am on weekend match days). Very good jukebox. Frequented mainly by younger locals. Thai food is served with roasts on Sunday. Regular beer festivals.
- Bank Of Friendship moc.pihsdneirffoknab@icul(020) 7226 8711 226 Blackstock Road Highbury N5 1EA
- Angel Inn
ku.oc.etaghgihlegnaeht@yriuqne(020) 8341 5913
37 Highgate High Street
One of the older pub sites in Highgate (1610) on top of the hill. The present building dates from 1888 rebuilt in 1930 and refurbished in 1992. Look out for the fish tank built into the wall behind the bar and open fires in winter. A single roomed lively pub with dark wood panelled walls and a large L shaped bar counter with 5 handpumps. Food served: noon (11am Sat) - 10pm. See the pub's website for detail of menus. Various board games are available. Underground: Archway or Highgate. Buses: 143 & 210; 214 & 271 terminate in Highgate Village nearby.
ku.oc.oolagoobeht@ofni(020) 8340 2928
312 Archway Road
The Boogaloo has been a gathering place, a watering place, a music hall place, a dancing place, the host of art happenings and literary events, the inspiration for a song or two and a discreet place for a rockstar, an elegant lady or a man of the cloth to have a quiet drink amid the chaos while the crazy world spins. Or so they say. Live music, DJ’s, markets and parties. Juke box. This pub was originally called the Birkbeck [Tavern] - the name can still be seen in mosaic tiling to the entrance step.
ku.oc.srelluf@ksalf(020) 8348 7346
77 Highgate West Hill
Acquired by Fuller's from M&B in February 2009, a 17th century pub listed on CAMRA's Regional inventory of historic pub interiors, originally two buildings now forming one pub, it was also known as the Upper Flask, the Lower Flask being the pub in Hampstead. There are legends of ghosts and Dick Turpin is said to have hidden in the cellars. More plausibly, the 18th century painter, engraver and satirist William Hogarth, and revolutionary thinker and philosopher Karl Marx are said to have been regulars. The Flask is one of the area pubs where the ceremony of the 'Swearing of the Horns' takes place. Large asphalted front yard and garden which incorporates a covered area too. 5 handpumps on the main bar counter and 1 on a smaller one by the entrance door. Underground: Archway or Highgate. Buses: 143 & 210, 214 & 271 terminate in Highgate Village nearby.
moc.6nesuohetageht@tcatnoc(020) 8340 8054
1 North Road
With a theatre upstairs, this Tudor style building, formerly a Watney's pub was refurbished in 1993, being the oldest of Highgate inns dating from about 1380. It was run by Wetherspoons from then until its sale to Urban Pubs & Bars. Decor little changed. Food and drink more expensive. Where the handpumps used to be, it's all keg fonts, while the handpumps now occupy a previously empty corner of the bar. It is a large rambling pub at the top of Highgate Hill, two separate drinking areas with a very nice and secluded outside drinking area. Buses: 143 & 210, 214 & 271 terminate in Highgate Village nearby. The theatre - Upstairs at The Gatehouse, details can be found at www.upstairsatthegatehouse.com, separate phone 020 8340 3488.
- Prince of Wales
ku.oc.etaghgihselawfoecnirp@ofni(020) 8340 0445
53 Highgate High Street
Following a brief closure the pub has now reopened under new management with an emphasis on "craft beers". Under new management since its reopening in Dec 2018, see their website for more info.
A small traditional pub dating back to the 17th century. A single horseshoe bar serves a surprisingly spacious wood-panelled room with a number of prints of local dignitaries from the past. It has a cosy, welcoming feel. There is a small, flower basket bedecked patio, favoured by smokers, out back facing the open space of Pond Square. Underground: Archway or Highgate. Buses: 143 & 210 stop outside, 214 & 271 terminate in Highgate Village nearby.
- Red Lion & Sun
moc.nusdnanoildereht@ofni(020) 8340 1780
25 North Road
Pub built in 1920s Elizabethan style, pleasantly located with seating areas on three sides of the bar. The interior is of the same period, with paneled walls painted light green, a cast iron stove and a carved back-bar facing the street. Decoration consists of old prints, drawings and photographs, plus a collection of china dogs and toby jugs. Guest beers might come from house brewer, Greene King or may be from other breweries. Another of the pubs where the ceremony of the 'Swearing of the Horns' takes place twice a year. In the winter there is a log fire in one of the fireplaces. Buses: 143 pass the door. 210 pass through and 214 & 271 terminate in Highgate Village nearby.
moc.namdoow-eht@ofni(020) 8340 3016
414 Archway Road
Upmarket food oriented pub in modern style, with very small 'snug' area at one end retaining old style feeling. The large outside drinking area on Highgate Woods side is very popular in summer and, like the pub itself, features waiter service. Can become very busy in the evenings. The interior walls are decorated with rather impressionistic modern art. Quiz every Monday night. Live jazz every Tuesday night featuring some of the UK's top jazz session musicians (all have played at Ronnie Scott's). A function room is available at the rear of the pub. Food, prepared on the premises, from homemade scotch eggs with runny yolks through to bread 'n' butter pudding - details of menus and opening times can be found on their website. The menu changes with the seasons. Over 21's only (unless accompanied by parent).
moc.etaghgihsreltserweht@reganam(020) 8340 4297
98 North Road
Note - payment by card only, cash not accepted.
One of the long established pubs found in this area, first built 1547 last rebuilt in 1921, the L-shaped bar has lots of wood paneling throughout. Another of the pubs where the ancient ceremony of 'swearing on the horns' which dates back to 1623 takes place twice yearly in March and August, details of the ceremony are shown above the impressive fire place. The pub is now run by the same family who operate The Jolly Butchers and Rose & Crown (both N16) and the Brownswood (N4). This has seen an improvement in the beer range - guests come from smaller independents. Real cider from a bag in a box but hidden within nice looking wooden barrels. Front terrace. Food served: Mon-Fri 17.00-22.00, Sat 12.00-22.00, Sun 12.00-20.00. Underground: Highgate. Buses: 143 pass the door. 210 pass through and 214 & 271 terminate in Highgate Village nearby.
- Angel Inn ku.oc.etaghgihlegnaeht@yriuqne(020) 8341 5913 37 Highgate High Street Highgate N6 5JT
(020) 7609 1649
Arch 1,303 Holloway Road
From Propel - "Antic is to open its latest pub in Holloway Road close to Arsenal’s Emirates Stadium. The pub will be housed in a railway arch, with a restaurant to follow in an adjacent arch in early 2019. Arkstar will take inspiration from the early years of the London Underground, with design features merging Victorian practicality (glass tiles) with sixties geometric prints and textures (wallpaper and seating). The pub will offer four real ales including Antic’s own Volden alongside a strong selection of keg products with local brewers taking prime position. Hammertown Brewery, Red Church and Moncada have been confirmed already, the company said. Arkstar takes its name from a combination of the words “arch” and Telstar – the hit sixties song written by record producer Joe Meek at a site across Holloway Road. Antic operates almost 50 pubs in London and its surrounds."
ku.oc.7Ntopedeht@olleh(020) 3218 0083
1 Carpenters Mews, North Road
Taken over by West Berkshire Brewery although they name it as the first pub for the Renegade Pub Company. Conversion of an old large industrial factory space, among a host of similar buildings now housing media companies and even a theatre. Lofty windows, stripped wooden floors and plenty of seating space, on multiple levels. Once named Shillibeer's after George Shillibeer inventor of the omnibus and believed to be on the site of a bus depot. The beer range can vary sometimes with guest beers instead of or as well as West Berks beers plus a large range of keg beers.
On a visit in April, only two cask beers were on but being the Tuesday after Easter could be the reason.
- Duchess Of Kent
ku.oc.snni-ominoreg@tnekfossehcudeht(020) 7609 7104
441 Liverpool Road
With the general devastation of pubs in N7, it's good to see one outlet still flying the flag at the corner with Ellington Street. It has received the standard North London makeover - large, mixed size scrubbed tables, comfy chairs, board games and books and a liberal use of candles. There is a TV but volume is used sparingly for large, national sporting events. Being close to the Emirates stadium it can get busy when Arsenal are at home. On those days the pub will have an outside BBQ and unique bar snacks such as balti pasties. Quiz nights Monday and food nights also held, such as Wednesday pie nights, and cheese and beer tastings, see website for detail. Full meals are served Mon to Fri 12.00-15.00 and Sat/Sun 12.00-16.00 and evenings 18.00-22.00 with full table service. There is a snack menu. It still retains a number of original features although a lot has gone to create the L shaped open space. Cask Marque accreditation achieved March 2008.
ku.oc.aitaroheht@ofni(020) 7607 3961
98-100 Holloway Road
Tiled picture of Lord Nelson by the front door. Menu & kitchen run by Borough Foods. New tenants took over in July 2013. Two or three changing real ales and over 60 craft beers (see website for list). Retro Games.
- House of Hammerton
(020) 7607 3860
99 Holloway Road
Opened in July 2017 by Hammerton Brewery, the pub has 20 keg lines and 4 handpumps. Note you have to read the printed beer menus to find out which beers are on cask as pump clips aren't used. There is also a take home bottle shop. The bar walls are bare brick in the more recent style. Peruvian inspired tapas is available at the time of writing.
- Islington Sports Bar
(020) 7609 5077
274-276 Holloway Road
Note July 2019 - The Islington Sports Bar and Grill is closed while it installs soundproofing to bring it in line with council requirements. It was granted a potential life-saving alcohol licence. Diehard Gooner Mick Doherty, who part-owns the Grill, had been told he needed to apply for a pub licence – the one he held meant food had to be served with alcohol.
Previously reported as a restaurant (2016), confirmed in Dec 18 as now open again after a closure, reverting to a pub, called ISLINGTON SPORTS BAR, selling real ale but Sharps Doom Bar and Atlantic unavailable on a visit due to an Arsenal home match the day before, being very close to the Emirates.
A pub that has been through a number of changes since the 1990s, from the Prince of Wales, to a Hobgoblin, the Study, and then the Herbert Chapman before being renamed again in 2013 as Filthy's. Run by the small Hathor Inns pubco, who had other Filthy's pubs in Belfast and Nottingham.
- Jolly Sisters
moc.liamg@sretsisyllojeht(020) 7609 4579
95 Bride Street
Locals pub close to Pentonville Prison, Recently started serving real ale.
ku.oc.7nbmaleht@ofni(020) 7619 9187
54 Holloway Road
Highbury Brewery's tap, taken over by Taylor Walker in 1912. Allied until 1985, when it became the Flounder & Firkin. The Firkins were sold to Punch, under whom it was the Beer House from 2000, then the Tank (an Urban Bar) 2002-4.
Three constantly rotating cask beers, typically a best bitter and a pale ale, alongside an amber, rye beer or porter from Fullers, Redemption, Bath, Dark Star, 5 Points, Thornbridge, etc. Plus 12 keg lines, 6 of which also faerue local beers. Quiz night Mondays. Music sessions every Tues (traditional Irish) and Sun (folk), with Blue Lion bluegrass session aprox every 4 weeks on a Wednesday. It has a beautiful interior with handsome wood panelling and skylights, as well as the painstakingly stripped back original green tiles on the facade. Food provided by Sorrento Pizzas.
- Owl & Hitchhiker
BUP.REKIHHCTIHDNALWO@OLLEH(020) 8161 0150
471 Holloway Road
Following its acquisition by Laine's (and then their acquisition) the pub closed briefly and has re-opened as Owl & Hitchhiker. The second part of the latest name comes from the fact that author Douglas Adams lived nearby. The first is in recognition of Edward Lear, see below. A mixture of science (!) and nonsense. There is also a very large tree internal to the pub!
It was formerly the Half Moon. Re-opened 2001 as 'The Quays'. It was bought by the group behind Prince Albert NW1, Three Compasses N8 and Adam & Eve NW7 and the name changed to Edward Lear. In Dec 2017, owner the Distinct Group was acquired by Laine's. As a result Laine's beers can now be found.
The pub has very impressive interior. There are 4 handpumps providing three real ales and a cider. It was briefly named the Edward Lear who was an English artist, illustrator, musician, author and poet, born just around the corner in 1812.
Internal decoration might best be summarised as eclectic.
- Swimmer At The Grafton Arms
ku.oc.sbupelbakramer@remmiws(020) 7281 4632
13 Eburne Road
Excellent single bar traditional pub with covered courtyard with heaters. Some very nice architectural features, including an impressive back gantry, and a pleasant front terrace. Food serving times (from an open kitchen in the bar) vary so check their website for details. Guest beers from the likes of Butcombe and Hammerton. Keg beers from many London breweries. Being just off the busy Holloway Road gives the place a nice, relaxed feel.
(020) 7700 6419
115 Hornsey Road
A huge, street-corner pub very substantially modernised with large picture windows and acres of pine. The drinking/eating areas wrap themselves around a large central bar. Thai food is served daily. There are non-Thai options plus Sunday roasts. There are 8 screens often showing different subjects (mostly for sport) and the pub is very close to the Arsenal's stadium. There is a large outside terrace at the front.
- Tufnell Park Tavern
moc.nrevatkrapllenfut@ofni(020) 7281 6113
162 Tufnell Park Road
A welcome re-opening in May 2010 after a period of closure has seen the introduction of cask beer. There are distinct eating and drinking areas with an outside terrace and walled garden at the back. A coffee shop opens from 9.00 (10.00 weekends) to 17.00 for passers-by heading to nearest tube Tufnell Park, breakfast being served until noon which is when the pub side opens. Food available covers snacks and pizzas up to a full menu. Pizzas are served all day from noon when main kitchen closes. Operated by Stanley Pubs Ltd who now run three other pubs in North London. Although in the Holloway postcode it's not that far from the pubs of Kentish Town so can be easily combined with other visits.
- Two Brewers
(020) 7607 2570
109 Roman Way
5th October 2019 - Site visit and photos taken. Spoke to locals and contact at pub about listing pub as ACV and campaign to save it. The pub was packed with football fans at time of visit. Lots of interest from pub regulars to save the pub. 2018 - Planning application registered with Islington Council: Demolition of the existing public house and excavation to facilitate the erection of a five storey plus basement building comprising A4 (Drinking Establishment) use at (part) ground and basement levels, with 7no. C3 (Residential) units at first, second, third and fourth floor levels (3 x 1 bed, 2 person, 3 x 2 bed, 4 person, and 1 x 3 bed, 5 person). Status: REGISTERED. P2018/1867/FUL.
Locals pub. The tenements next door is currently boarded up. Next door to that is Pentonville Prison.
- Victoria Tavern
ku.oc.sbupreitnorf@nrevatairotciv(020) 7609 7485
203 Holloway Road
Reopened on 8th March 2018 under its original name. One changing cask beer for the moment. Last visit saw Signature Brew's Roiadie. Lord Marples by Thornbridge. Looks like they could expand to a 2nd cask beer, but predominantly keg, with a good selection from London's brewing scene. It's operated by Frontier Pubs, an Ei managed partnership. Let's hope it does better than past incarnations, certainly their website is going for it.
The pub will debut Frontier Pubs’ first own-label beer – brewed in collaboration with Harbour Brewing Company. The draught beer is a 4% unfiltered pilsner called Riptide that will be rolled out across the Frontier estate and Food & Fuel pubs this month.
After a previous period of closure it had re-opened as a pop-up operated by Laines as part of their ‘managed expert’ partnership with Enterprise. But in Oct 2016it closed again. It then ropened in Jan 2017 under yet another name.
- Arkstar (020) 7609 1649 Arch 1,303 Holloway Road Holloway N7 8HS
- Great Northern Railway Tavern
ku.oc.srelluf@eciffO.yawliaRnrehtroNtaerG(020) 8127 6632
67 High Street
An excellent example of the work of architects Shoebridge and Rising. Built in 1865 to serve the Hornsey Station and rebuilt in 1896. This is a single bar pub with fine original etched glass-work. Note the magnificent conservatory to the rear. In 2017, this grade II listed pub has been beautifully refurbished by new owners, Fuller's, keeping and enhancing all of its best original features removing the open kitchen adding more drinking and dining space. A display screen lists the 20 craft beers available on tap. The pub is on the London Inventory of Historic Pub Interiors. Beer is served in thirds, two thirds and pints. They do not do halves.
(020) 8341 3182
128 Tottenham Lane
Formally the Hope & Anchor Bar, McCafferty’s, Crouch End is the 8th McCafferty’s Bar to open its doors.
Single bar pub which has clearly had more bars in the past. There is a pool table and a dart board. Background music. Major matches are shown live. There is an outside drinking area at rear. Quiz night Thursday.
- Princess Alexandra
moc.liamg@8nardnaxelassecnirp(020) 8351 2663
120 Park Road
From Propel - Nick Ford, former head of food at 40-strong pub company Antic London, and Hayley Chappell, have taken over a Crouch End pub owned by Ei Group. Ei Publican Partnerships has contributed £108,000 alongside £60,000 put up by first-time publicans Ford and Chappell to revitalise the 120-year-old Princess Alexandra. Ford said: “It has always been an ultimate goal and ambition of mine to run my own pub. It’s the right pub. I’ve lived in the Crouch End area for eight years and have got to know the building and the area really well. I felt it needed a pub the people here could call their own.”
The pub has now reverted to its original name as it was when the original pub was built in 1896, the current version was built in 1954, contemporary with the adjacent estate. It changed name in 2008 to Villiers Terrace, renamed again in 2014 as Alex. Changed hands again in 2017. Several connecting rooms along the front, plus a conservatory, all now refurbished. A leafy terrace on the right and another outside area at the other end.
ku.oc.ecirpdnagninnurb@sneeuq(020) 8340 2031
26 Broadway Parade
A well restored building, built originally as a hotel, which was saved from becoming a pizza restaurant by a campaign run by local residents and supported by CAMRA. The pub boasts a wealth of carved fittings and original features, including a large circular central bar, making it an important historical landmark in Crouch End. It is listed on CAMRA's National inventory of pub interiors of special historic interest as well as being Grade II listed. It is a companion piece to the equally fine Salisbury, Green Lanes, N 4 . Both were built by the same developer - John Cathles Hill and it retains much of its original layout, including a screen in the front bar, now cut through to give all round access. Wonderful art nouveau-style stained glass and a marvellous, circular main entrance. One end of the pub has now been laid out for formal dining, with an ornate ceiling and open kitchen and there is a small garden at the rear (heated in winter). Run by a company called Food and Fuel, see the website link for other outlets and pub's food offering. At a visit in Noiv 2017, the five guests were Adnams Mosaic, Five Points Green Hop, Muswell Hillbillies IPA, Sambrook's Pumphouse Pale and Truman Treason.
- Railway Tavern
(020) 8348 3396
23 Crouch End Hill
Of all the Crouch End pubs to have gone gastro, the Railway's makeover is arguably the most extreme. Under new management since early 2008, the satellite televisions and pool tables that were the mainstay of the old pub have gone and the interior has been extensively refurbished, making the area around the single bar look much more open plan. The furnishings are leather and dark wood, with tasteful floral displays and theatrical memorabilia. Food served Mon - Fri 12.00 - 15.00 and 17.00 - 21.30, Sat/Sun 1 2.00 - 21.30. Menu includes the pub's'pie of the day' and an eclectic range of sandwiches, including the wittily named 'Railway Club'. Roasts are available on Sundays, and there is also a children's menu. Despite the changes, the pub's range of real ales has doubled in the process. Outdoor seating at both front and rear of pub. Underground: Archway. Buses: 41, 91.
- Small Beer
firstname.lastname@example.org(020) 8350 0032
22 Topsfield Parade, Tottenham Lane
It is now owned by the same team behind the Dukes Head, Highgate and they said it will be a few months as they are remodelling the place making some cosmetic changes in a 6-8 week period, and starting again so expect it to open again in probably September. To quote, " We’ll be bringing a true freehouse to Crouch End, with an ample offer of the well conditioned, independent cask we’ve built a reputation for, alongside a large range of local London beer." Watch this space.
Shop unit conversion which changed ownership in 2010. Named after Henry Reader Williams (1822-97) who was Chairman of the Hornsey Local Board and in whose honour the nearby clock tower was built. Informed in Feb 2016 that Paul as was at the Old Fountain and Wenlock Arms and Andrew as was at Britannia off City Road, and all lately of The Charles Dickens, SE1 will be taking over and there will be 6 hand pumps for beer and cider. The keg taps are standards, nothing more exciting than Bitburger and Adnams Mozaic.
- Three Compasses
BUP.SESSAPMOCEERHT@OLLEH(020) 8340 2729
62 High Street
A large Victorian pub which attracts a diverse range of customers, it is Hornsey's oldest public house. There are known to have been at least three different buildings on this site, the current one dating back to 1896. It was originally a coaching inn and the New River passed through its grounds. Londoners would often visit the pub on a day out to enjoy the fishing, cricket and tea grounds. It was comprehensively restored in 2004. Freshly-produced food and snacks are available, see their website for times. Main bar is light and airy, with several doors which are opened in warm weather. Quiz night Tuesday. Free Wi-Fi. It won a number of Community Pub Awards as well as being a finalist in the North London Pub of the Year competitions in 2009, 2010 and 2011 although it is under new ownership since those awards were won. Tube Turnpike Lane (a good walk), train Hornsey, bus 144 stops outside.
- Toll Gate
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@81p(020) 8889 9085
26-30 Turnpike Lane
Large early (1988) Wetherspoons pub with central bar. There is an outside seating area in front, and meals are available daily until 22.00. Has 4 regular beers and up to five guest beers from micro breweries. Very much a local community pub. Can be very busy and loud on weekend evenings. Cider from Weston's eg Vintage Organic. TV screens running silent. In Jan 2103 became a member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme and the local beers stocked will vary. Children welcome until 22.00. Takes its name from the toll gate erected in 1765 where High Rd meets Green Lanes. It was dismantled soon after the system of turnpikes (private roads) was abolished in 1872.
- Great Northern Railway Tavern ku.oc.srelluf@eciffO.yawliaRnrehtroNtaerG(020) 8127 6632 67 High Street Hornsey N8 7QB
- Kensal Rise
moc.enyalrebmahceht@ofni(020) 8960 4311
83 Chamberlayne Road
Three pumps, usually two on. Formerly the Banker's Draught (previously a Barclay's bank branch), reopened in 2007 with the restoration of real ales after a long absence. One room with long bar at front, dining room at rear specialising in steaks and grills. Outside tables. Handy for Kensal Rise stations. The owner since 1999 is a company called Masseria Group set up by Rob Claassen, also running the Salusbury.
moc.01wndnalsieht@ofni(020) 8960 0693
123 College Road
This place underwent a comprehensive re-vamp in 2006 and now operates over three floors, with an upstairs restaurant, bar menu downstairs, outside tables/terrace and a market on Sundays. Music nights Thursdays and Sundays. Converted from a grim, 1970s bunker of a pub: now much more welcoming. Refurbished again 2019 and under independent management.
- Chamberlayne moc.enyalrebmahceht@ofni(020) 8960 4311 83 Chamberlayne Road Kensal Rise NW10 3ND
- Kentish Town
- Assembly House
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@8106(020) 7485 2031
292 Kentish Town Road
Built in 1896 and designed by Thorpe and Furniss of nearby Camden, the building is a striking landmark in Kentish Town (Grade II listed) with a large and prominent French chateau style tower adding to its status. Inside, the bar cabinet work, etched glass and bar-back, wall mirrors and ceiling are all of exceptional character and design. There is a fine skylight in the former billiard room at the back. The interior is exceptionally large, naturally lit by huge clear picture windows, opened out in recent years and is served by a very large single bar which extends from the front room, round the side and into the back room. A CAMRA Heritage Pub. The toilets, accessible from the back room, are downstairs, with a disabled facility on the ground floor.
- Bull & Gate
ku.oc.sgnuoy@etagdnallub(020) 3437 0905
389 Kentish Town Road
Acquired by Young's in 2014 and closed for some serious architectural changes which have seen the loss of the live music venue but the creation of an upstairs Boulogne Bar which has a grand piano and complimentary live jazz every week on Friday and Saturday evenings. This is a nod to the pub's original name, the ‘Boulogne Gate’ coaching Inn - so-called to commemorate Henry VIII’s victory in France in 1544.
A fine Victorian pub, it still has some original fittings including some of the glass in the bar-back, and carved wooden detail in the arches over the doors. The lost music hall hosted many hundreds of live bands over the years, including Coldplay & Blur. It is now a dining room. Nearest tube and train - Kentish Town. A CAMRA Heritage Pub.
- Bull & Last
ku.oc.tsaldnallubeht@seiriuqne(020) 7267 3641
168 Highgate Road
Reopened on 25/02/20 after a long period of closure for an extensive refurbishment. B&B Rooms to follow. All info on our site is based upon how it was before the closure. A detailed new website is awaited.
NOTE from their website - "On Monday October 1st 2018, we will be closing our doors for a extensive refurbishment. We have secured planning permission to add six bed and breakfast rooms to the top floor of the building. We expect to have completed the building works and be up and running by early Autumn 2019. This project has been in the works for a very long time and we can't wait to finally get stuck in, building the next chapter in our journey. To all of our loyal customers we say a big thanks for your amazing support over the last decade and we look forward to welcoming you back as soon as we open. If you would like to keep up to speed with the building works and be invited to our reopening party please follow us on Instagram. "
Another NW5 veteran to have undergone the inevitable gastro-isation but with Leffe on draught to assuage any feelings of deja-vu. Menu changes monthly, bar snacks are also available. Upstairs dining room. Best to check their website for food serving times, from an open-kitchen, as it can get complicated, they open for breakfasts at 9am on Sat/Sun. Close to Parliament Hill fields and Hampstead Heath. Grade II listed. The beer range can change and on a visit in Feb 2017, we found beers from One Mile End, Salopian & Feckless. One pump dispenses cider. Limited outdoor drinking space. Pub quiz Sunday evenings. Highchairs are available for younger children on both floors. They even provide marrow bones and pig's ear for four-legged friends if they deserve a treat. Sells bottled Weston's Organic cider. Buses 214, C2, C11.
- Dartmouth Arms
ku.oc.bulcgninidgniraeppasid@ofni(020) 3793 0202
35 York Rise
In April 2017 this pub reopened after being closed for two and a half years by London-based multi-site operator Andy Bird, his fourth site in the capital. However, after being awarded CAMRA North London's Spring Pub of the Season Award, Andy surprisingly moved on and the lease has passed to the Disappearing Dining Club, a food and drink collective who host pop-ups across the capital. Their website seems to have a contradiction in food serving times ("Kitchen open evenings and weekends only") with a menu that implies service "Weds to Sat" only. On a visit of a Tues evening no food seemed on offer so this would support that conclusion. On that same visit there were 4 beers from Hammerton, Three Sods, Burning Sky and 360 Degrees.
The new-look pub has quite a different layout than before with the bar moved to the right-hand side opening up what had been the back room where a lantern provides natural lighting. There's plenty of seating with open fires.
That the pub re-opened was a testament to a long-running campaign by local residents and CAMRA alike to prevent its full conversion to residential including obtaining an ACV listing. Pub had closed due to work on upstairs conversion to flats and the risk was that it might remain closed. Nearest tube Tufnell Park, buses 4, 134, 390.
ku.oc.woblesrelddifeht@nimda(020) 7485 3269
1 Malden Road
Built circa 1845, essentially a music venue and no longer a pub - their website lists the bands and each night is paid entry. Grade II listed.
- Gipsy Queen
ku.oc.5wnneeuqyspigeht@sgnikoob(020) 3092 0598
166 Malden Road
Re-opened on 29 June 2015 by Susie Clarke & Joal Czopor of The Grafton Arms as a free-of-tie Enteprise lease. Now under new management. LocAles can alternate between Hackney, East London Brewing, Trumans, Hammerton, and Southwark. Weds quiz. Take-away bottle/jug shop service. Quiz is now on Sunday
- Junction Tavern
ku.oc.nrevatnoitcnuj@ofni(020) 7485 9400
101 Fortess Road
Very popular real ale and gastro-pub, CAMRA North London Branch Pub Of The Year 2008/09. Appears as a restaurant from the main road with the pub to the rear, boasting two connected drinking areas, conservatory and award winning beer garden. Ornate interior with wood panelling and large mirrors. Quality food menu available, pre-booking advised for dining area. Accredited member of CAMRA LocAle scheme alternating Sambrook's, and other LocAles and Regionals. Family and dog friendly. Heated and covered outside smoking area. A visit in Nov 2017 found Bath Gem, Otter Bitter, Timothy Taylor Landlord and Wye Valley HPA.
- Lady Hamilton
ku.oc.notlimahydal@reganam(020) 7485 0700
289 Kentish Town Road
After a period under the management of the Camden Town Brewery (from Nov 2015) has reopened as The Lady Hamilton under the same ownership as the nearby Pineapple and Tapping the Admiral. Two handpumps have been installed and in June one was offering rotating beers, the other a cider. There is also a large selection of keg taps, again mostly featuring beers from London's breweries. There is an upstairs bar and function room.
From the Camden New Journal, Poppy Wheldon, who manages the pub pub, said: “We wanted to celebrate Lady Emma Hamilton – she was a real Kentish Town celebrity. Men would fall at her feet, and it is great to name a pub after a woman who isn’t a queen. It is the perfect spot for us – exactly between our two other pubs.”
There is an open kitchen which shows the last vestiges of Camden's ownership - white tiles. Elsewhere these have been sensitively replaced to create a much more welcoming pub with the lighting creating a warm atmosphere. The ceiling, dating back to the 1970s, is a nice feature brought to life by the new owners. The decor, especially the framed pictures might best be described as eclectic. The exterior photographs show how it looked as Camden's Daughter, the interior shots are as it is now.
Rebuilt in 1885, it was the Old Farm House and then became O'Reillys in 1998, one of the last "Irish pubs" in Camden with a striking old-style interior. This all changed when Camden Town brewery took over.
- Lord Palmerston
ku.oc.sgnuoy@notsremlapdrol(020) 7485 1578
33 Dartmouth Park Hill
This is an old establishment given a modern treatment, that nods in the direction of gastro without excluding or alienating those only wanting a drink. It features a central bar and a conservatory; the windowed frontage creates a light, airy feel to the drinking experience while the high ceilings add to the impression of space. Food serving times - see their website, from an extensive menu. Outdoor seating available both on Dartmouth Park Hill frontage and in the enclosed rear courtyard. Changed hands in 2015 and became part of the Young's managed estate in 2017.
- Lord Southampton
moc.liamg@nedmactimilon(020) 7485 3106
2 Southampton Road
No Limits are now running the place and have added hostel accommodation. Contrary to fears there is still cask beer, Doom Bar. Opposite the St Pancras Alms Houses, this blue tiled pub stands on the corner with Grafton Terrace, just a few doors down from where Karl Marx once lived. Walk back into another era and admire the horseshoe bar that divides the pub into 3 areas. The back area to the left has a table football machine and a pull down television screen to right. The L-shaped bar, above which is a very stuffed fish, dominates one room. This is very much a locals' pub with dartboard, large cabinet displaying silver sports trophies and television in the corner. There is a pull down screen for big events. The upholstery and carpet is blue balanced by wood wall panelling and large plants on the windowsills. The pub is food free. Listed on CAMRA's London Regional inventory.
- Oxford Tavern
ku.oc.nrevatdrofxo@seiriuqne(020) 7485 3521
256 Kentish Town Road
Sold by Greene King in early 2018, West Berkshire Brewery have bought this pub via their pub operating arm Maverick Pubs Ltd and is now under their operation. The place has been cleaned up and can be considered much improved. While it started with mostly West Berks beers, on a visit in April 2019 it had more guests from such as By The Horns & Burning Sky.
A street corner, Victorian pub updated for the current day. It attracts a mixed crowd from the surrounding area, and provides a spacious and well appointed environment. An open plan kitchen, serves food cooked fresh to order from an extensive menu. A first floor bar and function room, is available to hire. It also hosts various events, more details on the pub's website. The interior features many period features, including the original mosaic tiles from 1863, and restored flooring, and fireplaces. An outside drinking area is available. Disabled access and facilities.
- Rose & Crown
moc.nwothsitneknworcdnaesor@tcatnoc(020) 7267 4305
71-73 Torriano Avenue
This pub is quite unique in the immediate area. Started life as the Rose and Crown, built in the 1930s for Watney Combe Reid, it was demolished and rebuilt in 1937, the building nestles between terraced houses. For decades it served as an off-licence, then traded as The Torriano for a number of years with the licensees fighting hard to stop the pub being closed. It did close in 2014 but only briefly and it has re-opened under its original name.
Truly a community local tavern, the single island bar is surrounded by the original slate floor. To the rear is a small heated outdoor seating area known locally as an 'urban garden'. A real coal fire adds to the relaxed nature of the pub and its clientèle. 8 taps on rotation, 2 cask (although only one in April 2019 - the other had Thistly Cross cider) and 6 keg. Weekly Comedy shows, a quiz night with roll-over jackpot and free event space for hire. Note this pub should not be confused with the former Torriano pub in nearby Leighton Road, which is now a block of residential flats.
ku.oc.5wneniveht@ofni(020) 7209 0038
86 Highgate Road
This large free-house was acquired in 2011 by independent pub group, Realpubs Ltd just before they in turn were bought by regional brewing giant, Greene King. It subsequently closed for a comprehensive refurbishment which was done in the Realpub style, creating an 80 seat dining room at the rear, with a large skylight, and the kitchen semi-open to diners.
At the front of the pub is a large decked terrace with huge umbrella awnings providing shelter. As you enter note the tiled mosaic bearing the pub's name immediately inside the front door, which despite some signs of wear and tear does more than enough to evoke the pub's previous life. The front end of the pub is for drinkers, lots of large tables, bar stools and a smaller room off to the left, with two rooms upstairs available for hire. More logically the bar servery now faces customers as they enter. Food is served through the day but the menu can vary.
In Oct 2018 the guest beer was from Truman's. The visit also ascertained that a discount was programmed into the till for CAMRA members. It seems many GK managed pubs may do this but equally likely that not all bar staff may be aware!
- Assembly House ku.oc.gnikeneerg@8106(020) 7485 2031 292 Kentish Town Road Kentish Town NW5 2TG
- Coopers Arms
(020) 7644 9951
164 Kilburn High Road
In April 2018, London Pride was on sale at £3.20 a pint and reported in good nick. In May 2019 Shepherd Neame Spitfire was available for £3.60. Some nice old etched windows with Charrington insignia.
(020) 3624 5646
125 Kilburn High Road
Closed July 2016 due to "technical problem" but then re-opened after sale by Greene King to a private purchaser. After a brief closure reopened Jan 2019 as The Juniper. Real ale is not always available.
A marvellous looking building with some striking interior features, wood panelling wraps around the wall with built-in mirrors, and a fine fireplace above which is an old looking Cock Tavern clock. The ceiling is also well worth looking at with some fine carving. Towards the back is a pool table and darts table. There is ample seating throughout. It used to be home to The Cock Tavern Theatre but this closed in 2011 - the Victorian staircases being "too steep and too short".
The building is locally listed by Brent Council: https://www.brent.gov.uk/media/16415196/locally-listed-heritage-assets-in-brent-full-list.pdf
- Lillie Langtry
(020) 7625 1398
121 Abbey Road
Pub refurbished recently and now reopened. Sign listing 'cask ales' available on the window. Re-named in the first quarter of 2007 as the Cricketers and returned to the Lillie Langtry in 2011. interior and exterior as was. interestingly, still retains a lot of original Ind Coope livery and lanterns to the facade, and the original Ind Coope hanging pub sign with the Lillie Langtry name.
- North London Tavern
ku.oc.nrevatnodnolhtron@ofni(020) 7625 6634
375 Kilburn High Road
A central bar breaks up the pub and the decorated ceiling, lighting, wooden seating and floor create a warm ambience. There is a gastro-style restaurant at the rear in a very nice room but bar snacks are also available. Function room for hire. Beer range changes and can often feature London breweries such as Sambrook's or Truman's.
Quiz Tues nights, DJs Fri/Sat nights from 10pm and Sun jazz. Outside seating on busy main road or slightly less busy side road. The pub was opened out in a November 2014 refurbishment but its essentially pleasant interior remains. Brondesbury station is on the London Overground. Trad cider can come and go.
On a visit in December 2019 there were 2 guest beers on cask, one from the new Goodness Brewery in Haringey and Sambrook's.
- Old Bell
email@example.com(020) 7372 4290
38 Kilburn High Road
Underwent a make-over a few years ago with new carpets and furniture. A very large pub with sports screens, some booths and a marvelous old pub mirror. Could be described as a remnant of old Kilburn which may be slowly fading away. It extends back to a decked patio and huge back garden overlooking the railway. The cask beer was very good value at £2.05 at Sept 2013. Extensive pub grub menu until 21.00. Recently re-opened [Nov 2015] after a short (less than 2 weeks) refurbishment closure. Four handpumps were visible selling London Pride, Doom Bar and Adnams Ghost Ship with the fourth pump unused.
- Priory Tavern
firstname.lastname@example.org(020) 7624 8044
250 Belsize Road
Following a refurbishment, reopened in April 2018 as part of Ei Group's managed division.
Just off the Kilburn High Road, the Priory Tavern has stood at this site since at least 1927, and most likely before that. Its exterior features some fine signs of its former life as a Truman's pub as does an interior illuminated sign. Lots of stripped wood with exposed and varnished floorboards surround a large island bar. While it has a contemporary feel aimed at a younger clientele, it should be attractive to all ages as conversation is positively encouraged. Dart board, piano and quiz night Tuesdays. Won Enterprise Regional Cellar Keeper of the Year 2015 for the quality of its Cask Ales. The house beer is Mad Goose until October and then Landlord for the winter. Well worth visiting. Monday's Happy Hour All night. Tuesday's Quiz Night Every 2 weeks. Weds Double Dip Day 2 for £12 all day. Thurs Music Night. Fri Burger & Beer £12. Sat Flight Of The Chicken 2 for £10 12.00-19.00. Sun Roasts Bloody Mary Reggae 12-21.00
- Coopers Arms (020) 7644 9951 164 Kilburn High Road Kilburn NW6 4JD
- King's Cross
ku.oc.namrethgileht@snoitavreser(020) 3846 3400
3 Granary Square
A realatively new pub, dining room and bar on Granary Square, King’s Cross. The name is inspired by the industrial past of King’s Cross, and the Victorian Lightermen who worked on flat-bottomed barges, known as “Lighters”, on the canals and rivers of London.
On three floors offering great views across Granary Square and the Regent’s Canal, The ground floor has some high tables and stools by the bar but is mostly laid out for eating. The canal-side bar, which is more for drinking, is open Tues to Thu evenings from 4.30pm, from noon on Friday and from 11am on the weekend. Food served from opening until late.
It can get very noisy, especially when busy in the canal-side bar, as the low ceiling and "industrial-chic" decor cause the sound of voices to reverberate, exacerbated by the somewhat unnecessary booming bass from the speakers (which is about all you can discern).
Note that payment is by card only - cash is no longer accepted.
- Lighterman ku.oc.namrethgileht@snoitavreser(020) 3846 3400 3 Granary Square King's Cross N1C 4BH
- J.J. Moon's
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@72p(020) 8204 9675
551 - 553 Kingsbury Road
An early (1988) Wetherspoon's shop conversion, with TV screens and a children's certificate (until 21.00). A large, one-room establishment, low ceilings, lots of wood panelling and a raised section at the rear; a rare outlet for real ale in this part of outer London. The pub is pursuing a more adventurous guest beer policy which, in 2013, led to it becoming an accredited member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme. Food served from opening to 23.00. J.J. Moon is a fictional character and simply plays on the George Orwell Moon Under Water theme of some of the company’s earliest pubs.
NOTE - for the 2017/18 Premier League season, Tottenham are playing home games at Wembley so the pub gets very busy when matches are on and plastic vessels are used.
- J.J. Moon's ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@72p(020) 8204 9675 551 - 553 Kingsbury Road Kingsbury NW9 9EL
(020) 3301 5867
11 Princess Road
Oct 2020 - can confirm that it opened officially by Andrew Marr. 3 real Ales on handpump tonight, London Pride, Hophead, and Jaipur.
A license has been granted to Sam Moss of Leeds Brewery and the pub is planned to re-open in the summer of 2019. See
NOTE - closed end Sept, all the bar fittings were intact, the flats upstairs are now on the market. Simple traditional pub, a troupe of Morris Men were in residence on one visit, built in 1850, the five bar layout can still be made out, but the one-bar works well. There is a large beer garden - very popular in summer - stocked with a range of flowers and plenty of seating and is heated. The pub interior is simple/rudimentary with solid wooden chairs and tables. There is no music played in the pub, there were also no speakers evident. Pub quiz on Tuesdays. Despite a good menu, food is served from an extensive gastro-style menu including vegetarian options, still first and foremost a beer pub. Weston's Traditional Scrumpy served. Chalk Farm tube is around 10-15 mins walk. Sold to Springcroft Constructions, who will seek permission to add residential accommodation while stating their intention to keep the pub open.
ku.oc.noibla-eht@sgnikoob(020) 7607 7450
10 Thornhill Road
A very beautiful, late Georgian, ivy-clad building which was once a coaching inn. The Albion won The Observer Food Monthly award for “Best Sunday Lunch 2009” and is one of The Independent’s “Top 50 Sunday Lunch Venues” and The Guardian’s “Best Pubs in the UK”. Example dishes include Lamb Shoulder Shepherds Pie with Buttered Carrots for £14.50 and Smoked Haddock & Salmon Fishcake w Peas a la Francaise & Soft Poached Hen’s Egg for £15.50
moc.1nbupamlaeht@ofni(020) 3620 7516
59 Newington Green Road
Large single island bar, wooden floors and maroon decor. Half the bar is laid up as the restaurant and the other half is a proper pub with big wooden tables, sofas and low chairs surrounding the open fire, Dining area to left hand side leading to rear patio garden. Children and dogs welcome. Decorated with film memorabilia, they describe themselves as a movie theme pub. Thursday folk acoustic night. Rotating live music nights Thu-Sat. Sunday quiz.
email@example.com(020) 7837 5430
77-78 Chapel Market
Irish market pub acquired by One Mile End Brewery based at the White Horse E1, in summer 2014. Up to four of their beers can be on sale but when not available there will be guests available. A one-roomed pub with a street corner location, frequented by locals, many from the market and very much a Gunners pub. As yet, no sign of any "Hackney hipsterisation". The place has been spruced up with newly upholstered seating, repainted on the outside and with a small side-area just off the main bar area. Five handpumps sit alongside up to 10 craft kegs, with all the beers listed on a large board. In addition a large fridge in the bar offers a range of bottled beers which can be taken away. Over 50 whiskeys and Bourbons are stocked. There are four screens which show sport, often horse racing. The Alma does not serve food, but many of their neighbours in the market do. Feel free to pick up some delicious street fayre and bring it in to enjoy your lunch - all they ask is that you buy all your drinks here. Toilets are downstairs.
ku.oc.acaplaeht@olleh(020) 3417 7224
84-86 Essex Road
Closed for approx 2 months from beginning of Jan 2020 for a comprehensive refurb and now reopened as The Alpaca - we were reassured this would not have any impact upon its listed features.
Three cask beers on an early visit although that might be one too many until people know it is back. Indeed a very recent visit found just 2 cask beers both in good condition. The operators seem to be linked to those operating the King William IV.
The drinking area comprises several distinct spaces around a central bar with a lot of original wood panelling. The social media accounts listed relate to the old operators and it is not clear if they will be taken over by the new operators. There is now a new upstairs seating area.
- Alwyne Castle
ku.oc.notgnilsieltsacenywlaeht@yriuqne(020) 7359 7351
83 St Pauls Road
Trading for a while as just The Alwyne (the Alwyne family were Earls of Northumberland and Lords of Canonbury Manor), the pub is now a typical Islington upmarket refurbishment with voluminous sofas, low tables and exposed ducting. Gastro-pub style food is offered daily, for fuller details go to their website with sample menus. There is a large outside seating area with patio heaters. Tuesday quiz nights. Disabled people will welcome the ramped access and accessible toilet. As well as the draught cask beers a selection of Czech pilsners, German lagers and American "craft" beers are available.
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@387p(020) 7837 2218
3-5 Islington High Street
The Angel was built on the site of Angel Picturehouse (1929), it became pub in 1992. The adjacent tower was also a part of the picture house that was sadly mostly demolished, being one of the first talkie cinemas. With the long gone Philharmonic Hall (subsequently the Grand Theatre) this has always been a centre of popular entertainment. Apparently, its classic columns and caryatids can be seen in the Museum of London. John Betjeman lived nearby as he wrote in his poem Summoned by Bells. It is a large, modern, open plan conversion, with some booths, giving slightly more privacy, towards the back. The pub sits virtually opposite the Angel tube station.
(020) 7240 2876
62 St. Giles High Street
Classic traditional wood panelled three-bar (with a 'snug') local with three distinct drinking areas, rather reminiscent to some of a Dutch “brown cafe” - to others a good old-style London boozer. A Sam Smith's house since 1998, the pub was sensitively and comfortably refurbished in 2010. The classic wooden panelling and leather covered seats all convey an almost timeless quality even in the lee of Centre Point and the new 'legoland' of Renzo Piano's brightly coloured Central St Giles. The public bar has chess tables, darts and theatre posters. The main bar has tall windows and drapes, an ornate ceiling with chandeliers, an unusual fireplace and a mixture of leather clad chairs and stools, and there's a range of theatre posters and and other attractions on the walls. An attractive tiled passageway at the side (a former carriage entrance) is used for outdoor drinking in summer (closes around 5.15pm after complaints from locals) and leads to the small cosy saloon bar at the rear. Upstairs there are two lounges to relax in, with one providing wonderful views on to St Giles High Street, Legoland, and passing buses and traffic, often grid-locked. A tavern has stood on this site since the 16th century, when it catered for condemned men on their way to execution (a claim made by various local pubs!). An eclectic mix of musicians from nearby Denmark Street (London's tin-pan alley), students, bell ringers from St Giles-in-the-Fields, and crazy art students paying in coppers - all make for a clientele that you wouldn't want to miss!
firstname.lastname@example.org(020) 7278 8433
57 Liverpool Road
Formerly The George, a Greene King pub, this is an imposing Victorian pub next to Sainsburys; which in its current incarnation places it firmly into the gastro camp. It is large and open yet still retains some original features, namely the bar areas and support pillars, ceiling and tiles above the back bar, windows, door and fireplace. The huge windows let in lots of light and the sofas around the fireplaces are popular spots. An indoor fountain by the basement toilets was an unusual feature. Food served through the day goes all the way from snacks to full meals (steaks, burgers, sausage & mash). Hugely popular with the local, young affluent set.
- Antwerp Arms
ku.oc.smraprewtna@reganam(020) 8216 9289
168-170 Church Road
Tucked away in the historic and atmospheric Bruce Castle Park area, The Antwerp Arms is Tottenham’s longest established working pub. Serving local people since 1822, this Georgian building with beer garden faced demolition in 2013 – before 300 came together to own and run it. It is now a newly reopened community pub that was saved from developers by the local community and CAMRA campaigners ... it is now open as a community collective owned pub, that will effectively be a permanent outlet for Redemption Brewery beers. Busy on Spurs match days when they return to White Hart Lane (200 metres to ground), otherwise mainly locals. Quiz night Tuesday. LocAle member: occasional beers from other breweries. Cans from local Beavertown brewery.
CAMRA North London Pub of the Year 2020. The opening hours and food service hours will take effect after the end of lockdown#2.
- Barrel Vault
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@8947p(020) 7837 5151
Unit 23, St Pancras International Station, Pancras Road
New unit at the north end of St Pancras International railway station, located by the escalators up to the Southeastern High Speed platforms. It has entrances from within the station and on Pancras Road. Opened 1st October 2018 with a name reminding of the time when beer from Midlands breweries was stored in purpose built vaults under the station. There are some decorative wooden casks adorning the roof rafters. A single room pub all on one level with a gently curving bar counter equipped with 12 handpumps in 2 banks, each of 6. Guest ales are currently (Sep 2019) priced at £3.75. Open kitchen and exposed air conditioning ducting. Alcohol is not served until 7am. The cider is dispensed from the fridges - Orchard Pig and Old Rosie at the time of the survey.
- Beaten Docket
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@53p(020) 8450 2972
50-56 Cricklewood Broadway
The pub is split into three areas with the furthest area to the right slightly more food dominated, to the left there are are series of booths providing more intimate drinking areas as well as two TVs, on silent mode with either sport or rolling news. In summer, some of the doors/windows open more fully to create a pleasant atmosphere around the tables to the front. There is outside seating on the road all year round, which is well used by smokers. Named after a losing betting ticket and there are many framed prints reflecting the racing link. Also look out for the old photos of Cricklewood.
- Beer & Burger Store
moc.erotsregrubdnareeb@xsgnik(020) 3963 5795
1A Arthouse, 1 York Way
Latest branch of the growing chain opened on 24th Jan 2019 but do note that payment can be made by card only - no cash. It has a corner location with floor to ceiling glass walls + loads of neon shining proudly. This store has 20 taps + loads of beer in the fridges of which many are bottle conditioned.
- Belgo King's Cross
(020) 7698 4010
The latest edition to the chain, situated on the ground floor of the Crowne Plaza hotel. Over 50 bottled Belgian beers alongside some standard kegs. Many of the former will be conditioned in the bottle and hence meet CAMRA's real ale classification. Mussels are the house speciality. It is possible to go in just for a beer.
- Betjeman Arms
ku.oc.snni-ominoreg@smranamejtebeht(020) 7923 5440
Upper Level Concourse (SE corner), Unit 53, St Pancras International Station,
Named after the esteemed poet who led the fight to prevent the station's destruction, do not be deceived by the outside of this pub on the upper floor to the right within St Pancras Station (from Euston Road), it is quite a labyrinth. Drinking on the outside terrace you can admire the enormous statue of the kissing couple and watch the Eurostar trains come and go underneath the amazing glass roof that epitomises St Pancras and has been beautifully restored by the redevelopments.
Walk into the bar and you can see two of the original pillars (one partially covered) now painted in a bold red colour. This was following a brief closure in Spring 2018, which has resulted in a darker brown stained interior with green tiling and lots of framed posters of the railway age. This is the second refurbishment since opening, as in 2014 the open-plan kitchen was moved and the bar put in its current place which, being much longer, allowed 6 handpumps to be fitted.
To the back is a pleasant bar area with several mirrors. Walk through to the left and there is another area which almost feels like a meeting room with its large central table. Walk through again and the more formal eating area here has a nice feel, almost of a Victorian Eating Room. Keep going and you'll get to the toilets.
The food menu could be described as British Gastro, with breakfasts from 8.30am, check website for fullofferings. The house beer Betjeman Ale is re-badged Sharp's Cornish Coaster. Guest beers after latest re-opening were from Sambrook's and Truman's at £5 a pint.
- Bill Murray
ku.oc.ydemoclegna@ofni(020) 7226 2572
39 Queens Head Street
After a period of closure the lease was acquired by Angel Comedy Club in July 2016 and is now Angel Comedy HQ. A club, pub and hub, open 7 days a week, hosting "an eclectic range of the finest comedy around". Doors at 7pm, recommended taking your seats by 7.30. The performance room and the bar are separate. 1,049 backers pledged £46,643 to help bring the project to life. Snacks served. Ex-Whitbread, now Enterprise Inns. Once the Ram & Teasel, from 1997 Ram Bar, renamed Mucky Pup c.2003 after the then licencees' bull mastiff.
- Bloomsbury Tavern
ku.oc.emaen-drehpehs@nrevatyrubsmoolb(020) 7379 9811
236 Shaftesbury Avenue
Said to date from 1856 and Grade II listed, it was called the Black Lion until rebuilt in 1905 to the design of C Fitzroy Dell. Half-way between Holborn & Tottenham Court Road Underground stations, the pub is handily placed for visiting the British Museum, Covent Garden and Theatreland. Legend has it (and is claimed by various local pubs - take your pick!) that the Tavern was the last drinking spot between Newgate Prison and present-day Marble Arch for condemned criminals before being hanged at Tyburn Tree. A resident ghost is also claimed. Closed Sundays and public holidays.
- Blue Lion
moc.tcennoctb@noileulbeht(020) 7405 4422
133 Grays Inn Road
Following its sale by Greene King, this is now an independently run free-of-tie house. Expect to see a changing range of cask beers as a result. In November 2018 the range included beers from Three Sods, Twickenham, Hammerton and Watney (brewed at Sambrook's)
The former central bar has service just to the left side, the other side being given over to seating booths, a feature repeated around the pub. A mixture of high tables and comfy chairs and sofas enable good use of space. The front of the bar is illuminated by large picture windows, while at the back, overlooking a pool table, are leaded windows with coloured infill. Interesting fireplaces have been retained in the new layout. Entry is available off Brownlow Mews at the rear, which also provides for smokers, but only on Thursdays and Fridays from noon to 14:30 and 17:30 to 20:30.
There has been a Blue Lion on Gray's Inn Road since 1627, although its original location was across the road, next to St Andrew's burial ground. The pub moved to its current location in 1824 and was completely rebuilt in 1936. An article from The St Pancras Chronicle in March 1972 describes how the current building was nearly demolished to make way for a new office complex.
ku.oc.evil@redniwnorahs(020) 7837 3842
116 Cromer Street
One room ex-Charrington pub rebuilt 1801 but extant in one form or another since at least 1690 when it was the Golden Boot, mentioned in Barnaby Rudge and was the headquarters of the Gordon rioters. Run by Packie Hughes and his wife Mary for over 22 years it has a corner shrine to GAA as well as lots of other bric-a-brac. Beers tend to be from Vale.
- Bountiful Cow
moc.woclufitnuobeht@ofni(020) 7404 0200
51 Eagle Street
A two-level, back street, food-led pub, ‘devoted to beef’, with flickering, red and white neon sign. Cow-themed decoration throughout: pictures; film posters and ornaments. Ground level has a curved, corner bar surrounded by fixed bar-stools, and red, shaded lighting above. Bare wood tables, some soft-seat benches and wicker chairs in brown and ox-blood colour. Downstairs, mainly for dining, there are similar tables, benches and chairs, and there is an open-view kitchen. Bare floorboards upstairs, tiled floor downstairs. Discrete recorded jazz music played. Disabled toilet; ground floor wheelchair accessible with a little help through single-stepped door. They have sourced all their beef from local butchers at Smithfield Market (who still celebrate their annual Christmas Party at the pub today!)
- Brave Sir Robin
ku.oc.niborrisevarb@tcatnoc(020) 7018 3830
29 Crouch Hill
Reopened as Brave Sir Robin 5th/6th December 2017 from the team that run the Rose & Crown in Kentish Town. The name of pub comes from the name of a knight in film, Monty Python and the Holy Grail. It is a small corner pub made cosy by soft globe lighting and candles with a mix of seating, from booths to sofas, which offer a welcome to diners and drinkers alike.
Campaign for Real Ale North London Branch’s Cider Pub of the Year 2020. The Brave Sir Robin has gone from strength to strength since it was taken on by Brothers Theo and Ben Caudell and Chris Hurd, who co-founded Carouse, their small pub company. The trio have a track record of running great community pubs; they also have the Rose & Crown in Kentish Town.
The building that hosts the Brave Sir Robin has gone through various usages. At one time, it was a Post Office and, in the 1930’s, a grocery shop. It finally became a pub in 1983 and was an early conversion by JD Wetherspoon when it was known as Marler’s Bar. Since then it had numerous names including Hopsmiths, when it was run by the now closed London brewery, Late Knights. But that wasn’t the only closed brewery to own the pub; Tolly Cobbold of Ipswich purchased it from JD Wetherspoon when they departed in the late 1980’s.
- BrewDog Camden
moc.godwerb@rabnedmac(020) 7284 4626
113 Bayham Street
This pub which had been closed for nearly two years has reopened as the BrewDog Camden . It's a modern industrial bar selling 17 "craft ales" mostly from the BrewDog brewery with guest ales from Denmark and the US . BrewDog brewery is in Ellon, Aberdeenshire and was originally at Fraserburgh, Aberdeenshire. The original pub, however, is in Aberdeen itself. There are more than 100 bottled beers from all over the world . Burgers and Pizzas are sold for those who want to eat. Nearest tube - Camden Town. Since July 2016 there has been one real ale on offer, Live Dead Pony Club, with secondary fermentation in KeyKegs.
- Brewhouse & Kitchen Highbury
moc.nehctikdnaesuohwerb@yrubhgih(020) 7226 1026
2a Corsica Street
Former tram shed just off Highbury Corner. Was used historically to house the trams that ran on the Highbury to Aldwych route which started in 1906. Opened in 1997 by Regent Inns, later Spirit with Bar Room Bar brand, from 2006 it was owned by Orchid who went into Administration. Acquired by the expanding and ambitious Brewhouse & Kitchen chain in 2014 and, after a period of closure, it has been thoroughly refurbished with the addition of an in-house brewery (opened June 2015).
This is the second Brewhouse & Kitchen brew-pub in London. Keg and also cask beers are offered in third-pint sizes and taster flights. Entry can be controlled when Arsenal are playing at home. Doormen at the front police admission. Learn how to brew beer with their Brewery ‘Experience Days’ and Masterclass - see website for details.
- Bucks Head
email@example.com(020) 7284 1513
202 Camden High Street
Former Truman's corner pub, modernised c.2006, near Camden Market. Real ale is now regularly available. The pub offers CAMRA members 10% discount on real ales. In Feb 2016, the two guests were London Beer Factory Chelsea Blonde and Southwark London Pale Ale.
moc.sbupsuoegrog@llubeht(020) 8341 0510
13 North Hill
The original home of the London Brewing Company, the lease was sold to new operator, Gorgeous Pubs, in July 2016, the sale including the on-site brewery whose beers are now available under the Gorgeous Brewery banner. A new brew house and brew kit has been installed located in the rear garden which is open 12-8 Mon-Fri and 12-9 Sat/Sun. You will find this free-house and brew pub as you go up North Hill on the west side. Before London Brewing moved in it had been a restaurant for some 15 years and closed for 20 months. Wooden floors, scrubbed tables, open picture windows and a nice front deck. There's a full menu served all day. Buses: 143 pass the door. 210 pass through and 214 & 271 terminate in Highgate Village nearby.
- Bung Hole Cellars
ku.oc.yvad@nroblohfosyvad(020) 7831 8365
57 High Holborn,
Part of the Davy's chain of wine bar/restaurants. Cask beer supplied by Shepherd Neame, sold as Davy's Old Wallop. Opening for breakfasts, lunches and dinner (last orders 8.30pm) it offers a full service menu either in the bar area or restaurant, and some food offering is available at all times. Cask beer is only sold downstairs. The chain operates to a formula that mixes a Dickensian style decor with sawdust on the floor and candlelit nooks and crannies. If you view it as a restaurant selling real ale, you won't be disappointed. The beer is expensive. A private room can be booked and seats up to 20 people. Available for private hire at the weekend. The former Bung Hole name has now been dropped on both ground floor and basement.
- Calthorpe Arms
ku.oc.1cwsmraeprohtlac@ofni(020) 7278 4732
252 Grays Inn Road
On the corner with Wren Street, where pavement seating is available, this comfortable, single bar pub is popular with locals and office workers alike. In 1830, it was used as a temporary magistrates' court after the first recorded murder of a policeman on duty. Young’s bought the pub in 1984 and the rotating beers can come from Marston's Eagle Brewery in Bedford, including bottled conditioned beers, and other suppliers (often London). The upstairs dining room is open 12.00 - 14.30 weekdays and can also be booked for meetings and functions. Food covers traditional British favourites, plus daily specials. TV for sports news coverage, and no music. Three times local CAMRA Pub of the Year.
- Camden Eye
bup.eyenedmac@olleh(020) 7267 2622
2 Kentish Town Road
In April 2017 the operator New Pub Co was acquired by Laine Pub Co. A February 2018 refurbishment saw the number of handpumps reduced to two with beers from London breweries or Laine. A small, one-room triangular pub on the corner of Kentish Town Rd & Camden Rd, with an entrance on both roads, within easy walking distance of ten bus routes, this might be the best located of Camden's pubs. Recently refurbished in 2006 this was the Halfway House, a Taylor Walker Arkwrights style bar. The new look consists of high stools and tables. Closest tube Camden Town, rail Camden Road and all busses which pass through/terminate at Camden Town.
- Camden Head
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@1717(020) 7359 0851
2 Camden Walk
A marvellous example of a Victorian pub, Grade II listed, built in 1899 and restored in 1969 by architect Richard Gradidge. It was then that the pub lost its separate bars (clearly evidenced by the three splendid entrances, albeit one's blocked off); sections of the original partitions, with the engraved faceted glass, being reused to form part of the alcoves. The island bar remains the same with a splendid clock from Pond's of Clerkenwell and a blown glass gin bottle. Most of the etched, bowed windows are original although some were replaced as exact replicas in 1969. Stained and painted glass panels in the function room come from a nearby, demolished pub. Beautiful fireplace is original although tiles added during a more recent refurbishment. Waiter bell mechanism remains. Large outside terrace. Comedy club nightly free. The nearby area is packed with antiques shops and similar establishments. Beer range varies.
- Canonbury Tavern
ku.oc.sgnuoy@yrubnonac(020) 7704 2887
21 Canonbury Place,
Reverted to its original name in 2016. Two-thirds devoted to restaurant space. Comfortable modern furniture. Very large garden area to side and rear. In 2014 became an accredited member of the CAMRA LocAle scheme, beers may be sourced from various London breweries such as Sambrook's, Hammerton and Hackney. Sunday quiz. In 2015 taken back by Young's into direct ownership/operation. It has has been a public house since the early 1700's and boasts a rich and varied history.
In 1846 The Canonbury Tavern was demolished and rebuilt on the same land. In the early 20th century the top floor was removed following a fire and never replaced. This is why the staircase leads to nowhere. George Orwell, who lived in Canonbury Square, wrote part of 1984 whilst sitting under the tree in the garden in the 1940's.
In Feb 2018 initiated a 20% discount for CAMRA members. But on a visit in Feb 2019 the discount was not available, we are seeking clarification.
- Carpenters Arms
moc.clpbm@596370nub(020) 7580 3186
68-70 Whitfield Street
This former Wenlock Brewery pub dates from 1938 and still retains many original features. The outside is pure 1930s, with ground floor faience tiling, brick upper storeys and a ceramic “Wenlock” plaque above the corner entrance. Two bars; rooftop beer garden; "granny annex". The original building was first licensed in 1776, spending its first year as the Three Compasses. Food offering includes Sunday roasts.
An additional ale may sometimes be available.
ku.oc.snni-ominoreg@eltsaceht(020) 7713 1858
54 Pentonville Road
A corner pub (junction with Baron Street), and a refurbishment/conversion from what was the Pint Pot to provide the current "traditional" modern, minimalist look with dark wood door facing the bar area, wooden flooring, low lighting, sofas and a roof terrace. Food served. Ale comes in dimpled pints. There is a roof terrace looking out at bus top-deck height. This pub was referenced today 23 November in the Hatton Garden diamond heist court case. This was the biggest robbery in British history, and it was apparently planned at Friday night meetings in this pub! A 'Toby' relief to the top left of the Pentonville Road door indicates that this was once a Charrington's house.
moc.neergnotgniwensralleceht@ofni(020) 7684 2447
125 Newington Green Road
With six handpumps and a constantly changing range this is now something of a real ale destination. Occupies a large street-corner site with huge picture windows. The seating area wraps itself around a curved bar with the area's usual standard fittings of sofas, large mixed tables, wooden chairs, candles and subdued lighting. There is a large back room with an impressive lantern and, if anything, with an even more chilled-out air. Outside seating on street-side. The ceiling in the front bar area is an impressive reproduction, the tiling on the side entrance is original and quite outstanding and one wonders if the whole pub was once similarly decorated. The beers listed are an indication of what may be found. On a recent visit two beers from Otley were available including a one-off seasonal.
- Central Station
ku.oc.noitatslartnec@liame(020) 7278 3294
37 Wharfdale Road
Formerly Prince Albert. Long recognised as one of London’s "best and innovative" independent late-night venues for the gay and lesbian community. For details of all events and exact food times visit their website. B&B double and single rooms available.
- Charles Lamb
moc.liamg@260ynotbmalselrahc(020) 7837 5040
16 Elia Street
Small street corner local hidden in the south west corner of Islington close to City Road and Upper Street. Despite being a small pub, it still has two distinct rooms, and the leaded windows look original. A lot of work has been put into restoring the pub, from the old wooden flooring, to the etched glass shutters that can be pulled down between the smaller room and the bar. The pub consists of a corner bar in the the main room, with one side of the bar also opening to the smaller room. The smaller room has a gas coal-effect fire, making it very comfortable and cosy for those cold winter evenings. The pub also boasts a wide range of board games, to while away the time while enjoying a pint or two. Established in 1839, the pub was renamed in honour of Charles Lamb, the late 18th/early 19th century English essayist. Best known for his collected essays entitled 'Essays of Elia', published in 1823, he also provided the name for the road on which the pub stands ("Elia" being the pen-name Lamb used as a contributor to The London Magazine). In the summer months traditional cider is gravity dispensed from a bag-in-the-box, in the summer you will need to try the bottled ciders from France. As with a number of pubs these days, the keg selection avoids the standards. A small but interesting selection of bottled beers, including Kernel. Guest beers have included Late Knights. Closest tube - Angel.
- Cittie Of Yorke
(020) 7242 7670
22 High Holborn
A Grade II listed building and a CAMRA Heritage Pub. A pub has been on this site since 1430,; a coffee house in the C17, the brick cellars may be from this era. However, the main splendour, the rear room, comes from a 1923/4 rebuild as a romantic evocation of Olde Englande. A large cubic clock and bright copper sign stand out above street level; grand entrance doors lead to a long corridor, ornate plaster ceiling with Yorkshire rose bosses. Off the corridor a comfortable lounge; the cellar bar with food servery; and the back bar, a great timber hall with high pitched roof, long bar, carved wooden booths (or carrels), some huge, ornamental vats above of some antiquity and an unusual, triangular island stove, (maybe) from Napoleonic era.
- Cobden Arms
(020) 7209 2472
28-30 Camden High Street
Beers come from the Molson Coors cask list which seems to offer variety - Thwaites Wainwright's was on sale alongside Doom Bar although the latter may change. Split-level, the entrance leads into a wooden floored main bar, with a raised, carpeted area further back. Sports coverage via two screens, while background music is kept to reasonably quiet levels. The overtly Irish theme previously present also seems to have gone and the make-over results in a fairly comfortable lounge bar feel probably looking for a slightly older audience than some of the more frenetic pubs nearer the Lock. Thai food served 18.00 - 22.00. Food from a more standard pub menu is served Mon - Fri 12.00 - 15.00, Sat/Sun 1 2.00 - 16.00. Nearest tube Mornington Crescent.
- College Arms
firstname.lastname@example.org(020) 7436 4697
18 Store Street
Originally the University Tavern, the subtle name change reaffirms its customer base from the smaller nearby institutions rather than the bigger behemoths of teaching further east. A busy and lively pub whose narrow frontage leads into what is essentially a one-room pub that, that, by use of a mirrored screen and a small raised area at the rear, helps create several distinct seating areas. You enter an area with stand up tables and high level seating leading through to area at the rear with softer and more comfortable furnishings. Plentiful mirrors add atmosphere while an unusual display of wicker bird cages form the rear lighting feature, sitting under a lantern and lighting a pleasantly green and white tiled floor in font of a fine looking fireplace. The no doubt once dark wooden panels have been painted light green, only the back bar gantry remains truly wooden in appearance. Stairs lead down to the basement bar which can also be hired free of charge for about 30 people. Note that the ladies is upstairs.
- Colonel Fawcett
ku.oc.ttecwaflenoloceht@ofni(020) 7267 9829
1 Randolph Street
Building dates from 1843. Site of one of the last fatal duels in England in 1873: the victim, Col Fawcett, is said to appear as a ghost. The pub's website has a nice section on this. Most of the time three pumps are in use, they always stock Hammerton plus a rotating selection of beers from Redemption, Thornbridge, One Mile End, Wild Beer Co, Dark Star, Habour & Tiny Rebel plus others! In 2013 became an accredited member of the CAMRA LocAle scheme.
10% off Real Ale for CAMRA members. Monday Night Comedy shows. Wednesday Quiz Night in the upstairs bar and Irish Trad Music in the main bar. Thursday there is a Live Acoustic Band, Steak Night and Happy Hour all night. Friday and Sat nights see DJs playing from 8pm till 1am. Major sporting events on big screens. Food served lunchtimes and evenings and all day weekends. Bottomless Brunch on Saturdays and Award Winning Roast Dinners served on Sundays. Two large outdoor areas, front and back, a large function room for hire. Overground Camden Road station (200m); nearest tube Camden Town (400m).
CAMRA North London Branch Pub of the Season Winter 2019/2020.
- Compton Arms
(020) 7354 8473
4 Compton Avenue
Under new ownership and now reopened and given a lick of paint and new wood floor amongst other details but with the layout unchanged. Four ales, though how 'regular' they'll be remains to be seen. Now owned by Nick Stephens (Locals Club Ltd) of the Gun in Well Street, Homerton. Four Legs run the food.
Small, attractive, cottage style building, in a narrow side street opposite some 1920s post modernist flats. Inside the compact dimensions and wooden beams heighten the country pub atmosphere. The main part of the pub is a narrow bare-boarded area, with bottle glass-panelled windows to the street. To the rear of the bar is a smaller dining area; there is also a lower lounge area that leads to a pleasant patio courtyard.Pub can get crowded before kick-off when Arsenal play at home. Handy for concerts at the nearby Union Chapel. Nearest tube/overground - Highbury and Islington.
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@972p(020) 7609 5014
338-346 Holloway Road
An exceptional and sympathetic Wetherspoons conversion of a former ABC cinema,designed by William Glenn, opened as The Savoy in 1940, screened its last film in 1983. This striking building is an oasis in Holloway. The former grandeur of the 1940s cinema is still visible, including a decommissioned projector. Known locally for beer quality and range with great value prices. Full disabled access. Separate family area. Small garden heated at the rear. Full menu served until 22.00. Entry can be controlled when Arsenal are playing at home including higher prices and plastic drinking vessels. In 2013 became an accredited member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme - a wide range of London beers rotate. Alcohol served from 9am. The pub was listed as an Asset of Community Value by Islington Council on 02/08/2016.
moc.clpbm@535871nub(020) 7387 0183
108a Tottenham Court Road
Wide corner position offers plenty of pavement drinking space whilst the light and airy interior provides comfortable seating in the main oak floored bar, dominated by large pendant lampshades, and in the raised carpeted area, with its collages of old photographs, at one end. Further seating is provided upstairs. The 'pub-grub' menu offers various deals, some including a drink.
- Craft Beer Co. Covent Garden
moc.ocreebtfarceht@maet1cw(020) 7240 0431
168 High Holborn
Rebuilt in 1961 as part of Oasis swimming pool. After many years as a fairly indifferent pub it was acquired by Craft in 2014 and, as with many of their pubs, offers a huge and regularly changing range of cask and craft beers. Situated in the ancient parish of St Giles, whose church featured in several of Hogarth's etches, including Gin Lane; it being on the north-eastern edge of Covent Garden will probably have a more modern resonance. One two levels, this, the sixth Craft Beer Co. outlet, would be more at home in Beer Street with its fifteen pumps dispensing an ever changing range of beers from across the UK. There are frequent tap takeovers and also meet the brewer events.
- Cross Keys
(020) 7836 5185
31 Endell Street
1848 grade II listed pub. The striking exterior, with its elaborate decoration obscured by extensive foliage, forms an immediate impression upon approaching this pub. Inside is a fascinating collection of bric-a-brac, ranging from copper kettles to musical instruments and even a diving helmet. There are also brewery mirrors, a large collection of portraits and pictures, including a good watercolour landscape, and two notable clocks. Leased by East London "brewers" Brodie's, who used to brew their beer in the capital but are currently (as of Feb 2019) having their beers brewed elsewhere at Rhymney brewery in Blaenavon, Torfaen, Wales. . When busy (which is often) drinkers can spill out onto the pavement in front of the pub.
email@example.com(020) 7837 7107
116 Cloudesley Road
1820s pub which is now a Grade II listed building and on CAMRA's London Regional inventory. Originally at least four bars, it has been opened up around an island bar, although still retaining the feel of two separate bars. Lots of etched glass and some original, Victorian ornate snob screens, divorced from their original setting. There is an outdoor drinking area at the front. Despite an extensive food menu, it is still primarily a locals' pub. Hoegaarden on draught.
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@8717(020) 7836 5861
43 Monmouth Street
This is an small near-200 years old ex-Friary Meux house on Seven Dials - formerly part of the notorious rookery of St Giles - where seven streets converge in the heart of 'Theatreland'. There are two drinking areas surrounding an island counter, and tables and chairs outside. The area was originally laid out by Thomas Neale in the 1690s at the centre of which is a (recently restored) pillar with sundials (count 'em!). The pub was re-built in 1834 and is Grade II listed. At one stage each of the seven apexes of Seven Dials housed a pub.
- Crown & Anchor
ku.oc.1wnrohcnadnanworceht@yriuqne(020) 7383 2681
137 Drummond Street
A large corner pub which has undergone a face-lift leaving it with lots of natural light through clear, quartered windows (many of which have a coloured photographic inlay), wooden flooring and exposed brick-work. The guests come from the M&B range and what's coming is usually listed on a leaflet on the bar. Windows open up in summer and there are a large numbers of tables and chairs on the street. Food is served and at weekends opens early for full English breakfasts. If you want something different, Drummond Street is also home to a selection of South indian vegetarian restaurants. Close to Euston main line and Euston Square or Warren St tubes. Disabled access.
- Crown & Anchor
ku.oc.tslaenrohcnadnanworc@reganam(020) 7836 5649
22 Neal Street
An old Watney Combe Reid pub re-built in 1904, on the corner of Neal and Shelton Streets, with original signage on the outside of the building, and now run by the Glendola Leisure Group. The main bar is along the back of the ground floor and there's plenty of seating and tables, and large beautifully-designed windows to watch the world go by. It does get very busy, and drinkers spill over into the semi-pedestrianised streets outside of an evening (plastic glasses are compulsory). The first floor serves as a restaurant at lunchtime, and as a bar in the evening.
ku.oc.elavnottus@ookcuc(020) 7697 4488
115 Hemingford Road
After a few years as an Indian restaurant the Cuckoo is back as a pub, opening on the 4th March 2016. The intention for the kitchen is that it will be rented to pop ups, changing every 2 months or so. First pop up was a Chinese kitchen known as the Dinner Ladies. Currently (May and June 2017) The White Asparagus. Floorboards throughout. Fixed seating round the walls of the pub.
- De Beauvoir Arms
moc.smrariovuaebed@ofni(020) 7359 7392
113 Southgate Road
Large corner Victorian pub which was the Jolly Farmers for more than a century until it acquired a poor reputation. The person who took it over called it the Dog & Dumplings, he looked through a list of pub names and chose that because there was only one other in the country. In 2013 changed ownership and name from Northgate to De Beauvoir Arms and underwent a subtle refurbishment that has made the place into slightly more of a pub and slightly less of a restaurant. It's a single island bar pub opened out into one large bar with typical bare boards floor and open kitchen to the rear. On the edge of the De Beauvoir Estate an area of architectural interest. The original De Beauvoir Arms was the name of a pub in Stamford Street, later the Trolley Stop, and the name survives in the ironwork even though it is no longer a pub. Operated by Stanley Pubs Ltd who run two other North London pubs.
- Devonshire Arms
moc.liamg@nedmacvedeht(020) 7284 0562
33 Kentish Town Road
Mock Tudor Style pub.This former goth pub now caters for all music types Goth, Punk, Metal, indie and Rock. In 2014 there was a return to real ale after a period of 8 to 10 yrs absence. Renamed as the "Hobgoblin" in c2008 and as the "Devonshire Arms" in c2013, though it's always had the "Devonshire Arms" signage hanging and most people refer to it as the "Dev". The pub was bought by Tom Maloney from Enterprise around 2012 and he describes it as an alternative rock venue. The Maloney family also operate the nearby Oxford Arms.
(020) 7916 3191
47 Tonbridge Street
This traditional, street corner pub still has two bars, one of which is used as a restaurant area serving Thai food, as well as some old Watney’s insignia. There are 3 handpumps on the bars, and occasionally they have other beers on. Food is served from 12.00 - 22.30 (21.00 Sun). Several TV screens as well as music in the pub. Directly opposite the Camden Centre, which was the home of CAMRA’s London Drinker Beer & Cider festival for over 30 years until the venue closed. Access is through a walkway separating the two former parts of Camden Town Hall.
- Dolphin Tavern
(020) 7831 6298
44 Red Lion Street
A small, wedge-shaped pub with a wooden bar and seating in booths down one side of the pub and bar stools down another. This, coupled with the paraphernalia around the walls, gives a very cosy feel. It is famous for its stopped clock (a German zeppelin dropped a bomb on the pub in 1915 killing 3 men and stopping the clock). The food is traditional and home-made with main meals served 12.00 - 14.30, at other times snacks such as nachos and sausages are available until around 22.00. Reported as "free of tie" in the summer of 2016 and plans to put in a fourth pump to compliment the three they already have. Toilets only accessible by steep stairs. Tube - Holborn.
- Doric Arch
ku.oc.srelluf@hcracirod(020) 7383 3359
Euston Station Colonnade, 1 Eversholt Street
Formerly the Head of Steam; acquired by Fuller's in 2005, converted to its current name in 2006, celebrating the arch wantonly demolished as part of the station's "development" as does the pub's sign. The pub is located in the Euston station complex on the first floor looking out on the bus station.
There is a wide range of railway artefacts on display, giving a distinctive and unusual atmosphere appropriate to a station pub as does the live train time info screen. There is one booth resembling a railway compartment, and a raised drinking area at the rear from where the regular passage of buses can be witnessed.
Two ciders (bag in a box) displayed on the bar back. There is background music and a TV frequently showing sport with the sound muted. The toilets are in the basement. There is a 15% discount for CAMRA members - honoured on presentation of a current membership card and advertised by a chalk board on the bar counter. Became an accredited member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme in 2013. Following the acquisition of the Dark Star brewery their beers are increasingly featured at the expense of guest beers from elsewhere.
Alcohol is only served from 10.00am not from opening.
- Draft House Camden Road
ku.oc.esuohtfard@daornedmac(020) 7485 4530
102-104 Camden Road
Formerly called the Eagle, which also served as Rosie O'Grady's and the Mac Bar, in 2006 it became the first of the Grand Union "burgers & cocktails" chain. In 2017 that chain was acquired by the Draft House group who reopened it as one of their eponymous pubs with three handpumps. It is a huge place with a horseshoe shaped bar, mainly wooden floors, lots of eclectic lighting, music memorabilia, and a large mural down the main bar wall which pays homage to Camden's musical history.
There is a large seated dining area, and a function area to the side that can be reserved for up to 50 people. Food is burgers/chicken in UK/US style, with roasts on Sunday. Hawks Cider (Keg), Seacider on Cask (in summer). Many keg offerings are available along with imported bottled beers (Belgian and others). The Beer List on the wall lists the current offerings available.
In 2018 the Draft House chain was acquired by Brewdog who, in November, announced that "Cask Is Back", signalling their return to the real ale fold. However, it now (Jan 2019) seems that the house regular will come from Siren. The pub is opposite Camden Road station.
- Drake & Morgan (Kings Cross)
ku.oc.ssorcsgnik-nagromdnaekard@ofni0845 468 0107
6 Pancras Square
Styled as a cocktail bar and restaurant in the new King's Cross development. It is a huge space on two levels with a large sheltered front terrace. Needless to say, the decor is very modern, in fitting with its setting. The ground level is split into an area for dining and an area for drinkers, the latter with high tables and stools and (at the time) a large screen showing sport (Wimbledon). Downstairs is a huge room with its own bar (it had a handpump as well but as the beer was not on our visit, no idea if it is in full-time use). This seems to be more of a drinking area, with booths and what seemed to also be table service. Mon-Sat the kitchen closes at 10.
- Drapers Arms
moc.smrasrepardeht@ofni(020) 7619 0348
44 Barnsbury Street
Period pub re-opened in 2001 after being closed for over 3 years and reverting to its original name. Built by the Drapers Livery Company it probably originally had three bars. It has been opened up around a central bar and three fireplaces, and has a light and airy feel. It has a mixture of pub furniture, dining tables and settees. Apparently, Islington Labour Party was founded here in an upstairs room, so now you know who to blame! The pub closed again in 2008 but reopened bought by Ben Maschler (son of restaurant critic, Fay Maschler), who has expressed a firm commitment to keeping the Drapers very much as a pub for locals, as well as one offering good food and wines. Certainly, the comprehensive refurbishment has been sensitively handled and the pub and upstairs dining room look all but the same as before. The intention is to continue with a policy of regular guest beers and there are three real ales on at present. Per their website, their dining room is available for private hire for parties of up to 50 people.
ku.oc.nodnolrevird@reganam(020) 7278 8827
2-4 Wharfdale Road
Modern contemporary pub. Ex-Watney, changed hands in 2009. Four-storey interwar building with ivy growing on the brick walls, khaki ground floor exterior including some art deco metalwork under the windows. Fairly spacious, with a central bar, art deco cornice on the right, naturalistic elm wood bar counter, three other floors upstairs with restaurant and lounges. 30s and 40s middle-class types predominate. Roof terrace (on top) with 200 plants and a high wall around. Note their website says it opens at 16.30 but on a recent visit we were told it opens at 17.00.
- Dublin Castle
MOC.LIAMG@eltsacnilbudeht(020) 7485 1773
Victorian pub, ex-Watneys, a long-time music venue with an Irish flavour. Welcome news from Camden that the real ale offerings at the Dublin Castle are now more available with three beers being available along with Weston's Old Rosie cider on handpump. Primarily a music venue with a door charge in the evenings (although this can just be the back room where the band plays), it operates as an ordinary pub during the daytime. In Jan 2017, the pub received the prestigious PRS Music Heritage Award from the band Madness, where the band played their first concert in 1979. The Award is given to venues which have witnessed the birth of the UK's most famous music acts with a plaque above the entrance to the pub displaying the date of the band's first performance.
ku.oc.bupekud@sgnikoob(020) 7242 7230
7 Roger Street
A CAMRA Heritage Pub for its outstanding interior; Art Deco features date from 1938, a part of an office and flat development with characteristic detailing and metal windows, what many inter-war pubs looked like before modern changes. The John's Mews entrance leads into a small wood-panelled lounge, used primarily as a dining area, whilst the corner entrance leads you into a larger bar decorated with artwork, but no longer with original lino flooring. The back room features a number of original private booths and there are two in the front bar added more recently. Now calls itself under the abbreviated Duke but (of York) features still on the pub sign. In nearby Doughty Street can be found the Charles Dickens Museum, the author's only surviving London home. Other examples of beers sold - Redemption Hopspur, Windsor & Eton Windsor Knot.
- Duke Of Cambridge
ku.oc.cinagroekud@ekud(020) 7359 3066
30 St Peter's Street
Set on a corner, the Duke is very much a gastro pub with a range of up to four organic cask beers which may come with no finings, so don't judge the beers with your eyes! There are large plain glass windows, which gives the pub a light airy feel with the dark blue ceiling being offset by the beige walls. The wooden floors and tables add to the bistro atmosphere. A smaller, more intimate eating area at the back of pub leads to a courtyard with seating. There is additional outside seating at the front. The pub is certified by The Soil Association and, as you will see from their website, they have a very ethical policy. An accredited member of CAMRA's LocAle Scheme for its Pitfield beers which have been supplied to the pub since it opened in its present guise in 1998.
- Duke Of Wellington
(020) 7275 7640
119 Balls Pond Road
NOTE - from a recent visitor - "This pub sold no real ale when I visited on 18 February 2019" Confirmed by another visit at the end of March 2019. However, in April Purity UBU was on sale so might be best to say that cask beer supplies are unreliable.
Reopened after a brief closure for refurbishment and opening under new management/ownership. A visit in Nov 2018 found only one beer on, Five Points Porter. Also one real cider. It seems that is no more.
At one time operated by Ed Mason of Five Points Brewery, the pub underwent a fine refurbishment. This large Victorian establishment still has vestiges of the old separate saloon bar and public bar entrances, with a central bar and retains some original features, such as the front fireplace and side-entrance floor tiling and some etched glass - while there is a separate lounge. Sport on several TVs (Arsenal are a strong favourite). Buses 38,30,277,56, N38. Benches at the side and a garden in summer.
ku.oc.notxohelgaeeht@yriuqne(020) 7250 0507
2 Shepherdess Walk
The Eagle Tavern, Grecian Theatre Pleasure Grounds and Grecian Saloon and Olympic Theatre once stood here (1825-99) and it was where Marie Lloyd, the music hall artiste, gave her first public performance. Made famous in the song - Up and down the City Road, in and out The Eagle, That's the way the money goes, Pop goes the weasel. Leather workers would pawn or pop their tools (weasels) for a drink. This is a more, modern open plan pub, with large picture windows and a very pleasant, secluded beer garden. Modern pub grub served all day. Guest range changes regularly and includes various imported beers. 5 mins from Old St.
- Earl Of Camden
moc.sbupetagenots@nedmaC.folraE(020) 7284 1675
Opened in 1998 as one of Whitbread's Hogshead chain, it occupies a corner site that was formerly a commercial building. Hogsheads specialised in a large range of real ales and numbers then fell. In Nov 2018 it re-opened after a refurbishment with 6 handpumps which we are told will feature three nationally sourced beers and three sourced locally (although the five in use were all national in August 2019).
Now more of a cafe-bar, aimed at the younger set, with adequate seating for eating; a busy mix of high tables, stools and sofas in a large, one-room setting. See their website for food menu. Named after the landowner who first permitted the area to be developed in the 1790s.
- Earl Of Essex
ten.xessefolrae@lrae(020) 7424 5828
25 Danbury Street
A craft beer house, 5 handpumps (3 for cask beer and two for cider/perry) plus plenty of craft keg (up to 14 taps) which did have its own on-site brewery but this ceased operations some time ago. Following a period when all cask beers disappeared, real ale was restored in November 2015 from an ever changing list of breweries both local and national. There is a very impressive list of bottle beers including some fine beers from Cantillon. Wide food selection has been introduced, see website for full details. They have matched each dish to a beer to bring out the best in the beer and the best in the dish, you don’t have to have it but they hope you will try it. If you want they can always recommend another for you. As with an increasing number of pubs, the use of pumpclips has been dropped and the beers on sale are listed on a large board.
firstname.lastname@example.org(020) 7278 6530
22 Easton Street
Reopened April 2018 having become part of Ei Group's managed division. The information below is probably out of date and awaits a fresh survey.
Formerly the “Queens Head”, this back street local behind Rosebery Avenue in Clerkenwell (not far from Exmouth market) is now a gastro-pub offering some interesting options, such as Saddleback Pork sausages, Old Spot Chops or beef cheeks, as well as more mainstream sea bream and steaks. Although a sizeable pub, there is little left of its former interior to give it any form other than a rectangular box, though it still retains a nice green tiled exterior. Bottled Ty Gwyn cider from Monmouthshire is also available.
- Edinboro Castle
ku.oc.bupeltsacorobnide@yriuqne(020) 7255 9651
57 Mornington Terrace
This is a wonderfully situated pub, with a large garden and terrace (fairy lights and heating) next to the main Euston rail line, close to Camden High St and Regent's Park. It has one large room, sub-divided into sections, typical North London eclectic with the various drinking/seating areas wrapped around the single bar in a way that creates clearly separate areas. The earliest meeting place of CAMRA North London Branch, there has recently been a significant improvement in the range of traditional drinks and overall service. Happy Mondays - £1 off all Tap beers (including Casks) all day (excludes bank holidays). Food served 12.00 - 22.30 (22.00 Sun). Disabled access. Cask Marque. Nearest tube Camden Town, bus 274/C2 Delancey St just outside door.
- Elephants Head
(020) 7485 3130
224 Camden High Street
Tile-fronted pub at the heart of Camden market territory, given an unusual shape by its corner location. Some say the name derives from the Elephant Pale Ale brewed by the Camden Brewery which stood nearby and operated until 1925. However, it is more likely that it comes from the coat of arms of the Marquess of Camden, which is now on top of the London Borough of Camden coat of arms, an elephant's head. Incidentally the Marquess actually lived in Chislehurst near Bromley, and used to commute to Camden. Many road names in Chislehurst and Camden are similar! The house beer - Elephant's Head - is Caledonian 80/-. Being handy for Camden Lock, the Roundhouse etc, can get crowded weekends.
ku.oc.llihesormirpreenigneeht@seiriuqne(020) 7722 0950
65 Gloucester Avenue
In 2011 Mitchells and Butlers controversially ended the lease held for 17 years by Abigail Osborne and Tamsin Olivier, who had run it as an early gastropub. Now a managed outlet, it has not changed much since but if anything is more pubby. The right-hand side is the bar. There are dining rooms on the left and upstairs, called the Brunel Bar and the Engine Room because of a historic connection with the great engineer. The bar has stripped wood and big clear windows. There is a nice, large for the area, garden at the back with heaters and separate eating and drinking areas.
ku.oc.esirpretne-eht@kcin(020) 7404 8461
38 Red Lion Street
A large, extended one-roomed pub but one in which you can still distinguish the previous layout and indeed still retains some very interesting features such as a characterful bay window. The front half of the pub has some fantastic green tiling and mirrors, although the gas lighting has now been replaced by candles. As the pub thins out to the rear it leads to a heated and lighted garden.
There's a full food menu at lunchtimes including starters, mains, salads, sandwiches and desserts while from 17.00 - 21.30 a lighter, tapas-style menu is available. In 2006, a fine mosaic by local artist Tessa Hunkin, appeared on the pub's side, looking to replicate the pub sign in a marvellous way. Tube - Russell Sq., Chancery Lane or Holborn.
On a visit in April 2019, Dark Star Hophead was available as opposed to Tribute, it is not known whether this is a permanent change.
- Euston Flyer
ku.oc.srelluf@reylfnotsue(020) 7383 0856
83-87 Euston Rd
The premises were converted from a sewing machine shop in about 1995. The front of the pub has French windows which can be opened in suitable weather. There is a large single room at several levels, including a gallery which can be used for parties, with the bar along the side wall. Decorations are in the semi-traditional style, with a wooden floor at entry level and carpeted podia. There are a number of clocks, mirrors, small black and white photos and oversize lamps. The pub has piped music and two projection TVs, and caters for office and passing trade, with some emphasis on food (standard Fuller's menu), but no area reserved for eating only. There is a standard Fuller's wine list, and bottled Belgian and German beers from AbInBev. Food served 10.00 (starting with breakfast) - 21.00 daily. There is no outside drinking area, and the pub is on a busy main road, opposite the new British Library. King's Cross and St Pancras International stations are within 400 m, Euston is not much further away.
- Euston Tap
(020) 3137 8837
West & East Lodges, 190 Euston Road
Occupying the stunning Grade II listed West & East Lodges in Euston Square, this "craft beer house" is brought to London by the same team running the well regarded Sheffield Tap. For a while the East Lodge operated purely as a cider house and has recently restored four traditional ciders plus two cask beers. The West Lodge features up to 8 changing cask beers.
What's on tap is indicated on large chalk boards, and served through unique beer taps on the bar back wall. In addition and above the cask taps are the keg beer taps bringing exotic and unusual brews from around the world. In the West Lodge stand huge fridges housing a vast array of bottled beer. As you enter the small main room of either Lodge the bar is straight in front of you, with fine mirrors and the whole decorated using a nice line in tiles.
In West, there are a few stools but it's mostly perpendicular drinking whereas East is a bit more generous with banquette seating as well. Both have curved staircases (an aspect of the Grade II listing) leading up to another room with seating and the toilets. Outside heated seating allows drinkers to watch the busses and world in general go by. The East Lodge has had some additional windows put in and similarly so in the West Lodge. On Mon-Sat the closing time is an unspecified "until late". The East Lodge tends not to open until around 4.30 Mon-Thu, 2.00 Fri-Sun.
- Exmouth Arms
ku.oc.evolbup@smrahtuomxe(020) 7387 5440
1 Starcross Street
This is a pleasant, airy corner pub with large picture windows and comfortable seating (booths by the windows, high tables and benches) around a large L-shaped bar fronted by mosaic tiles with an open food servery, offering burgers and diner tapas from Burger Craft. Six changing ales four of which were from London Breweries at last survey with 32 bottled beers displayed on the "wall of beer". Opens from 9am for breakfast. Pub quiz Tuesday evenings. The former function room is now operated as "boutique hostel" which is a standard feature for operator PubLove. The pub is named after Edward Pellew the first Lord Exmouth and the street after the village of Starcross just across the estuary from Exmouth in Devon. He masterminded the great victory against piracy at the battle of Algiers, Pellew was truly one of our foremost naval heroes and is buried at Christow in Devon.
- Famous Cock Tavern
email@example.com(020) 7226 4627
259 Upper Street
Reopened in Feb 2018 after a £600k investment by Stonegate which has brought the basement back into use as a jazz music venue - the Jam & Rye bar (open from 5pm and all day Sunday). Both craft and cask beer are advertised.
It is a large single room pub with booths and larger tables at front street-side entrance, adjacent to Highbury and Islington station. Sports on TV screens dominates and can be loud, sometimes two different games are being shown. Outside drinking and smoking area at the back. The beer range will vary from established larger regional breweries.
ku.oc.snni-ominoreg@stnevewollefeht(020) 7837 3001
24 York Way
Revitalised as a gastro pub as a part of the Regent Quarter development by King's Cross station. Reopened in 2008, renamed after a 1990s racehorse. Ground floor bar is in a very modern, open-plan style with an open kitchen and on first glance you might think it was a restaurant. Upstairs is a roof terrace and at the top, another bar/function room. For food serving times visit their website. The lease was acquired by Young's in Oct 2014 and they announced their intention to add it to their Geronimo brand of pubs
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@6817(020) 7636 0721
18 Goodge Street
Large corner pub round the corner from Goodge St station, with extensive seating area at the front. Air conditioning. Originally the Valiant Trooper, from 1766. Rebuilt in 1935 by Watneys, it became an Irish theme pub, Finnegans Wake, between 1997 and 2002.
- Fitzrovia Belle
ku.oc.stnaruatserdnasbupelleb@aivorztiF(020) 7387 7149
174 Tottenham Court Road
The old Mortimer Arms, now refurbed and renamed and promoting itself as a public house and hotel. Originally licensed in 1780, it was bombed out in 1940 and rebuilt in 1958. The site is in one of the many postcode anomaly zones, on the east side of Tottenham Court Road surrounded by WC1 and just inside the area normally known as Bloomsbury. Open at 7.30 for breakfast. Five ensuite boutique hotel rooms. Six handpumps in two bars. Decor is light-coloured with wooden tables. Piano in front bar
- Fitzroy Tavern
(020) 7580 3714
16A Charlotte Street
The building started life as the Fitzroy Coffee House in 1883 and became the Hundred Marks in 1887; renamed the Fitzroy Tavern in 1919, by which time Germanic references were not popular.
Formerly a Charrington's house (and before that owned by Hoare and Co.), the Fitzroy was taken over by Sam Smiths and has recently undergone a complete transformation (along the lines of the Princess Louise in Holborn). A large semi-island bar serves six separate drinking areas, some connected internally. There is a profusion of well crafted etched glass, mirrors, tiles and wood panelling, on which Sam Smiths have really gone to town. Paintings, photos, posters and other memorabilia decorate many available walls. There are two real fires! Even hardened pub-goers should prepare to be impressed.
Prices would probably have a Yorkshireman reaching for his smelling-salts, not his wallet, but they are very reasonable - for London.
Fitzrovia, which is said to said to be have been so-named, by Tom Driberg alias William Hickey of the Daily Express, from the pub, had a distinctly bohemian flavour from the 1920s onwards, and the Fitzroy was its beating heart, where Pierrepoint the hangman mixed with Fabian of the Yard, Coco the Clown, writers Dylan Thomas and George Orwell, politicians Nye Bevan and Hugh Gaitskell, comedians Kenneth Williams and Tommy Cooper, sculptor Jacob Epstein and artist Augustus John . . . becoming one of the very few pubs to have its own biography, by the daughter of a previous licensee ("The Fitzroy; the Autobiography of a London Tavern" by Sally Fiber, available second-hand or from a good library).
Archive photos of this pub as a Charrington's house are available at www.historypin.org/en/fitzroy-tavern/.
- Fox on the Green
firstname.lastname@example.org(020) 7226 3864
1 Islington Green
An impressive building occupying a corner site on Islington Green with terrace seating. Refurbished in April 2016.
ku.oc.evolgxofeht@tcatnoc(020) 7609 7129
209-211 Liverpool Road
Recently re-opend, our drinker on the ground reports this, "I'm not sure how 'regular' these beers will be, but last night the choice of real ales was between: Anspach & Hobday Extra Pale, Tiny Rebel Juicy, Tiny Rebel Cwtch, Wild Beer Co Saaz Trek."
From Propel Dec 2018, "KPS Pub Co to transform newly acquired Islington bar into artisan beer venue: KPS Pub Co has acquired the leasehold of Cured Bar in Liverpool Road, Islington, in a deal brokered by agent Savills. The property was marketed at a guide price of £125,000. KPS Pub Co will turn the venue into The Foxglove, a neighbourhood pub serving drinks solely sourced from small and independent producers.
The ground-floor bar and dining area will provide 64 covers. A KPS Pub Co spokesman said: “We hope to inject some passion and integrity into the pub scene based on our appreciation of good-quality, independently made alcohol. The focus of the pub will be on artisan beer and spirits, with the aim of making craft beer accessible for all.” Chris Bickle, director in the licensed leisure team at Savills, added: “The locality is home to several award-winning dining pubs and the arrival of The Foxglove as a carefully curated wet-led pub will complement the area well.”
As it had been......
NOTE - after a brief closure, reopened as Cured - perhaps a restaurant? Maybe an eatery? Three identifiable ales among other founts, but all on keg: Fuller's London Pride Unfiltered, Fuller's Montana Red and Hammerton's N1.
Prior to that had once again re-opened after a brief closure and re-furbishment with a new name (Hop & Berry) and a commitment to London beers. However, in March 2016 a surveyor was informed of their decision to drop all cask beers and focus solely on kegs. However, in August 2016 one cask beer was spotted though you wouldn't know it. It appeared on the blackboard along with the craft stuff. No pump clip and no Indication on the BB that it was cask. The pub has outside seating on a front terrace and a beer garden at the rear.
- Friend At Hand
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@8817(020) 7837 5524
2-4 Herbrand Street
Easily missed, just around from Russell Square, off Bernard St (note the pub sign), close to the Horse Hospital, built in 1797, originally a purpose built stable for 24 horses, now an arts venue. The street also housed London’s first public ambulance station. Lots of dark wooden panelling, dark rose and cream wallpaper, a low red ceiling and soft lighting create a warm, cosy feel for this more traditional pub. It has a welcoming atmosphere as its size encourages the clientele to talk as diners mingle with drinkers. Maybe this is the way it has always been, being built in 1735 it has had plenty of time to build its reputation; reportedly Dickens was a customer. Food is traditional fayre with the piece de resistance being a four pie platter with mash, peas and gravy, served until 21.30.
moc.liamg@2nroblohegroegeht(020) 7404 8888
8 Great Queen Street
Modern pub with venetian blind windows. Low lit with veneered columns, comfortable furniture and a pavement seating area, unusual in central London. Built in 1961 as part of an office block. Can be reserved for private parties on Saturday nights.
- George & Vulture
moc.erutluvdnaegroeg@ofni(020) 7253 3988
63 Pitfield Street
Newly refurbished in February 2008. A single traditional large bar now restored to its comfortable Victorian splendour. Open fire. Large leather sofas and traditional oak tables. Popular with rugby enthusiasts and pub quizzers on Tuesday nights. Large outside seating area on the streets. They boast to be the tallest pub in London - since 1870. Well worth the walk up from Old Street tube. Food comprises Sour Dough Pizzas and Sides from an open kitchen, Sunday roasts (noon - 18.00) plus meat platters.
- Golden Lion
moc.nedmacnoilnedlog@ofni(020) 7097 4760
88 Royal College Street
A lovely and popular community pub. Saved from closure in 2013, the licensee and the local community, supported by Camden Council, waged a long campaign to prevent its conversion into flats. This came to its final and excellent conclusion with the sitting tenant buying the pub which he now leases out. Has lovely, tasteful decor complimenting its historical features, mainly its mirrored back bar. A real "back street community boozer". Darts and pool and five mins walk from the tube and overground station. Good juke box. Number of cask beers recently increased to three. Toilets (including disabled access and stair lift) are downstairs. Now operating a fully functional kitchen with an award winning chef, with a changing menu making great use of seasonal produce. Listed as an asset of community value (ACV) by Camden Council.
Happy "hour" Monday - Friday from 3pm-6pm, a selection of beers, wines and spirits for £3.50.
ku.oc.5wnnotfargeht@ofni(020) 7482 4466
20 Prince of Wales Road
Revitalised by energetic young tenants who retired from the pub at the start of 2017, it is now operated by Hippo Inns. This very popular pub re-opened in Autumn 2012, a traditional refurbishment making the most of the historic building's beautiful Victorian features, combining a traditional pub feel with many contemporary touches. Specialising in cask beer from local breweries the pub is a member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme. Food served every day. There are board games to while away the time and a piano. The ground floor is very spacious; with an impressive, partly-tiled horseshoe bar it has the feel of many different seating areas. 10% discount for card-carrying CAMRA members.
There is an upstairs bar with function room available (no real ale) for up to 100 people, and an elegant covered roof garden. The management and bar staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about their products. Popular quiz Tues nights and occasional comedy nights. Local Branch Summer Pub of the Season 2013. Has been the recent winner of many local, regional and national awards. This pub plays a very active role in the local community with many local events taking place here. Disabled Access (Not W.C.). Family friendly (until 8pm).Dog Friendly.
- Grafton Arms
ku.oc.smranotfarg@ofni(020) 7387 7923
72 Grafton Way
Popular establishment with narrow ground floor area plus a small roof garden at the rear. Licensed in 1792 and rebuilt in 1897, it spent a while as a Hogshead before reverting to its original name.
- Hanbury N1
ku.oc.yrubnah@ofni(020) 7288 2222
33 Linton Street
The Hanbury Arms has recently been taken over by True Pub Co. It was refurbished and re-opened under the new name The Hanbury N1 in October 2020. It has 4 Real Ale Taps and 3 Rotating Craft Beer taps along with a range of world & premium beers and now also boasts a brand new open kitchen serving up traditional pub classics and Sunday roasts.
This is a pleasant and surprisingly large street corner pub in the back streets of Islington. Originally called the Hanbury Arms. Function room free of charge with minimum spend. Quiz every other Thu. First Sunday of each month is classic album Sunday. Cinema Club - last two Sundays of each month. Open mic night Sat once a month. Now an accredited member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme.
moc.liamtoh@rabnosirrah(020) 7278 3966
28 Harrison Street
A modern pub internally which still retains some of its old Watney’s frosted windows, décor is a mix of modern and traditional elements, open plan, large tables with sofas and armchairs plus two real open fires. As part of the refurbishment, four modern style, en-suite rooms were added, three doubles and one sleeping three. Outside seating is available but on one side must be vacated by 10pm. The basement features live music. Just off the Gray’s Inn Road and less than 10 minutes walk from King’s Cross/St Pancras. Closes on public holidays, check their website for details.
- Hawley Arms
moc.liamg@smrayelwah(020) 7428 5979
2 Castlehaven Road
Large singe bar pub with eccentric, attractive interior. The high ceiling with ceiling fans, tall gilt mirrors and long windows to the street give a feel as if going back in time. Bare floorboards, sofas and newspapers add to the atmosphere. Food is available. Background music - TV was off at time of visit. Trains can be heard rumbling overhead. This pub is convenient for Camden market. Closed due to a massive fire in Camden in 2008 but has now reopened looking much like its old self.
- Hemingford Arms
moc.smradrofgnimeh@seiriuqne(020) 7607 3303
158 Hemingford Road
Built in 1855, and rebuilt in the early 20th century, this former Friary Meux house was originally four rooms, now merged into one, but with a number of drinking areas. Listed carved mahogany back cabinet embellished with carved lionheads, and incorporating old style bar cash office, few of which survive. Walls adorned with old theatre posters, enamel advertising plates and pictures. One of the earliest gas pressure gauges still in existence is here. Ceiling festooned with anything you can think of, musical instruments, tricycles, old lamps, - you name it, it's there. Function room upstairs currently used at times as a restaurant. Occasional live music. Food served Mon to Sat 12-15 and 18-22, Sun 13-15 (roast only); upstairs restaurant Thu to Sat 19-22 (Thai). Runner up Islington in bloom competition. The Hemingford Gunner is a generic 3.9% Greene King house beer.
- Hen & Chickens
ku.oc.rabertaehtsnekcihcdnaneheht@yriuqne(020) 7354 8246
109 St Pauls Road
Situated on Highbury Corner opposite Highbury & Islington tube and over-ground station the main attraction of this establishment is the upstairs theatre which stages theatrical performances and live, mainly rock, music, hence the unconventional opening hours. The downstairs bar, however, operates as a normal(ish!) pub and retains some of its traditional Victorian features including nice tile work under the dado in the bar.
The pub no longer serves food - delivery pizza was available but not promoted now. A small outside seating area occupies the pavement if you really want to experience, and smell, the chaos that is the Highbury Corner traffic roundabout.
- Hercules Pillars
moc.srabdnasdeb@srallipselucreh(020) 7242 2218
18 Great Queen Street
Post-war pub which was rebuilt in 1961 as part of an office block development, facing the Connaught Rooms and Freemasons Hall. The interior of this single lounge bar is done out in classical Greek theme and divided into two areas by two central Herculean columns. On the right, wood floored with the servery, note the large figure of Hercules behind the bar. The pub offers a special Masonic Menu for groups wearing the correct apron. Limited outside pavement seating is available. In a visit in Feb 2019 there were beers from Truman's, Vale, Butcombe (Rare Breed), Sambrook's and Sharps (Cornish Coaster). Halves can seem over-priced compared to the cost of a pint - check before buying.
- Holborn Whippet
moc.teppihwnrobloh@ofni(020) 3137 9937
Craft beer pub in Holborn located on Sicilian Avenue, method of dispense is same as the Euston Tap, a flowjet pump is used to pump the beer up to a tap. Five rotating guest real ales, from the likes of Bristol Beer Factory, Oakham, Dark Star, Adnams, Redemption (and other London breweries) and Mighty Oak and, as with the Tap, a wide selection of craft-keg beers.
Simple menu, pizza, bratwurst, burgers, all nicely done. Apparently, the folk of Bloomsbury and Holborn parishes relaxed with a spot of whippet racing well into the 1800s. Occupies what were three smaller cafe and shop units - nice to see a conversion into a pub rather than into a cafe. A blackboard above the taps shows what's on sale. Basic décor with bare wooden floors, brown tiles and cream painted walls. A mixture of stools and high tables with outside seating in the Avenue.
Please note that if the pub is not busy after 10.00 pm, it may close before the advertised time.
(020) 7637 0896
15 Tottenham Street
Licensed in 1772, the present building dates from 1867. Upper windows protected as “Ancient Lights”. Formerly a small corner no-frills pub, with a bare wooden floor, bench seating, tables and stools, a quick refurbishment in the summer of 2017 has seen this pub go up-market as a pie and ale house. Awaiting a re-inspection by the local CAMRA branch. The upstairs lounge is available for parties or functions. Families and dogs are welcome, plus free WiFi. The pub will be closed between 23 Dec and 1 Jan.
- Hope & Anchor
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@3434(020) 7354 1312
207 Upper Street
A famous music pub which still keeps its end up. Music in the basement (usually Friday and Saturdays) and a juke box upstairs. A one-roomed pub on the ground floor with lovely arched windows, now of course totally see-through. The usual Islington style of mixed tables and chairs.
- Horse & Wig
moc.liamg@giwdnaesroH(020) 7242 4864
Cromwell House, 14 Fulwood Place
Independent bar opened by July 2008 in former Grayz Inn Wine Bar premises.
moc.daetspmaheohsesroheht@olleh(020) 7431 7206
28 Heath Street
Report April 2019, "No real ale last night, and the guy behind the bar said they're probably getting rid of it". This has been confirmed by a subsequent visit "Visited the Horseshoe - confirmed cask beer discontinued."
A former Wetherspoon's pub which moved distinctly up-market with the introduction of an extensive gastro menu, open kitchen and all, and the installation of its own micro-brewery down in the basement. This subsequently metamorphosed into the Camden Town Brewery and the kit was removed while the brewery grew and grew. With white walls, wooden floors, bench tables and large arched windows, there is an airy, open feel to the place. A large blackboard behind the bar shows the range with 8 taps offering keg beers from the Camden Brewery plus up to three guest craft keg beers and a cider but no longer any two cask beers on handpump. Good selection of bottled beers. Growlers available.
There is seating outside for smokers in the side alley leading to High St. Underground: Hampstead. The Pentameters Theatre, on the first floor above the Horseshoe, has been listed as an Asset of Community Value. The artistic director, Leonie Scott-Matthews, has (as of 2016) been running the Pentameters, with unbroken service, for 48 years. It is one of the most famous and oldest fringe theatres in London.
- Hunter S
(020) 7249 7191
194 Southgate Road
Renamed from the Perseverance in 2012 and the introduction of real ale. Why The Hunter S? per their wesbie; "Hunter S Thompson knew good food and drink and that excess (here and there in our case…) makes for the good life. We love Hunter's idiosyncratic style and have decorated the pub with his signature oversized taxidermy, risqué artwork (ahem…) and a uniquely crafted copper ceiling. We think the great man would definitely approve and would stick around for at least a few drinks."
- Ice Wharf
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@0542p(020) 7428 3770
28 Jamestown Road
Opened as a Lloyds No 1 bar in 2002, alongside Camden Lock on the south side opposite the main market, which can be accessed by the (made famous by TV) bridge; you can also enter either from Camden High St via a footpath next to the lock keeper cottage (now a Starbucks! but also housing a small luck museum) or from Jamestown Rd.
Named after the adjacent Ice Wharf – which was built in 1837 for ice imported from Norway. It's a huge place with a family area and outside seating overlooking the canal. It can be the busiest pub in Camden, particularly on a warm summer's afternoon/evening. Nearest tube - Camden Town, Chalk Farm bus routes 24/31/168/27 Chalk Farm Rd.
- Island Queen
ku.oc.notgnilsineeuqdnalsieht@yriuqne(020) 7354 8741
87 Noel Road
With a Grade II listing and inclusion in CAMRA's London Regional Inventory of hsitoric pub interiors, you won't be surprised by this pub's fine interior. Although it is clear some parts are missing, the central servery and much more has survived as another marvelous celebration of pub architecture, including some impressive etched and cut glass and the Lincrusta ceiling. Quiz night Thu, upstairs lounge bar with a pool table and an outside drinking area. Huge, clear glass windows lighten the place up but, sadly, are not the originals. Modern menu but by no means a gastro pub. On an October visit, the two guest beers were Elgood’s Black Dog and Windsor & Eton Knight of the Garter.
- Islington Town House
ku.oc.esuohnwotnotgnilsi@ofnI(020) 3637 6424
13 Liverpool Road
Situated conveniently for Chapel Market traders, locals and visitors alike. After a period of closure, has become Hippo Inns sixth site, a joint venture between Enterprise Inns and Geronimo Inns founder Rupert Clevely. From a company news release, "There is a large bar area, a snug, open bar area and dining area available for hire for up to 26 covers. The modern light fittings and artwork are juxtaposed with traditional British pub features, including wooden beer pumps, wingback chairs and original features from the building. The space features artistic attractions such as a life-size mannequin, ornamental birdcages and gold metallic globe lights. The food menu features a selection of small plates focusing on modern and creative dishes alongside favourites."
- Jack Horner
ku.oc.srelluf@renrohkcaj(020) 7636 2868
235-236 Tottenham Court Road
Standing on the site of the Bedford Head (1776-1941), this is a large corner pub converted from bank premises in 1994, now a Fuller's Ale & Pie House. The interior has a semi-island counter, partitioned seating around the walls and half height wood-panelling. Can be busy and noisy much of the time. Breakfast is served from 8am except Mondays (9am) and the Full(er's) English includes their own black pudding. There is also an American breakfast option including pancakes and maple syrup. On the bar, as well as the usual Fuller's cask ales there is a decent range of craft keg and bottled beers.
(020) 7018 2168
78 Chalk Farm Road
This revamped bar is laid out like a US diner with seats around the outside and a large area for dancing. There is an L-shaped bar in the left hand corner serving one real ale and one real cider from Burrow Hill. They also serve coffee and hot dogs .Basically a late night rock'n'roll bar across the road from the Roundhouse but with the advantage of real ale.
- Jolly Butchers
ku.oc.srehctubylloj@reganam(020) 7249 9471
204 Stoke Newington High Street
Note - a recent visitor has reported that cash is no longer accepted, card payment only.
With its prominent red painted exterior this is a one-room pub with large clear picture windows, and some half-moon upper windows retaining their coloured glass. An unusual mix of church pew seats with prayer book slots around large tables, an open kitchen and a bar featuring up to six cask beers and three ciders and perries at any time. Thornbridge and Dark Star beers feature heavily but the range changes constantly. Their website lists forthcoming beers and ciders (which can change regularly so be sure to check if you're looking for something specific) and food, which is served Mon - Fri 17.00 - 22.00, Sat 12.00 - 22.00, Sun (roast) 12.00 - 21.00 from a mixed menu of classic pub dishes and some which are less so. Nicely presented beer and cider menu with tasting notes. Interesting range of bottled beers many imported together with some rarer tap beers from Brugse Zot, Meantime, de Koninck, Erdinger and Schlenkerla plus British craft kegs. Originally Jolly Butchers, then Father Teds, then Bar Stokies. Now back to its original name. The beers listed are an example of the type of LocAles that may be stocked.
- King Charles I
(020) 7837 7758
55-57 Northdown Street
Recently (summer 2015) subject to a community buyout of the 20 year lease of the pub with shareholders comprised of a collection of local residents and people with a strong connection with this pub. Small, cosy wood-panelled single room pub in a Georgian building, with knick-knacks including African masks. A back-street local serving workers and residents, it is just far enough from King's Cross to avoid mass tourism. Firmly established in the London music scene with blues, folk and indi music. A feature of the place is that there is frequently ac hoc jamming sessions and customers may bring in their own food which can be ordered at the bar. Completely free of tie with four rotating ales, both locally and as far away as the Cotswolds. Outside seating is partly covered.
- Kings Head Theatre Pub
ku.oc.sgnuoy@ertaehtdaehsgnik(020) 7226 4443
115 Upper Street
The internationally renowned Kings Head Theatre Pub was founded in 1970 by the late great impresario Dan Crawford and is carried on by his wife, Stephanie. Run by one family for 41 years it is a well loved local and London-wide music and theatre destination venue. There has been a Kings Head on this site since the 1500s, but the current Grade II listed building dates from 1860.
It features Victorian decor covered with framed photos of well known actors who have graced the stage over the 41 years, roaring fires in the winter, tables and chairs outside in the summer with a view of the leafy gardens of St. Mary's Church, an ever changing roster of real ales & fine wines and live music or DJs in the bar almost every night. The theatre is now home to an Olivier Award winning opera and theatre company with shows nightly. Acquired by Young's in 2014.
From their website, food comprises "classic snacks such as our famous, Sage & Onion Scotch Eggs and Caramelised Onion Sausage Rolls to doorstep Sandwiches and Artisan Cheese and Charcuterie Boards."
- Knights Templar
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@835p(020) 7831 2660
95 Chancery Lane
The Knights Templar, a military order founded in the 12th century which rendered service to the Crown as bankers until dissolved by the Pope in 1312, owned land on which Chancery Lane was built and this imposing Wetherspoon's conversion, which bears its name, of a former banking hall appeared in the film of "The Da Vinci Code".
The building and its front railings are Grade II listed. The scroll of the original Union Bank of London is seen above the entrance, which leads into a grand high-ceilinged bar with many original decorative features retained and enhanced, including magnificent fluted and scroll-topped slender columns supporting the ochre-painted ceiling with its illustrated panels and large chandeliers.
A long curved wooden bar counter, equipped with brass footrests, runs most of the length of one side, with a metal sculpture of a knight as the centrepiece of the ornate back bar. Tall windows provide plenty of light reflected in the long mirrors hung from the cream painted walls. A variety of seating areas are provided with both tiled and carpeted flooring. Towards the rear are several large round stone-topped tables near the grand oak staircase down to the toilets. Silent TV screens show news or sport.
Stairs to the rear, topped by a prominent clock, lead to three interconnected mezzanine rooms, two of them wood panelled with library shelving and balconies overlooking the main bar. These may be reserved for groups, whilst the whole pub can be hired for private functions on Saturday evenings and Sundays.
The venue is licensed for wedding ceremonies which may result in its closure for the whole of a Saturday - if you are planning to visit then, a phone call to check is strongly advised.
- Lady Mildmay
moc.yamdlimydal@ofni(020) 7241 6238
92 Mildmay Park
A large corner bar facing onto Newington Green, refurbished in November 2011 and in 2012 management changed to Inn Brighton. In 2015, ownership moved to the same company as run the Tufnell Park Tavern, N7 and, after another brief closure, underwent another internal redecoration bringing back the pubs original features and another ownership change. Cosy fireplaces, sofas to lounge on and large windows to watch the world go by. And another change of name"! The beers listed were available in August 2016 but are likely to change but hopefully gives a feel of what might be found, most come from London breweries. Mildway Park badged-beer when available is from Caledonian brewery. Frequent buses to Old Street and Moorgate - 21, 141. Stations a little bit further, mid-distance between Canonbury and Dalston Kingsland. Local CAMRA Summer Pub of the Season 2017.
- Lady Ottoline
ku.oc.snrevattekram@oydaleht(020) 7831 0008
11a Northington Street
Closed suddenly end June 2016 as operators the Affinity Group had gone into receivership. Reopened in Feb 2018 under the auspices of Market Taverns who amongst other things run The Market Porter, Borough and the more nearby Perseverance.
It is a single bar pub, just off Gray's inn Road, that from the outside still shows its Charrington's past. There has been a pub on this site from at least 1756, originally backing onto the stables of a local brewery. The previous incarnation, The Kings Arms was North London CAMRA Pub of the Season Spring 2003. The bar features large wooden tables and chairs with a long wooden bar and modern back gantry. The two entrance ways are interesting in themselves while the two upstairs rooms have been converted to table service dining rooms. The toilets are downstairs. The main bar still feels pub-like, with a traditional pub menu and the ales on offer have definitely improved since reopening. The bar features a TV screen but it was silent at the time of this survey.
Lady Ottoline was, amongst many things, a strong supporter of the Bloomsbury Set, a literary hostess and patron of the arts. She once had properties in nearby Bedford Square & Gower St.
ku.oc.sgnuoy@1cwbmal(020) 7405 0713
94 Lambs Conduit Street
Beautifully preserved, Grade II listed and CAMRA Heritage Victorian pub with dark blue upholstery, a small snug bar and etched glass snob screens in place above the bar. These frosted screens were popular in the 1890s hiding the customer from drinkers in other rooms, but the hinges still allowed the bar staff to check on them without disturbing their privacy. The glorious history of the pub and area is also commemorated by an original working polyphon (predecessor to the gramophone) which can be played in aid of charity and sepia prints of music hall players.
The upstairs Empire Bar (one handpump for Bitter) is also available for hire. Seating available in the small rear garden, enhanced by mirrors. Food served with changing specials. Other than the polyphon, no music. Quiz Sundays -10.30 held in the Empire Room and sponsored by Truman's brewery.
The house beers previously available, either from Sharp's or Redemption, no longer seem to be stocked.
- Landseer Arms
moc.smrareesdnal@ofni(020) 7281 2569
37 Landseer Road
Victorian pub, so different from most of the places on Holloway Road. It has been through a few incarnations, from an Allied pub called the Stanley Arms (see below) which was closed down as uneconomic, a Wetherspoon called JJ Moons, then renamed in 2002 after the Victorian artist, whose works included the Trafalgar Square lions and a painting called "Monarch of the Glen". North London CAMRA Summer Pub of the Season 2018.
Spacious interior includes a conservatory-style space (sometimes used for dining) on the other side of the bar. Lots of pavement seating, with retractable awnings and heaters. Underwent a refurbishment in 2017 with the outside now a dark green paint job. The food times are for the kitchen, pizza is served Monday - Saturday 12-10, Sunday 12:30-9:30. Operated by Stanley Pubs who also run the Lady Mildmay and three other pubs.
This pub was originally called the Stanley Arms see http://www.pubshistory.com/LondonPubs/Islington/Stanley.shtml .
ku.oc.bupenwodsnaleht@ofni(020) 7483 0409
90 Gloucester Avenue,
Very much a gastropub, the focus being first on food, then wine then real ale but ales are still a feature here. A former Charrington pub made clear by the impressive tiled exterior which can be hidden by a large canopy shielding the huge picture windows from the sun. Decor is simple boards, wooden tables and chairs with white walls, brightened up with cut flowers and interesting artwork. There is a small outside drinking area and in the evenings the lighting is subdued. Quiz night every Monday from 8pm in the Dining Room. Operated by Handmade Pubs until Sept 2017 when Handmade was acquired by Glendola Leisure.
ku.oc.notgnixeleht@ofni(020) 7837 5371
96-98 Pentonville Road
With a pub always present on the site (since 1850), it's a huge, corner pub in a lounge-style with lots of unusual decor (bordello baroque), a long wooden bar making up one side of a room divided into various levels with comfortable seats and tables plus a old-style table football machine.
With its late night opening, regular events, including a varied live music scene (upstairs), this is a lively place that has fastened onto a US theme in its bottled beer products and huge range of bourbon - beers from Sierra Nevada, Anchor Steam, Half Acre, Goose Island, Stone Brewing and others all display the eclectic nature of the US craft beer scene.
The four real ale handpumps serving locally brewed beers (rotating each week) are found down the right-hand end of the bar. On keg you will find craft beers from the US, Brooklyn lager, Kona Big Wave, Lagunitas IPA and Stone Brewing amongst other regularly changing guests.
Food comes from award-winning pop up kitchen Cut + Grind who have been there since January 2019 and who have recently won the award for London's Best Burger.
Pub operates an in-house 10% discount card scheme - apply at the bar (they will accept valid CAMRA cards to substitute as their in-house discount cards). Happy hour Mon-Fri between 5-8pm. Swing dance sessions are held upstairs on Sunday afternoon, quiz on Mondays 8pm.
email@example.com(020) 7704 6977
235 Upper Street
From a member visit in Sept 2019, "I am currently visiting the Library pub in Barnsbury and was delighted to see two hand pulls. One was turned but the other was dispensing Sambrooks Pumphouse Pale Ale. It’s always good to see a pub putting ale back on!"
This is its sixth name in the last fifteen years or so but according to the various websites, little has changed in it's latest disguise. Apart from a brush of paint it remains primarily a live music, open mic and DJ venue with details of its forthcoming events listed on its myspace.com website.
PA registered: P2018/2802/FUL. Comments Until: 21-10-2018. Planning portal closed. Proposal: Change of use of the ancillary accommodation of the upper floors of the existing public house (A4 use) (first, second and third floors) to result in the creation backpacker hostel accommodation (8 no. bedrooms) associated with existing public house. Reconfiguration of public house at ground and basement floor levels and use of roof terraces to rear elevation at first floor level (Sui Generis).
- Lincoln Lounge
(020) 7837 9339
52 York Way
in amongst a sea of fizzy taps sit two handpumps. This had been a traditional pub and then was transformed into a trendy chill out bar, for the yoof, with UV lighting, and loud music. It is now pretty much back to a traditional boozer.
- Lion & Unicorn
ku.oc.sgnuoy@nrocinudnanoil(020) 7267 2304
42 Gaisford Street
A great favourite, especially to the local community, this popular, comfortable pub has been a welcome addition to the cask beer scene in vibrant Kentish Town and is an accredited member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme. The pub has a real "homely" feel to it being run by the friendly management and staff as a Geronimo branded gastro-pub.
The cask beer range is of good quality and includes several LocAle breweries. There is an open fire and very comfortable seating. The pub has won local and regional awards for both its front and back gardens. Sunday quizzes. CAMRA member discount. Above the pub is the Proforca Theatre company, for details of productions, see their website https://www.proforca.co.uk/home Occasional comedy nights in upstairs theatre (on non-theatre dates). Cider available on keg (and on Cask in summer).Disabled Access and W.C. Function room may be available in upstairs theatre on non-performance days.
(020) 8091 5609
32 Great Queen Street
Named after owner and "Be at One" co-fonder Steve Locke, this establishment opened in October 2019 over two floors. Six draught beers are offered: Hop House 13, Guinness, Open Gate Citra IPA, Whitewater Maggie's Leap, Whitewater London Irish and Gypsy Hill Beatnik all at £6 a pint. Food is small plates and sharing platters.
As it was as Great Queen Street:- A restaurant and bar opened in 2007 by the team that re-opened the Anchor and Hope in the Cut, Waterloo. One of the founders was also the founder of the Eagle Farringdon. The main ground-floor has an almost rustic feel, and a long bar from near the front door runs all the way back to the kitchen. It's mostly for diners but at quieter times it's OK to sit up and sup the gravity-served regularly changing ale from the cask to the rear of the bar. The downstairs bar is small and stylish, but you can get a pint or a half of ale from the ground-floor bar. By many accounts the restaurant can become very busy and booking is recommended.
- London Pub
(020) 7692 3619
Royal National Hotel, Woburn Place
Part of the large Royal National Hotel, this is a large, modern, L-shaped bar with sports on TV very prominent. It is on several levels, with raised areas which help to break up the space. There is an outside terrace at the back which is entered through the courtyard. The entrance is on Woburn Way, that for the hotel is on Bedford Way. With 1,630 rooms, it must lay claim to being central London's largest hotel. Good value pub grub served daily 12.00 – 21.45. Tube – Russell Square.
- London Welsh Centre
gro.hslewnodnol@rotartsinimda(020) 7520 0076
157-163 Gray's Inn Road
Public bar in the London Welsh Centre (a charitable organisation whose objective is to promote Welsh culture and language in London) in a marvelous room on the top floor with a stupendous ceiling. The Bar hosts various events such as gigs, comedy nights and quiz nights. See their events page for details of what’s coming up. The bar opens on weekends for special occasions (such as the rugby!). We advise you to phone ahead to check opening times. Occasional beer festivals (Welsh beers naturally!). Pies, pasties and sandwiches available. Please note that not all beers listed are likely to be all on at the same time.
- Lord John Russell
(020) 7388 0500
91-93 Marchmont Street
A pleasant, traditional pub with six handpumps featuring four regular ales and two guest beers. Their beer is kept very well and of note is the large selection of malt whiskeys (50+) on sale. There are two televisions and a big screen, which show sporting events. In addition an outside seating area is available. Situated in a street with a more quirky character than most.
- Lord Stanley
moc.yelnatsdroleht@ofni(020) 7284 3266
51 Camden Park Road
Tile-fronted 1920s corner pub refurbished in early 2004 as a single room with an island which holds the bar and an open kitchen. The old Taylor Walker sign outside still survives. Operated by Stanley Pubs who run two other pubs in North London.
Some period fittings such as wall panelling, columns and fireplaces, and matching furniture. Large clear glass windows and bare wooden floors and stools around the bar which create a warm atmosphere with a hubbub of conversation. Pub is, to an extent, focused on food, but they do not take table bookings. Chef makes snacks and meals from a modern northern European menu: roast rib of beef on Sundays. There is a long wine list. Benches and tables round the outside of the pub, and in the large beer garden. Buses to Camden Road/York Way. Nearest tube stations Caledonian Road & Kentish Town (about 1km). Listed as an Asset of Community Value (Nov 2015).
- Lore of the Land
(020) 3927 4480
4 Conway Street
Reopened February 2019. The pub features two cask and one or two keg beers from Gritchie Brewing Company’s 20bbl brewery at Ashgrove Farm located on the Wiltshire/Dorset border. In addition you will find Paulaner Munich Hells, Keller Pils - Lost & Grounded and Delirium Tremens - Huyghe a 7.5% Belgian Strong Pale Ale.
Guy Ritchie has returned to the hospitality industry by taking over The Lukin on Conway Street, which closed down earlier this year and is being refurbished by its owners Mitchells & Butler. “The Lukin was one of the more characterful pubs in the area so we were worried that a refurb would make it a bit soulless”, a Fitzrovia resident says.
“But the whispers about the new landlord means that we could be drinking next to the Beckhams, which is enough for us.” Companies House records show that Ritchie has set up Fatboy Pub Company Ltd, a private limited company categorised under “public houses and bars” earlier this year.
Delightful small independent pub just off Fitzroy Square and close to the base of the BT Tower. The building dates back to the late 1700s, and since 1829 has been a pub.
- Lucas Arms
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@0676(020) 7837 4340
245a Grays Inn Road
A comfortable pub with a warm atmosphere and low level background music with two distinct areas. At the front is a small, comfortable, traditionally decorated and carpeted saloon with a TV screen. To the rear is a larger, raised area with wooden floors, and two other TV screens although only one was on (silent) at time if visit. A covered, patio garden with several picnic tables, which is heated in colder weather, can be accessed from this room. Upstairs room for private parties or meetings. Food from the traditional and reasonably priced pub menu is served all week.
- Lyttelton Arms
ku.oc.nedmacsmranotlettyleht@yriuqne(020) 7387 2749
1 Camden High Street
Mitchell & Butlers have refurbished this old Camden Pub and turned it into an ultra modern establishment. They also have an interesting bottled selection including Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, Chimay, Duvel and Vedette. On keg they have Erdinger wheat beer, Camden Hells and Brooklyn Lager plus lots of the usual M&B suspects. It is very much a large lounge bar with a mix of modern seating and tables (low and high) creating various different drinking areas. Live music is a feature Thu - Sun evenings, see their website for what's going on.
On a visit in Jan 2019, the visitor commented thus, "3 Pumps: Doom Bar, Hogs Back TEA (off) and St Austell Proper Cracker. The last was distinctly sour. When I took it back the barman said that was what you got at the end of the barrel and (in effect) customers must accept it. Much argument before I got a free (keg) replacement."
- Mabel's Tavern
ku.oc.emaen-drehpehs@slebam(020) 7387 7739
9 Mabledon Place
A past North London CAMRA Pub of the Year (2006) with beer quality that is consistently good and a choice of five house beers generally available. The staff are friendly and the pubs décor is pleasant. Outdoor street-side seating area is available and food is served daily until 9.30. Named after Mabel Macinelly of Dublin and reportedly haunted by her, it attracts tourists, locals and workers, some by the sport on TV screens at either end of the pub. There’s a small snug elevated at one end of the bar. Tube - King’s Cross/St Pancras.
- Marlborough Arms
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@9127(020) 7636 0120
36 Torrington Place
The Marlborough Arms is named in reference to the coat of arms worn by the third and subsequent Duke of Marlborough, John Churchill. A traditional pub to suit all tastes perpetually busy with students, business people, tourists and locals from a surprisingly residential area. A large open area surrounded by oak panelling and some fine features, with the bar pushed to one side making an easy area to fill with tables in regular formation but with a nod to informality and comfort in the small area beyond the bar. Metal tables and chairs outside under pull out awnings available until 9pm.
- Marquess Tavern
ku.oc.oohay@leirvagwerdna(020) 7359 4615
32 Canonbury Street
Being advertised to let, tied or FoT by Christie & Co obo Ram Pub Company (Young's PubCo arm).
Built c.1854 along with the area, named after the Marquess of Northampton and acquired by Young's in 1979. A fine example of the architecture of the time and a Grade II listed building. The interior, however, has been much altered and opened out in the intervening years. The most recent refurbishment has created a fairly subdued atmosphere in the main bar area with the inevitable soft sofas dominating. The real fire has been maintained. This is in stark contrast to the rear area which is now dedicated to dining and is very bright and airy and dominated by a huge chandelier. The right hand side of the pub still maintains its public bar feel. A small patio area on the street is available for outside drinking. Forty bottled beers including the Meantime and Young's ranges plus some from Germany, Duvel, Liefmans and Westmalle. Nearest tube is Highbury and Islington 850m. Operated by the Marvellous Pub Co. led by husband and wife Andy and Sarah Gavriel.
Note on bank holiday Mondays it opens 12-10.
- Marquis Cornwallis
ku.oc.1cwsillawnrocsiuqrameht@yriuqne(020) 7923 5961
31 Marchmont Street
Large, one-bar pub broken into two by a large wooden pillar, Sofas are mixed in with wooden tables, chairs and some high stools. Four green and gold ornate pillars give a hint to the age of the pub being a couple of centuries old. The age of the wooden floor and black and cream floor tiles along the bar front is not known.
Painted panelling in the side bar and painted walls up to the toilets and Drawing Room (a bar with three pumps mainly for eating) add points of difference as do two wooden booths tucked around the back. The centre piece is a fire place with dark wood surround. Food, mainly bistro style, served although as their website does not state the opening hours the times we show are not confirmed.
UCL's Bloomsbury Project dates the Marquis (named the Marquess of Cornwallis) to 1804. It has been surrounded by a host of luminaries both in (Great) Coram and Marchmont Streets, and beyond, at least in the earlier years. It was almost certainly named for the British army commander (who is best remembered perhaps as having surrendered at Yorktown thus losing a good part of the American empire, but it appears made good in Ireland and India), Charles Cornwallis 1st Marquess of Cornwallis.
moc.esuoheerfsnnylgcm@tcatnoc(020) 7916 9816
1-5 Whidbourne Street
A pleasant Irish pub, located in a quiet side street, and one you might not expect to do real ale, though they now have four regular beers. Food is served at lunchtimes, and a separate restaurant area is open in the evenings Mon - Thu. There is limited outside seating and plenty indoors as the pub is larger than it appears from the outside.
(020) 7837 4863
19 Caledonian Road
This is a busy pub, close to Kings Cross station, always has the real thing available, and at an affordable price. Recent guest ales have been Kansas Avenue Brewing Co Outlaw Billy and Morland Old Hoppy Hen. Recently a customer was denied entry at 22.45 stating they're closed... "won't get served or gain entry after 22.30".
- Museum Tavern
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@2227(020) 7242 8987
49 Great Russell Street
A magnificent Victorian pub opposite the British Museum, a CAMRA Heritage Pub. Originally the Dog and Duck stood on this site, signifying local duck hunting. John Creed became landlord in 1762 and initiated the name British Museum Tavern, to identify the pub with the nearby collection, which was being developed from specimens collected by Sir Hans Sloane. William Finch Hill designed the 1855 redevelopment with the ground floor front and classic mahogany back bar fitting being evident today. 1889 saw another redesign of the interior by architects Wylson and Long. Finch's classical style was partly preserved as five separate bars were created, with partitions and decorations of stained glass. Two rare examples of these stained glass windows survive in the bar today, an essential part of any visit. Five bars were reduced to three in 1935 becoming one in the 1960s. The five sets of entrance doors are all that remains of this arrangement today. Traditional pub food is served. A rare regular outlet for Old Peculier.
- Myddleton Arms
moc.smranotelddym@ofni(020) 7226 4595
52 Canonbury Road
Smallish two-bar very traditional pub of probably Victorian origin on a main trunk road. Bar/bar back of interest of the period as well as old features in the windows and the cellar opening. The tables are converted oak barrels. Named after Sir Hugh Myddleton, who cut the New River, to bring water from Hertfordshire to London. Split level garden with shelter and heating. Tube Highbury and Islington, rail Essex Rd.
For closing hours on Fri & Sat, the pub say there are open until late without specifying!
- Narrow Boat
ku.oc.sgnuoy@taobworran(020) 7400 6003
119 St Peter's Street
This is a long pub on two levels that runs along the canal from the bridge in St Peters Street. From the outside the pub maintains some of the looks of its Victorian origins, while inside the decor is distinctly light and modern. The main drinking area, accessible from the street, is broadly split into two equal parts, with the bar running down the side of the pub in the front half. Table seating is available to the front, while more comfortable sofas are available at the back. Two balconies on the canal-side provide excellent vantage points. Downstairs there is a bar with two hand pumps, more table seating mostly set out for dining, and access to the canal towpath. Breakfasts from 11.00 full meals from noon. Acquired from an independent operator by Young's in 2012. The pub may stay open later on weekdays if busy but equally might close earlier if not.
- Night & Day
(020) 7837 3655
Imperial Hotel, 61-66 Russell Square
Has the best ale range of all the bars in the Imperial Hotels group and the published beers may vary, the guest will usually not be from Greene King. Opens for food from 10.00 which is served until 00.30. A modern bar which faces onto the magnificent Russell Square, one of the many fine, public squares in this part of London. As you enter, you find a black quarry tiled floor which soon gives way to light pine flooring, and seating on split levels in a long, thin room decorated in a modern café bar style. Outside terrace. Note that the Atrium bar in the lobby of the hotel does not sell real ale. Regular sports on TV. Tube - Russell Square
The Imperial has another bar "Barbarellas" on the first floor which was selling Courage Best on 14th November 2018 in reasonable condition. The hotel has informed us that it is only open when they have functions in the Imperial Hotel. When it is open, residents and non-residents are welcome to use the bar unless the function has requested a closed bar.
- Norfolk Arms
ku.oc.smraklofron@ofni(020) 7388 3937
28 Leigh Street
Single bar pub in the shadow of large council blocks and London university student accommodation. There is a high decorative ceiling supported by three columns, an island bar and magnificent windows to the streets with original etched glass. The outside is decorated by some fine green and blue tiles. Bare wooden (and in parts concrete) floors, white tables and the ubiquitous former church chairs which seem to populate a lot of gastro pubs with a menu reflecting its new, aspiring status as a "public house and restaurant on Leigh and Sandwich". The new owners gave it a cleaner, lighter, more comfortable feel, including an old-style bacon slicer used to cut charcuterie from hams hanging behind the bar. Large number of outside tables. One suspects most of the old student crowd may have moved on. There are numerous food guide stickers in the window and service is 12.00 - 15.00 and 18.00 - 22.15 Mon - Sat and 12.00 - 22.00 Sun which also features a full roast. Both tapas and a more substantial menu are available. Tube - King’s Cross/St Pancras.
- Northumberland Arms
(020) 4524 9875
119 Tottenham Court Road
1897 corner pub now promoted as the 'Cornerstone of Fitzrovia - a proper pub, with proper grub and a nice drop of ale'. Following a pub crawl along Tottenham Court Road which included the former (1777) pub on this site, Karl Marx and a companion smashed a street light and were chased by the police. Heated outdoor seating area.
ku.oc.sllieno@ssorcsgnik(020) 7380 0464
73-77 Euston Road
Re-opened 28/07/2010 after substantial refurbishment, now offering real ale for the first time. This is the ninth member of the chain in London to make real ale available. Good value meals also available.
- Old Bull & Bush
ku.oc.hsubdnallubeht@yriuqne(020) 8905 5456
North End Way
Considered by some wags the most agreeable pub in Golders Green, this is up the road from the now sadly closed Jack Straw's Castle (converted to luxury flats). Handy if you are visiting the less well-known northern extension of Hampstead Heath or the West Heath and Golders Hill Park. Made famous by Florie Ford's music hall song, "Down at the Old Bull and Bush" where people were invited to come and make eyes at her and perhaps no doubt they did. It's an old coaching inn set back from the road with seating out front. The interior has been much modernised and we are informed by the pub's manager (Nov 2019) that that "we offer two beers regularly with both on most of the time at least one at all times". Food served, for details and serving times click on their website. Bus: 210, 268.
- Old Crown
moc.esuohcilbupnworcdloeht@ofni(020) 7836 9121
33 New Oxford Street
In July 2013 Punch Taverns sold this pub to Hertford brewery McMullen's although the news was "kept secret" for some time. So now a Macs tied house. Rebuilt in 1850. Originally Bass Charrington as The Crown. It's been a bit of a trendy bistro/pub since at least the early 1990s, and retains some of that feel under new ownership. Not that big inside, with carpet on the ceiling and bar counter. Lounge upstairs, with its own bar, and a restaurant on the second floor. Still attracts quite a trendy, youngish after-work crowd. Diametrically opposite St George’s Church Bloomsbury, which was consecrated in 1731 and rated by the Guardian as “one of the capital’s most wonderful buildings”, well worth a visit.
- Old Eagle
moc.liamg@bupelgaedlo(020) 7482 6021
251 Royal College Street
An L-shaped pub with a small decked garden/patio at the rear and tables outside at front. There are no screens or games machines, and the music played is both varied and not too loud. Bar snacks are available together with a brunch menu and a full Thai food menu 12:00-21:30. Quiz night on Monday. In December 2016 the "guests" were the in-house Rocking Rudolph + a seasonal from Hook Norton. DJs on Thursday playing a mix of vinyl (and virtual vinyl). On the North side of Ivor St junction. Camden Road rail (1 min), Camden Town tube (5 mins). Buses 46 (northbound) & 274 (westbound) pass the door.
- Old Nick
firstname.lastname@example.org(020) 7430 9503
20-22 Sandland Street
A spacious and smartly presented back street pub on street level. Traditional, Victorian-style décor – lots of dark wood panelling; wooden floor; dark red and cream paintwork; embossed walls; etched-effect and mirrored glass; framed pictures with local and legal themes; chandeliers. An open-plan, island bar is surrounded by partitioned areas and some intimate, cosy booths to one side with a quiet, separated area at back where music is hardly audible, otherwise recorded music throughout. Assorted wood tables, chairs and benches, some upholstered.
The name alludes to the pub being reputedly on site of an old police station, some framed shackles have been found in the cellar. TV screens with FreeView channels. Full disabled facilities. Tube – Holborn, Chancery Lane. Formerly The Three Cups run by Young's, the current design and furnishings were installed by Hall and Woodhouse when they took over. Available for hire on selected weekends.
- Old Red Lion
ku.oc.oohay@sbuplanoitidart(020) 7405 1748
72 High Holborn
A traditional, main-street, corner pub serving mainly office and legal weekday community. Clean and comfortable surroundings, but with no tables downstairs you need to grab a bar stool or stand. Tables and chairs upstairs in Cromwell Bar (plaque on wall outside claims that in 1658 cellars hid body of Oliver Cromwell). Main bar is long and narrow, with bar to one side: carved, dark wood, mirrored bar back; bare floorboards; polished wood ledges around walls with perimeter stools for drinkers; dark wood panelling; dark wood framed windows with tinted and stained glass. Standard hot and cold pub fare freshly prepared on premises served 12.00 - 14.30. The rotating guest beers can come from Greene King or further afield.
- One Tun
ku.oc.sgnuoy@nuteno(020) 7209 4105
58-60 Goodge Street
Originally dating from the mid 18th century, this is a former Finch house rebuilt in 1829. Once famous for jazz sessions and the early 1960s beatnik scene, it was acquired by Young's in 1991 as part of their purchase of HH Finch. It retains a large central island bar and servery; there is not much space left for seating so customers may spill out onto the street at busy times.
- Oxford Arms
ku.oc.nedmacsmradrofxo@ofni(020) 7267 4945
265 Camden High Street
Open plan, high-ceilinged pub on corner of Jamestown Rd., midway between Camden Town and Chalk Farm stations. The Oxford Arms dates back to early Victorian times with its high ceilings and original sash windows. While the decor reveals obvious results of refurbishment, one entrance retains the original wall tiling and mosaic flooring well worth a look at. Inside is a similar mix of old and new - five plasma TVs cater for the sports crowd (and a 2006/07 season Arsenal shirt hangs behind the bar), while B&W photos of old Camden nod in the direction of the pub's and the area's history. Food served until 21.00 daily, the menu covers the full range of options from all-day breakfasts to some calorie-laden desserts via a lengthy list of specials. The pub has been run by three generations of the Mayo Maloney family since 1968. Free to entry quiz Mondays. Beer garden at rear. Buses 24, 168.
- Parcel Yard
ku.oc.srelluf@draY.lecraP(020) 7713 7258
West Side, King's Cross Railway Station, King's Cross
Pub built inside the old parcel sorting office at King's Cross station by Platform 9 3/4. Has Fuller's entire range of cask beers and also most of their bottled beers in what is a very imaginative conversion of old industrial space across two floors, with many different drinking areas including a small terrace by the main entrance. Food (for menus see their website) is served from 7.30 - 22.00 (from 9.00 Sun). A very welcome addition to the drinking scene in this rapidly changing area. At the front is a small terrace area and there is a lift if you have heavy luggage.
On a visit in Jan 2019, following Fuller's acquisition of Dark Star, there were three Dark Star beers on tap - American Pale Ale, Hop Head and a seasonal beer. Only two beers came from outside the Fuller's family.
- Pembroke Castle
email@example.com(020) 7483 2927
150 Gloucester Avenue,
Featuring predominantly white walls, bare boards, wooden tables with a mixture of hard chairs and low soft ones, there's a large standing area near the bar with a few stools in that area. The large plain glass windows make the place light and airy during daylight hours, the lighting is soft when darkness falls. There is a good-sized outside drinking area with heating. Upstairs function room is available for hire. Food such as burgers and similar pub fayre served until 22.00. The TV screen was showing a repetitive loop of fish swimming, a change from the Gunners! In 2014 the pub reopened having undergone some much needed renovation. Although the drinks' department is utterly unchanged, the original full name of the Pembroke Castle has been reinstated (fascias and sign) though this has yet to be reflected on the pub's website. Chalk Farm tube is around 5 mins walk. Real ale was not available on a August 2019 - hopefully only a temporary blip.
- Penderel's Oak
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@605p(020) 7242 5669
286-288 High Holborn
A large Wetherspoon's pub, named after Richard Penderel, who, in 1652, helped King Charles II escape from Cromwell’s troops by hiding him in an oak tree on his country estate. French windows can open onto pavement seating; cosy areas near fireplaces; an area with booths and benches; and a family area. A long, curved bar upstairs, downstairs a large cellar bar for a generally younger clientele with music and videos, whose opening hours are not the same as the main bar. Disabled access and toilet (ground floor only). Food served all day until 23.00 (last orders 18.00 for family meals). Tube: Holborn. Ciders come from Weston's served on pump.
ku.oc.snrevattekram@ecnarevesrepeht(020) 7405 8278
63 Lambs Conduit Street
An independently run free-house which many years ago had been the legendary real ale house, the Sun. During 2016 ownership passed to Market Taverns - owners of the Market Porter at London Bridge. Also once the home of the now defunct Bloomsbury Brewery which had occupied the cellar under the previous owners.
A predominately young clientèle, the pub can get crowded most nights but there’s an outside seating area providing over-spill and a place for smokers together with an upstairs dining/function room which can provide a quieter area if not being otherwise used. The pub is becoming famous for its thin based pizzas but there are many other options. You can find the latest menu on their website.
ku.oc.oohay@rabsanemolihp(020) 7242 5560
40 Great Queen Street
Formerly part of Mitchells and Butlers O'Neill's chain of theme pubs, before that the Sugar Loaf (a Bass Charrington house in the 1970s, and apparently it featured in an episode of Minder - let us know if you spot it!) and a pub dating back to at least the 1770s when it was a meeting place for the Jerusalem lodge. It changed in September 2012 to Philomena's, with the faux-Oirish makeover of the previous decades being stripped away, and the somewhat cavernous bar was lightened and opened up. A full renovation was undertaken earlier in 2013, and further improvements have been made. A self-proclaimed Irish Sports Bar and Cafe, it had featured one real ale for several years,and demand and a shift in the market has led now to 2 more handpulls. Big screens remain, and sports featured especially at weekends.
- Pig & Butcher
ku.oc.rehctubdnagipeht@gnilkcarc(020) 7226 8304
80 Liverpool Road
Formally part of the Tap chain now thoroughly re-branded. The pub was built in the mid 1800's on what was fields used by farmers to rest and feed their livestock before being sent to Smithfield's Meat Market. A small but interesting range of cask beers is joined by a very larger bottled selection. With scrubbed tables, candles, the standard Islington distressed look works well. Food now a major part of the offering, sourced meat from Kent and Speyside, fish from Cornwall; visit their website for more information including serving times. Beer range can vary, those listed are to give an example of what may be found. In same ownership as Smokehouse and Princess of Shoreditch.
moc.5wnbupelppaenipeht@reganam(020) 7284 4631
51 Leverton Street
A rare gem hidden in the local streets just off Kentish Town that was previously subject to a very high profile campaign in 2001 and 2002, by both local people, CAMRA and the London media, to prevent its closure. Twice a CAMRA North London Pub of the Year, most recently in 2012. There are mementos (including a new plaque) and news articles on display in the pub, along with Pineapple ephemera from all over the world.
Also note the rare Bass mirrors. The single bar serves an extended ground floor area, with a large quiet, added conservatory to the rear. Upstairs is a separate and well appointed seating area which is available for hire. Monday is quiz night, and the pub participates in the London quiz league. Food is available 7 days a week from a Thai menu with good value lunchtime options (Mon to Fri).
Now a Grade II listed building, its Victorian character is exceptional, and well worth close inspection (fine bar-back with etched and gilt mirrors). It is now a true, friendly local community pub and many of those previously involved in the "Save the Pineapple" campaign are part of the current customer base. Listed on CAMRA Historic Pubs Register of historic pub interiors. An accredited member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme, beers change regularly. Card-carrying CAMRA members receive a 20p a pint reduction on cask beer.
- Plaquemine Lock
moc.kcolqalp@ofni(020) 7688 1488
139 Graham Street
After closing in 2014, reopened in 2017 as Plaquemine Lock operated by Jacob Kennedy who runs a number of restaurants in the West End. Pub serves Cajun and Creole food from Louisiana. The two large murals (in the dining room and above the bar) are made by Jacob’s mother, Haidee Becker. The small paintings and pictures around the pub are various – some are gifts made to the pub, others were in the pub before they renovated it. A good number are by New Orleans folk artist Dr Bob Art. The actual Lock is, unsurprisingly, in Louisiana and it was opened by Jacob's great grandmother, Carrie B Schwing. On CAMRA London Regional inventory.
Planning permission (P2019/0164/FUL) for change of use of the first and second floors of the existing public house to residential was refused by Islington Council. Reasons for refusual relate to lack of affordable housing contributions, not to protection of the public house. The proposal was considered acceptable in design terms, as no alternations would be made to the interior, or exterior of the building. No appeal lodged as of January 2020.
Note about previous PA in planning statement: Planning permission for the comprehensive refurbishment and extension of the premises was granted in May of 2015 (under application P2015/1015), and the public house reopened in late 2016. A condition (Condition 10) was imposed that stated that the floorspace on the upper floors can only be used as residential accommodation in connection to the public house
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@8227(020) 7636 7964
27 Museum Street
A Victorian corner pub built in 1855, located near the British Museum and Holborn’s many transport links. It has an attractive exterior with large windows to the front; hanging baskets in summer decorate the outdoor seating area in front. The carpeted front bar is furnished traditionally with an over bar glass shelf, settles, tables and chairs, etched glass windows, red walls and plush curtains. Although there is a plasma TV here, it is the long, wood panelled rear bar with two screens that is principally sports oriented. The attractive upstairs function room, usually open to the public, has large windows offering views of Bloomsbury. Traditional pub food is served see pub website for times.
moc.liamg@22necnirpeht(020) 8888 6698
1 Finsbury Road
A handsome two-roomed pub. The local community group succeeded in having it listed as an ACV in November 2015. "Acquired" in 2016 and now open for business under the sound management of the Duke's Head team in Highgate with quality ale as first priority!
Up to four regularly changing cask ales, seven keg beers, plus a similarly priced range of ciders. The beers come from small breweries across the UK and are listed on their website as they change.
They had installed an in-house brewery called the House Brewery but this is no longer operating.
- Prince Albert
bup.treblaecnirp@olleh(020) 7485 0270
163 Royal College Street
Tasteful refurbished traditional Charrington tavern (1843), comfortable, welcoming, charming pub retaining many original period features, leaded windows, outdoor tiling, wood-panelling, garden (covered/heated). First floor restaurant area/function room bookable (>80 people) with bar (no real ale). Whole pub hire able for private functions (>120 people) (best check in advance if visiting on Saturdays). Live acoustic music (Sun). Children and dog friendly. CAMRA members' discount. Locale accredited. Happy Hour:Mon-Fri:3-7pm and all day Sat. Disabled Access and W.C., Family friendly (until 8pm).Dog Friendly. Quiz – Tues, Acoustic Music – Sun.
- Prince Arthur
ku.oc.bupruhtraecnirpeht@ofni(020) 7336 6429
49 Brunswick Place
A side street, and a little away from the main drag, this is an old-fashioned boozer, mixing traditional local customers with some of the younger generation with a degree of panache. It's small, with one bar counter boasting four hand pumps - all Shepherd Neame in late May 2019 - and while the tables and chairs are a mixture of stripped and distressed, the overall effect, with a curious mix of suspended lights, globe lampshades, and faux wall mounted candles and shades, somehow works as welcoming and comfortable. The only soft furnishings were the two worn and frayed cushions on the two higher bar stools.
There's pub (board) games (e.g. Monopoly, Cluedo, chess, backgammon, Scrabble) available in a promoted 'Games Corner'. There's a full range of prints, art, pictures, signs and more on the walls, and at the rear lower level (access to toilets, which are not easy to get to for the disabled or wheelchairs, from here) a restored fireplace and (in season!) a real fire may be found.
At present the kitchen is being refurbished, and no hot or cold food is available. The main building is said to date to the early 18th century, with the ground floor extended at the front to support a balcony in the 1820s or 1830s. The main bar area was further extended out under a previous licensee, Dixie Dean, a former boxer. Outside there's a fold down bench immediately to the right of the front doors, and across the pedestrianised way tables and seating for smokers (ask for an ashtray at the bar) and those wishing to enjoy the finer weather.
The featured picture is its current appearance. The other pics are how it once looked (inside and out).
- Prince Arthur
ku.oc.ruhtraecnirp@ofni(020) 7387 2165
80-82 Eversholt Street
Sat opposite the bleak, grey sheds of Euston, this is worth heading up the road for, with its slightly risque artwork, island bar and an intriguing assortment of tables and chairs, that eschew the current trend for large tables, stripped wood and sofas. This is a single-bar pub that feels bigger due to the use of mirrors and the presence of a skylight which enhances the light to the rear. Lots of original wooden panelling remains and when the weather is dry, there are tables on the street outside. They also serve drinks at your table. Available for private hire at weekends.
- Prince of Wales Feathers
ku.oc.1wsrehtaefselawfoecnirpeht@yriuqne(020) 7383 4849
8 Warren Street
Originally licensed in 1793 and named the Feathers since at least 1826; it added Prince of Wales to the name in 1968. The pub has many historical and literary credentials: the Chartists met here in October 1841 to hear an address on "the present distress of the country". In the twentieth century in his 1929 novel The Midnight Bell, Patrick Hamilton offered a portrait of a London pub in the 1920s with its staff and regulars, thought to be based on this pub. Dick Barton, the popular radio detective serial of the 1940s with its dramatic theme music and daily cliff-hangers, was planned here in the presence of Noel Johnson who took the title role. A few decades later a father from Woking took his young lad to a talent contest in the pub. The lad was Ricky Parfitt and his "spotting" at the talent contest was the start of what was to become Status Quo. So, the pub has its place as one of the most important in British musical history! Formerly a Charrington's pub, now it's a deep bar with some stained glass windows at the front. The rear Orangery area, complete with marble fireplace, can be hired for functions. Quiz night Tuesdays.
- Princess Louise
(020) 7405 8816
208 High Holborn
A splendidly preserved pub displaying some of the finest examples of the Victorian art of public house building. Built in 1872 the interior includes marble, etched windows, enormous engraved and gilt mirrors, Portland stone columns, an ornate crimson and gold ceiling and a huge central island bar. The gent’s loos are worth a visit for more than the usual reason. Large function room upstairs available for hire and is also where food is served, Mon - Sat 12.00 - 14.30 and Mon - Thu 18.00 - 20.30. Beer is especially good value for London. During 2007 the pub went through a comprehensive restoration which saw the reinstatement of the original multi-roomed layout with wood and etched glass dividing walls. This has completely changed its appearance and Sam Smith’s are to be commended for their attention to detail. A CAMRA Heritage Pub and winner of Refurbished Pub of the Year, 2008.
- Princess Of Wales
moc.ssecnirpehtevol@ofni(020) 7722 0354
22 Chalcot Road
Operated by Marylebone Leisure Group, and recently very elegantly refurbished, this pub is set over three floors that include an elegant first floor dining room, lower-ground bar, with an island serving area and wooden floor, an event space and the ‘Banksy beer garden’ (named after a mysterious lion stencil that appeared in 2011). Live Jazz is played on Sunday afternoons. The pub was built in 1868 and named for Princess Alexandra, consort of Edward VII. Appears once to have been called Swans at Coole (after W B Yeats poem).
- Queen Charlotte
ku.oc.esuohtfard@ettolrahc(020) 7323 9361
43 Goodge Street
The pub was first licensed in 1767, but the present building dates from 1897. Now, part of the Draft House chain, it is a small single bar corner pub with bare floors, large windows and simple furnishings, but an impressive ornate bar front. At the beginning of 2018 it had had a lick of paint and had changed its name to the Queen Charlotte.
The beer range varies, but they update the list on their website pretty regularly, usually sourced from smaller breweries. Prices are reduced for one particular "Daily Cask" each day until it runs out. Somewhat of a novelty, draught beer is available in third and two-thirds of a pint measures as well as in halves and pints. A range of bottled beers (including Belgian and American) and craft keg beers are also stocked.
Cooked dishes, including a range of speciality burgers, are served during kitchen opening hours, supplementing the various bar snacks, including giant pork scratchings.
In 2018 the Draft House chain was acquired by Brewdog who, in November, announced that "Cask Is Back", signalling their return to the real ale fold. But it now seems the house regular will come from Siren. All cask is £3.25 all day every Tuesday.
- Queen's Head
moc.nodnoldaehsneeuq@legiN(020) 7713 5772
66 Acton Street
Narrow, late Georgian side-street premises, just off the Gray’s Inn Road, with a single bar, smoking patio at the rear and benches on the pavement. It retains much of its Victorian character such as etched mirrors, a splendid bay window, a fine back gantry, floor tiling, blue wall tiles (listed), lamps, a lovely fireplace, a lantern and a mixture of old, non-matching tables and chairs. Up to three traditional ciders sold from handpump and bag-in-the-box - winner of the CAMRA London Regional Cider Pub of the Year Award 2013 and 2016. Now an accredited member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme and offers a 10% discount to CAMRA members. Also has interesting beers on keg tap such as Kernel. The pub can stay open beyond the listed closing times depending upon trade. The food menu is designed to complement the beer - Mrs Kings's Melton Mowbray pork pies, cured meats, cheeses and ploughmans. There is always something going on here, live music on the piano every Thursday night from 8 o’clock and every Sunday from 4.30 and the last Thursday of the month features a five piece Jazz band.
ku.oc.sgnuoy@sneeuq(020) 7586 0408
49 Regents Park Road
Rather grand Victorian pub (opened 1854) adjacent to Primrose Hill Park. Now one of Young's Geronimo pubs, with softer decor, upholstered seating, gastro menu, serving both the mostly affluent locals of Primrose Hill and their neighbours. Pub quiz Monday evening. Upstairs is a lovely dining room and terrace overlooking the Hill
- Queens Head & Artichoke
ten.ekohcitraeht@ofni(020) 7916 6206
30-32 Albany Street
On the cusp between a drinkers' pub and a gastro, it is, if anything, striving for the latter with an upstairs restaurant, tapas and more standard menus, and extensive wine list, and a snack list which seems to be reaching for the more upmarket end, albeit not especially expensive. Popular lunchtimes and early evening. Per the Wadsworth Dictionary of Pub Names the sister of Henry VIII, widow of Louis XII of France, was passionately fond of artichokes (it is said). She persuaded her chief gardener to call his tavern by this name. That tavern has gone but the name survives here. See the pub's website for more history.
- Queens Larder
(020) 7837 5627
1 Queen Square
A very small, pleasant pub in a pedestrian area with ample outside benches and first mentioned in 1710. Despite its size, the pub originally had two bars. The main room has a lovely, homely feel with walls adorned by theatre posters leading up to a small lounge/function room. Food is made up of pub standards (rib of beef, ham egg & chips, fish & chips, sandwiches and snacks) served 12.00 – 15.00/16.00 depending upon time of year. Named after Queen Charlotte, wife of George III, who was receiving treatment for his apparent insanity at a doctor’s nearby. She assisted in his nursing, renting a room under the pub and cooking meals for him; the nearby park has a statue of her.
(020) 7267 8240
65 Kentish Town Road
This pub also features a large selection of Belgian and German bottled beers at sensible prices in unpretentious surroundings. An interesting pub, rather different to the average Camden watering hole - no security guards, a relaxed environment and convivial atmosphere. This is a true free house owned by the same family since 1991. Interior includes a 100 foot bar counter, some discrete TV screens and a larger seating area to the rear. The food is very good and reasonably priced for the area. Discount for members of any EBCU organisation.
Correctly or not, the 1848 directory lists this address as the Bank of England. The Moreton Arms, 17 Moreton terrace in the 1861 census and 1856 license transfer. From https://pubwiki.co.uk/LondonPubs/StPancras/MoretonArms.shtml
- Red Lion
ku.oc.notxohnoilder@eciffo(020) 7729 7920
41 Hoxton Street
Small street corner pub, only a few paces from trendy Hoxton Square. The ground floor bar may be empty, the action is often upstairs, where there are more rooms as well as a rooftop terrace.
A recent visitor (Aug 2019 has commented, "A serious markup on halves here. Half of London Pride was £3.00 (pint £4.80)."
- Redemption Brewery Taproom
(020) 8885 5227
Unit 16 Compass West Estate, West Road
The Taproom will be open from 11am for all weekend Spurs homes games in the 2020 season. Outside of weekend Spurs games, it’s best to check with the brewery for details of opening times. We cannot guarantee this web entry will be kept up to date for opening times.
Confirmed 2020 opening on match days :
2nd February – 11am – 4:30pm 5th February – 3pm -TBC 19th February – 3pm – 8pm 1st March – 11am – 7pm 14th March – 11am – 7pm 21st March – 11am – 7pm 28th March – 11am – 9pm
They serve a good selection of their keg and cask beers on match-days. SOLAR will always be available on keg, alongside Hopspur on cask. The Taproom also stocks cans, bottles and mini-kegs to take away.
moc.buptnegereht@tcatnoc(020) 7700 2725
201-203 Liverpool Road
Corner premises with unusual curved front doors. Some old brown tiling outside, the paintwork, in dark green, being recent. Apparently it was called Price Regent as far back as 1845, the previous name was Stone but this only lasted for less than a year. Guests beers have been from such as Hammerton, Five Points and Hop Stuff. Traditional juke box free of charge. Food is from a large pizza menu with oven on display in the bar. Large selection of craft keg beers and a bottled list mostly comprising imports. Weds pub quiz. Monday comedy nights - see their website. The Lauriston E9 and Hanbury Arms N1 are in the same ownership. Tube Angel or Highbury Corner.
- Resting Hare
moc.erahgnitser@ofni(020) 3137 6434
In the same stable as the nearby Euston Tap, the premises form a part of the County Hotel although there is no direct access from one to the other. The fittings (especially the lights but also windows and wood panelling) reflect that of the hotel and one assumes many were in place before the conversion. One large room with the semi-circular metal-topped bar at the far end and plenty of seating in between in the form of booths and high tables. The large front terrace is bound to be popular in nice weather. Four handpumps deliver a changing range beers (on this visit it was Redemption Big Chief, Moor Raw, Oakham JHB and Portobello Porter) plus around 10 keg taps. Only opening weekdays, should change in the New Year. Note the toilets are downstairs. The reason for the name is well explained on their website.
- Rising Sun
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@8327(020) 7636 6530
46 Tottenham Court Road
A fancy exterior remains, in the Elaborate Art Nouveau Gothic style, but the pub was victim of one of the worst excesses of brewery greed in the 1980s when its grade II listed high ceilinged interior was destroyed to create “Presleys”. The resulting litigation led to the forced restoration of many original features in 1993 and, following reversion to the original name, the current decor is much more welcoming. The rear is carpeted and mirrored and doubles as a dining area while the outside remains as distinctive as ever.
Licensed in 1730 as the Sun and rebuilt in 1897 by Treadwell & Martin. The rising sun is a natural name for a pub with its associations with good weather and good fortune, but it also forms a large part of the coat of arms of the Distillers' Company which makes it even more popular as a pub name.
Karl Marx is reputed to have used this pub in the 1850s when 18 pubs existed along the length of the Tottenham Court Road.
- Rochester Castle
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@3p(020) 7249 6016
143-145 Stoke Newington High Street
With some fine tiling in the front section and a large skylight at the back, this is a welcome outlet for cask beer. The cider is stored in polypins in a fridge behind the bar. CAMRA Pub of the Season Autumn 2002. Children's licence until 20.00 (last food orders an hour before). in existence from 1702 as the Green Dragon and subsequently demolished and rebuilt by Richard Payne from Rochester (hence the name) although it was briefly the Tanners Hall in the 1980s. It is now Wetherspoon's longest trading pub.
moc.clpbm@490971nub(020) 7388 0021
120 Euston Road
One of the last (non-brewing) Firkins, when that chain closed real ale was lost but in 2013 it returned. A striking looking pub with an impressive Victorian exterior (Grade II Listed), very conveniently situated for Euston, King's Cross and the British Library. Quiz Night Monday. Usually 2 guest beers in addition to the 2 regulars. However, it can be rare to find four beers on at the same time. Breakfast is served every day until 12 noon. Childrens' menu.
- Rosemary Branch
ku.oc.sbupelbakramer@hcnarbyramesor(020) 7704 2730
2 Shepperton Road
Single bar corner Victorian pub with traditional decor and long settles. Upstairs theatre and a rear lounge. On the edge of Islington common, on the course of an ancient footpath to London. A public house has stood in this area since 1594. in 1783 the old tavern became a white lead works powered by two windmills and the pub was rebuilt on the parish boundary. The tea gardens behind had a one acre pond supplied by the New River. They once housed according to the weekly times 5 Feb 1854, 'The most colossal ballroom in the Kingdom'. Known as Islington Vauxhall in 1836, the garden was used for pony racing, an equestrian circus, tight rope displays and balloon ascents. The pub hosts a small studio theatre seating 65. Buses short walk to New North Rd.
- Royal George
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@4427(020) 7387 2431
8-14 Eversholt Street
Large late-Victorian pub which may originally date from the mid/late-19th century, but it was rebuilt for Truman, Hanbury & Buxton by A. E. Sewell in the 1930s. Arranged as interconnecting rooms facing the three street frontages with a modern central bar. Situated right opposite Euston Station and named after the HMS Royal George that was a flagship vessel for the Royal Navy back in the 1800's. Grade II listed with rare marquetry decoration on the fireplaces - that on the left has small panels contrasting the steam age of the 1830s with the radios and cocktails of the 1930s - fireplace on the right has a larger panel depicting 'The Royal George' but sadly covered by a large TV screen. This is also why the front of the pub looks like the rear of said ship. Joined the CAMRA LocAle scheme in 2013 and offers CAMRA members a 10% discount. Beers come from the SIBA list and local breweries can be Southwark, Hackney, By The Horns, Moncada and Portobello. Lots of outside forecourt pavement seating for fair weather use.
- Rugby Tavern
moc.oohay@91nrevatybgureht(020) 7405 1384
19 Great James Street
Formerly a Nicholson's, then a Fuller's house, this large island bar pub is popular with locals and office workers alike. It is so named because it was built around 1850 on land donated by the founder of Rugby School. It can get crowded in the early evening. There can be themed nights such as pub quizzes. As well as sandwiches, food is available from a Thai menu and the upstairs room can be booked for parties and functions. During a 2011 refurbishment a splendid mirror appeared over the fireplace. There is a large seating (and smoking) area available outside (not weekends), which, being in a car free zone, is extremely pleasant during the summer months. Tube - Russell Sq. or Holborn.
- Scolt Head
ku.oc.daehtlocseht@ofni(020) 7254 3965
107a Culford Road
An interesting pub on a great corner site with lots of outdoor seating, a real fire, and a back room with the biggest tv screen our reviewer has ever seen in a pub and a lovely china dog. Bare boards and stripped back interior, wooden tables with candles. Right-hand bar is dining orientated with rear left-hand games/TV lounge. The pub has been taken over by a local resident couple who have named the pub after their favourite part of Norfolk - Scolt Head Island National Nature Reserve, an area of continually changing sand dune, beach and salt marsh. Nearest tube Highbury and Islington (15 mins) although for Scolt Head Island itself heading for Burnham Market might be slightly better. For detailed pub serving times, visit their website. Guest beer usually Truman's Runner. Buses 242, 243, 38, 76, 73, 56, 141.
- Scottish Stores
ku.oc.serotshsittocseht@ofni(020) 3384 6497
2-4 Caledonian Road
Listed on CAMRA's London Regional inventory of pubs with interiors of special historic interest. Grade II listed. Built 1901. Closed for refurbishment Oct 2015 - reopened the week commencing 7th Dec. They have 8 hand pulls with one being Cider, a house beer from Ripple Steam who they have links with. The rest will be rotating with an emphasis on artisan London beers (Hammerton/Moncada etc.). Also, a "regular" keg offer on 6 lines and a "craft corner" with 6 key keg lines. CAMRA North London Summer 2016 Pub of the Season. In the CAMRA National Pub Design Awards 2016 it was the Winner in the Conservation category.
- Seven Stars
(020) 7242 8521
53-54 Carey Street
One of London's Real Heritage Pubs and Grade II listed, dating from at least 1602 and claimed by some to be the oldest surviving pub in London. Formerly known as the League of Seven Stars after the seven provinces of the Netherlands; amongst its first customers were Dutch sailors who had settled in the area. Shakespeare performances took place nearby in Middle Temple and the playwright himself may even have drunk here. Later on, the novelist Charles Dickens is thought to have used the pub as a model for The Magpie & Stump featured in Pickwick Papers. Nowadays the bar, with its decorative Victorian bar-back, is located in the narrow central space between two other distinctive drinking areas. There are several impressive brewery mirrors and others advertising various drinks. The pub is popular with the legal profession and the snug drinking area on the left is known as the Wig Box. The interior features classic film posters and caricatures with a legal theme. Its beer range includes guest beers from smaller brewers. The comforting gastro-fare menu changes daily and will satisfy meat-eaters and vegetarians alike. Note that toilets are only accessible via steep stairs, a relic of the old Elizabethan house the inn once was. Another feature of the pub is the resident pub cat who is currently called 'Peabody' following the demise of 'Ray Brown', the latter pictured RIP proudly wearing his legal ruff. The cat Peabody is, alas, no more. The new cat is called 'Clement Attlee', a fine and more robust specimen, but objects to wearing the ruff. We don't blame him.
- Shaftesbury Tavern
ku.oc.sbupelbakramer@tyrubsetfahs(020) 7272 7950
534 Hornsey Road
Comprehensive restoration of a very nice old pub, with former pool room restored as restaurant area under fine skylight. Much improved with outside seating available at front. Operated by Remarkable Pubs. CAMRA LocAle accreditation. Tues quiz, CAMRA North London Summer Pub of the Season 2015. Food comes from a predominantly Thai menu with some "pub classics" such as fish & chips and sausage and mash. Bento boxes served Tuesday – Friday 12pm-3.30pm.
- Shakespeare's Head
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@932p(020) 7404 8846
Africa House, 64-68 Kingsway
The pub takes its name from a famous pub that was located nearby until the entire street (Wych Street) was demolished over 100 years ago, shortly before Africa House, was built. Converted from a bank/building society in 1998. Now a cavernous Wetherspoon pub whose convenient location means that it is nearly always busy, even weekends when the absence of the work crowd is made up for by shoppers, out of towners and people starting their Saturday nights (on Sunday many other local establishments are closed, which helps boost its custom). The nearby location of the London School of Economics means that students swell the pub's population during term time. Even though this is a very busy pub, service is normally quick from an efficient staff team.
- Sheephaven Bay
moc.liamtoh@eugoloicirtap(020) 7380 1323
2 Mornington Street
Reopened after a refurbishment and changed name to Sheephaven Bay and run by the people from the Oxford Arms by Camden Market, it has been modernised with bare, laminate floors, big wooden tables and although opened up, it still retains a separate feel between the two bars. 7 plasma screens feature lots of sport, many from Ireland. There is a function room at the rear and a garden/patio out the back and medium priced food served Mon-Fri 12.00 to 15.00 and 17.30 to 21.00, Sat & Sun 12.00 to 20.00. A two minute walk from the High Street, use the footpath up the side of Tommy Flynns and just keep going straight on. Oh yes, Sheephaven Bay is in Donegal where the landlord comes from! Camden Town tube is only 10 at most minutes away, just nearer is Mornington Crescent. Monday quiz starts at 21.00. Nice range of malts.
- Ship Tavern
ku.oc.nrevatpihseht@ofni(020) 7405 1992
12 Gate Street
Hidden in a passage behind Holborn Underground station, a pub has been on this site since 1549. It features in many London ghost books for its association with Catholic priests once caught and executed there in the reign of Henry VIII. It was one of the few William Younger's houses in London and the leaded windows and a brass plaque reflect this previous ownership. Decor is a mix of alcoves and stools, with mahogany-coloured walls and prints of early 20th-century ships. There are six handpumps for regional beers, including two guests and the aptly named house beer. Food is available all day and regular pie promotions are held. The Oakroom restaurant upstairs takes reservations and on Sundays a traditional roast is served with live jazz late Sunday afternoons. Wheelchair accessible double-door but no disabled toilet.
- Signal Box
ku.oc.srelluf@eciffO.xoBlangiS(020) 7391 9459
Unit 53, Euston Station
Fuller's latest station venue which opened on 10th December 2018. The Signal Box is located upstairs in the station’s terrace at the Eastern end featuring a bar and dining space and an outside bar with seating. A pub has been mooted in this area for some time, indeed it was initially thought that Greene King had an option on the space, but now it is occupied by London's main brewer of cask beer.
It occupies an L-shaped space that can be accessed by stairs, lift or escalator. There are three distinct areas, two of which offer table service. The outer terrace looks over the main concourse and faces the train indicator boards although a large pillar tends to obscure the view. There should also be a train indicator screen in the main bar while there is also a smaller bar in the dining space.
It opens for breakfast from 7.30 (9.00 on Sunday) with the full menu being available from noon. All six cask beers were from Fuller's in the week of opening.
- Sir Colin Campbell
ku.oc.llebpmacnilocriseht@ofni(020) 7693 5443
264-266 Kilburn High Road
Acquired by Ross Grady, Angus Stevenson, and Crusoe Millar, who bought the lease in January 2017. Mr Grady, who with his friends runs the Colonel Fawcett in Camden Town and the Smugglers Arms in Warren Street, said: “It’s the first pub that feels like a traditional pub that we hope to restore to its original beauty. We will up the anti with drink offers and live traditional Irish music every Saturday night.” He added: “The essence of the pub was in good shape, with wood cladding we wanted to keep. We’ve basically worked top down, breathed new life into it with new colour schemes but generally working with what’s there already.” They also have a nice selection of bottled/canned beers but at a price. Pub looks in good shape, two nice rooms with lots of wood panelling. Upstairs room now operates as a restaurant. Now LocAle accredited.
- Skinners Arms
KU.OC.SNNISALGUOD@SMRASRENNIKS(020) 7837 6521
114 Judd Street
Named after the City Livery Company and standing on a street named after a past Master of the Company, this traditional medium-sized pub has essentially been converted to one bar, despite the signs on the doors and in the stained glass, of which there is quite a lot in the windows. There is a raised seating area on the left as you enter, and what was a separate room at the back has been converted to a large alcove with more seating. The decor is traditional, and there is a quiet ambience. Formerly a Greene King house. Convenient for King's Cross and St Pancras stations, it is popular with commuters. A wide range of snacks and meals is served.
ku.oc.notgnilsiesuohekoms@ofni(020) 7354 1144
63-69 Canonbury Road
The Smokehouse in Islington re-opened has taken it steady in increasing what is available. It was most recently called House, and originally the Belinda Castle, but it retains its food bias which will grow as they land running. There is plenty of seating for drinkers and the real ale offerings provide local beers. On the four pumps on a recent visit were beers from Sambrooks, Redemption, London Fields and from further field, Dark Star. Clearly this range will change regularly, as it was reduce to two on a subsequent visit. The latest fashion is to have a selection of craft beers and here there are almost 20 taps in the wall. A printed menu outlines what is available and the local theme continues here with Kernel, Pressure Drop and Meantime, lined up against a good selection of European beers and even cans from America! Of course, there just had to be Schlenkerla Rauchbier available to complement the pub name. A pub to watch if you like beers from further afield. Serious food served - see their website for times and menus. In the same ownership as Pig and Butcher and Princess of Shoreditch. Tube Highbury and Islington, rail Essex Rd
- Smugglers Tavern
ku.oc.nrevatsrelggumseht@ofni(020) 7388 8686
28 Warren Street
The prominent figurehead on the front of the building beckons one into a white and aquamarine painted bar adorned with coastal maps, plans and inshore charts together with a ship's wheel to complete the nautical theme. Furnished with simple tables, chairs and stools on an oak floor, some stable stall partitions break up the rectangularity of the room, creating several drinking areas. The pub dates from 1798: originally called the Lord Cornwallis, it received its present name when it was refurbished in 1966. Two changing real ales and a very good range of international bottled craft beers. Weekday breakfasts served to midday and food takeaways are available. Occasional Meet the Brewer evenings; quiz night is Tuesday. NB the WCs are now in the basement.
- Snooty Fox
firstname.lastname@example.org(020) 7354 9532
75 Grosvenor Avenue
This vibrant, spacious pub decorated with 1960s icons and a 45 rpm juke box gives a retro feel. It features an open-plan room with plenty of seating space and cosy couch areas. There is a small patio off the light airy lounge to enjoy one of their four real ales and watch the world go by. It has regular DJ’d music and several diverse beer festivals, always well attended.
There is a revolving LocAle (from the likes of Redemption, Windsor & Eton, Sambrook’s, and East London Brewing) and up to two other changing guest beers. Good modern British food is cooked to order, and of course there are Sunday roasts, five on offer plus a fish and vegetarian option. There is a daily rotisserie menu of spit-roasted free range chicken from Freemans of Newent basted in aromatic herbs and spices stuffed with lemon and lime served with gravy and a choice of side orders. Weekly specials are sourced focusing on seasonal produce, fresh fish and a sumptuous pie of the week. Tapas style small plates also served.
Canonbury station on the London Overground (with connections to Stratford) is directly opposite the pub and easily seen from the outside bench seating where smoking is permitted. 10 minutes from Highbury and Islington tube station. Bus Routes to Highbury & Islington or Newington Green 236, 393, 73, 451. Card-carrying CAMRA members get 20p off a pint. CAMRA North London Pub of the Season Winter 2011 and overall Pub of the Year 2014 and again in 2019. Listed as an Asset of Community Value, June 2016.
The third Weds of every month now features a lunchtime comedy club where "baby can come to" - 1pm to 2.30pm.
- Somers Town Coffee House
KU.OC.NOITCELLOCYMMUY@NWOTSREMOS(020) 7387 7377
60 Chalton Street
The pub history dates back to the early eighteenth century, when it was a coffee house, and then a tea garden and resort. It appears to have been rebuilt in the 1920s, when the adjacent block of council flats was put up. Internally, there seem to have been a number of refits, with 1920s fireplaces and more modern features visible. The large single room has a central bar with mosaic work on the bar back. Lots off wood panelling and large mirrors enhance the atmosphere. There are ten handpumps plus a selection of craft keg beer.
The floor is polished wood, with tiles round the bar. The main drinking area, with a 1970s electrolier, extends to a small, heated and partly covered beer garden at the rear: there are also tables along the front terrace. There is piped music but no TV. Breakfast, lunch and dinner served - go to the pub's website for more details - operating an all day menu updated with new dishes every three weeks. Sunday roasts until they have sold out.
The pub is about 350m from Euston main line, tube and bus stations, through a passage from Doric Way. There is a speakeasy cocktail bar, the Cosy Kettle, in the basement that is open after the pub has closed. The pub opening hours that we list were taken from an A-board outside the pub in Feb 2019 and they differ form the hours on the pub's website.
- Sourced Market
moc.tekramdecruos@ofni(020) 7833 9352
The Circle, St Pancras International Station,
Located on the main concourse of St. Pancras International station, this artisanal food-and-drink emporium, encompassing eat-in and take-away up-market delicatessen, cheesery, fruiterer, coffee and craft-beer/wine sections - the latter allows consumption of alcohol on the premises (from 11am, noon Sundays). Four draught craft-keg beers are available for consumption on the premises or take-away in growlers; and a large range of bottled beers and ciders - familiar and rare examples - may also be bought for take-away or on-site consumption, subject to a modest surcharge. Many are conditioned in the bottle (Meantime, Kernel, White Shield, Fuller's 1845, Weird Beer, Crate, Pressure Drop, Five Points, Beavertown have all been stocked). Hours can change at bank holiday weekends.
- Southampton Arms
139 Highgate Road
Small boozer with a fire and pew style seating, a long thin bar which leads to a small garden at the rear. The ale selection is constantly changing and comes from small independent breweries across the UK, their website lists those who have appeared. Following a short closure and refurbishment in Autumn 2018, the number of cask beers on handpump has gone down to 8 from 10, they are usually helpfully ordered palest on the left, darkest on the right. And the number of real ciders, from producers such as Burrow Hill, Millwhites and the Orchard Pig, has dropped from 8 to 6. At the same time 8 lines have been fitted for keg beers.
The pub won the Greater London Cider Pub of the Year Award 2010 after earlier winning the Branch Award. After being the Branch Pub of the Year in 2011 it then went on to be crowned the 2011 London Regional Pub of the Year. For 2017 and again in 2019 it is the North London Cider Pub of the Year.
On the food front no gastro, just good bar snacks, pork pies, sausage rolls, scotch eggs, roast pork in baps plus veggie options. The music is played on vinyl which is great, there is also live piano music on Sundays and Tuesdays and Wednesdays. No tea, no coffee but a bloody mary kit is behind the bar. Pub stays open to midnight most days. Pub quiz Monday. Nearest transport options - Kentish Town + bus or Gospel Oak.
- Spread Eagle
ku.oc.sgnuoy@nedmacelgaedaerps(020) 7267 1410
141 Albert Street
A 19th Century wood panelled pub which has been expanded to include a former retail premises. Situated on the corner with Parkway, the pub has several linked but varying drinking areas, together with outside bench seating. Food is served seven days a week from 12.00 - 22.00 and late afternoons there can often be special deals available. At lunchtimes it attracts the office worker crowd which changes as the day goes on.
- Square Pig
moc.nroblohgiperauqs@seiriuqne(020) 7691 3144
30-32 Procter Street
There is a demolition sign outside the currently (Nov 2020) boarded-up pub but this would seem to relate to work taking place above the pub in a flat and their website says the pub will reopen when normal times reesume.
Occupying the ground floor of a modern office block, at corner of Red Lion Square, this L-shaped bar at street level also has large outside terrace with heated awning for rainy/inclement weather. Contemporary style décor, high re-purposed-wood tables surrounded by seating, and some vibrant artwork; the downstairs cocktail bar has teal, black and dark brown leather booths, with contemporary light fixtures.
Some unusual bottled beers and craft kegs. Recorded music can be loud in evenings. Disabled toilet, main door wheelchair accessible. Often regulars and seasonals from Truman's. Food menus can be found on their website including light bites, wraps and burgers. Available for hire at weekends.
- Square Tavern
ku.oc.liamtoh@nrevaterauqseht(020) 7388 6010
26 Tolmers Square,
A secluded pub, with a large patio facing into a 1980s redeveloped, residential housing estate, and planted courtyard. Two alleyways provide access from Hampstead Road and Gower Street. Exposed brickwork and low lighting with chesterfield seating make this a pleasant retreat from the nearby tower blocks and busy main roads. Food is served lunchtime and early evening, mostly Italian together with Burgers and Steaks. The bedrock of the pub’s custom is now from the nearby corporate HQs – Debenhams, HMRC, Santander and Facebook. This is a young crowd hence the emphasis on Craft Beers. They also have music on some evenings but not sure whether or not it is live music. Close to Euston main line and both Euston Square and Warren Street tubes.
- St John's Tavern
moc.nrevatsnhojts@seiriuqne(020) 7272 1587
91 Junction Road
Another part of the real ale renaissance taking place in this part of London. Although the emphasis is undeniably on food (hams hanging in the food preparation area are visible from the bar), this gastro pub has up to five real ales on at any one time. It is also big enough for those who just want a drink to enjoy one without feeling uncomfortable. The whole impression is one of space, helped by a large bar area and high ceilings. A range of newspapers is available and the large square tables offer broadsheet aficionados plenty of room to spread out. There is an equally large restaurant area to the rear of the pub, and an outdoor drinking/smoking space to the side. But please note the menu says a 'discretionary' 12.5% service charge will be added to all bills. During the summer of 2009 underwent a large programme to restore many of the original features. Underground: Archway. Overground: Upper Holloway. Buses: 134, 390.
- Stags Head
moc.notxohdaehsgats@ofni(020) 7739 5186
55 Orsman Road
The closure of this traditional street-corner pub gave considerable cause for concern that its charms would be lost forever. However, the good news is that the pub has re-opened and the inter-war interior of this former Truman's pub remains on show as does its fine exterior. The essential component is the use of wooden panelling which incorporates mirrors, beer names and wonderful fire-places. There remain several rooms and a larger side-room for entertainments.
There is also a walled garden for warmer and lighter evenings with summer hog roasts and DJs. Pizzas are served from the open kitchen. A traditional piano completes the scene. Nearest station is Haggerston. Buses can be found on Kingsland Rd. get off at Laburnam St., walk towards the Regent's Canal and turn left down Orsman Rd.
As a recent visitor commented, "Really amazing & unspoilt interior; a true London boozer. Not many left like this alas."
- Steam Passage Tavern
email@example.com(020) 7226 5882
44 Upper Street
A large busy, bustling pub (it has been knocked though into the next door indian restaurant) which opens onto the street through big clear windows, and where the drinking areas totally wrap themselves around an L-shaped, central bar. There is a raised seated area at the back; wooden floors and half height, oak coloured wood panelling. Bistro style food is served Mon-Sat 12-21.30 and Sun 12-21. handy for Islington Design Centre. There is a beer called Steam Passage but not clear who brews it. Tube - Angel.
firstname.lastname@example.org(020) 7240 2789
21 Drury Lane
Once a Whitbread Hogshead, this is an end-of-terrace pub rebuilt in 1882. Said to have been used by luminaries such as Oscar Wilde and Oliver Reed, this former market dive is now a locals’ pub attracting mainly office workers and residents from the nearby flats; regular groups and classes use the first-floor room and bar. Three TV screens are available for football and it does get busy of an evening. Dogs are welcome and children until 7pm. The food menu concentrates on Pieminster pies plus bars snacks, indeed the pub's website says, "In partnership with Pieminster." . Hanging flower baskets add charm to its exterior.
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@1627(020) 7837 6223
7 Cosmo Place
A long, one-room pub which opens out towards the back and leads off an atmospheric, traffic-free street meaning that the outside seating area is relatively fume free. It is a busy, lively, popular venue with large screen TV (picture only), piped music, snacks and an extensive menu of pub standards served daily. In 2013 (Aug) it became the 50th North London pub accredited to CAMRA's LocAle scheme and regularly has LocAle beers from various London breweries. In Feb 2019 Weston's Old Rosie was noted as a permanent offering on handpump. 10% discount for CAMRA members.
(020) 7241 2995
109 Mortimer Road
Revived and much improved corner pub in De Beauvoir Town area now featuring attractive evening menu, and Sat/Sun brunch to 16.30. Popular with after work vistors and diners. Bare floor boards and plenty of unvovered brickwork, with mainly wooden tables and chairs help create a relaxed and comfortable feeling. Garden in summer and upstairs private hire room with rooftop balcony.
- Tapping The Admiral
moc.liamg@larimdaehtgnippat(020) 7267 6118
77 Castle Road
Triple winner of the CAMRA North London Branch Pub of the Year (2013, 2015 and 2018). After four years being closed, this community pub was reopened by the people that own the Pineapple. It has an L-shaped bar with comfortable stools, tables and seating. Eight Cask Real Ales and a selection of kegs and bottled ales regularly available.
As a member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme expect to see a good range from London's LocAle breweries. Traditional home-made food with speciality pies. Sunday roasts served from 12am (booking advised). Heated/covered beer garden is well designed and is a nice feature. Popular Wednesday quiz and live sessions of traditional music on Thursday evenings. Monthly tap takeovers and pop-up events. Listed as an Asset of Community Value in 2016. The house beer is brewed for them by (we think) Brakspear's, called Nelson’s Whiskers (after the resident cat). Disabled Access (Not W.C.), Family friendly (until 8pm).
- Thornhill Arms
moc.smrallihnrohteht@ofni(020) 7689 0026
148 Caledonian Road
A good example of what can be achieved when a pub is maintained and continues to function with the support of local residents. A classic "Charrington pub", the building contains many period features including what appears to be part of the original bar. Benches at the front and garden at the back.
- Three Crowns
moc.hctiderohssnworceerht@ofni(020) 3058 4810
8 East Road
Reverted to The Three Crowns in April 2017 after spending a year as Hill & Szrok (a butchery-focussed pub). This has seen beers from the group's Essex Street brewery make a welcome appearance. At the end of 2009/early 2010 all the surrounding buildings had been knocked down, while the pub, which is locally listed, remained standing and was used as a site office for the adjacent redevelopment. In 2013 the pub re-opened. Comprehensive internal refurbishment into a modern venue has seen the space trebled in size which has allowed a dedicated dining area to be added with an open kitchen. Four hand-pumps, plus one for cider. Of note, the pub has had an exterior refurbishment which revealed an original bottle-green-tiled Barclay's Brewery (appears pre-Barclay Perkins) facade. An imaginative retention of what had become a tired pub. A Premier Inn is next door.
- Three Johns
moc.snhoj-eerht@ofni(020) 7837 1892
73 White Lion Street
It became a Hobgoblin around 2008 but in 2012 changed name again to The Fallen Angel. Closed in the summer of 2013, re-opened as a craft beer pub operated by Barworks, in May 2014, reverting to its old name, Three Johns - who were three 18th century radicals. Three changing cask beers (Crate and Arbor being examples) plus lots of craft keg and a huge range of bottled beers. The pub now has a very impressive copper tiled ceiling, it's a vast space with two separate areas (the smaller back area is available for private hire and may often be used as such by after-work groups). Bare brick features, unmatched tables and chairs seem to ex-Church seats with the back slot for bibles, probably not now getting much use for their original purpose!), huge picture windows and wooden floor. Background music was quite loud at time of visit (circa 17.30). Pizza is served in the pub and can also be be taken away or delivered via Deliveroo.
- Truckles of Pied Bull Yard
ku.oc.yvad@selkcurT(020) 7404 5338
Pied Bull Yard, Off Bury Place
Modern wine/cafe bar in an attractive yard tucked away off Bury Street. Now has a Spitfire handpump on the ground floor as well as one in the basement badged as Old Wallop which will be the same beer. In the downstairs bar the Davy's formula of sawdust and candles prevails. Beer sold in pewter pots and although cheaper by the four pint jug, it still remains expensive. The light interior has stone flagged floors with dark wood round tables and chairs, some armchairs and light wood panelling. Unobtrusive background music. The accent is very much on food and wine. There is a large outdoor seating area in a Georgian yard surrounded by local boutiques and shops. Food is served 11.00 - 15.30 and 17.00 - 20.30 Mon - Fri, 11.00 – 15.00 Sat. Mains range from £10-£15 including steaks, salmon, bangers and mash. Hot and cold sandwiches range from £5.95 to £9.85 and salads and sharing platters £5- £10. Tube - Holborn.
- Two Brewers
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@7627(020) 7836 7395
40 Monmouth Street
A nicely wooden panelled bar and back bar, just south of Seven Dials, and said to date from the 1690s as part of Thomas Neale's development of what had been known as Marshland or Marsh Close. At the rear of this one room pub there's some attractive backlit coloured glass, and the walls feature photographs of stars of stage and screen. Monmouth Street is said to have been an inspiration for Hogarth's famous 1751 print "Gin Lane" as it was then a byword for drunkenness and crime.
ku.oc.rabnoinueht@ecalpstneger(020) 7387 0361
11 Triton Street
Opened in January 2012 as part of the Regent's Place development. Available to hire at weekends.
- Union Tavern
moc.tcennoctb@nrevatnoinu(020) 7278 0111
52 Lloyd Baker Street
The pub retains its two room layout, built in Victorian times, with some remains of the original drinking lobby and a former office behind the bar. The many engraved mirrors, bare wood floors and furniture complement the dark wood bar counter, and original fireplaces are retained. The imaginative food menu is displayed on chalk boards, with the left side room serving as a restaurant. A large retractable TV screen is available for sports events. At the rear, a staircase leads up to a functions room equipped with its own bar, available for hire. Lunch Mon - Sat: 12.00 - 15.30; Dinner Mon - Sat: 17.30 - 22.30; Brunch Saturday and Sunday 10.30 - 13.00; Sunday Menu 12.00 - 22.00 (Home cooked Sunday roasts available all day). In 2013, following the temporary closure of the nearby Pakenham, the number of handpumps doubled to four and the range improved, they have had Truman's, Redemption, and West Berkshire and usually they always have something local (Trumans).
email@example.com(020) 7226 6276
178-179 Upper Street
Wetherspoon then Ambishus (not for long) then Barracuda (who were latterly renamed Bramwell) and now Stonegate. As you enter from Upper Street, you go through a large, covered garden with heaters and occasional barbecues. This leads you into something that is really quite hard to describe, an arched ceiling with wallpaper mimicking brickwork while some of the walls have truly exposed brickwork. A mix of very modern decor, sofas, low tables and booths in a sort of gastro-style, although the menu is reasonably priced. There are also plasma screens for sport. Wi-fi. Disabled facilities. It accepts private bookings for the whole premises so may at times be effectively closed to passers-by.
- Water Rats
moc.kooltuo@yllasstarretaw(020) 7833 3312
328 Gray's Inn Road
After an uncertain time in 2014/2015 opened with a new operator at the back end of 2015 which has seen a nice refurbishment with the once shabby furniture replaced. Originally known as “The Pindar of Wakefield”, built in 1517, on the opposite side of the road, it shared it's name with the Pinder of Wakefield (a person whose job was to impound stray animals), supposedly connected with Robin Hood mythology. It also shares it's name with the historical Pindar's fort, a local site believed to be beneath the Mount Pleasant Post Office. Having been badly damaged in a thunderstorm in 1793, it was rebuilt at its current site. In 1986 the premises were bought by “The Grand Order of Water Rats”, a showbiz charity organisation. They do have 3 handpumps in the back room (Stage Room) but only realistically use 1 for Fuller's London Pride. Opens early, alcohol served from 10am, they serve a broad range of breakfasts from 8.30am - midday-ish. Live music, comedy shows and secret gigs and are on Vintage TV.
- Wenlock Arms
moc.smrakcolnew@sucram(020) 7608 3406
26 Wenlock Road
Established in 1835, and re-opened in 1994 as a real ale and jazz pub, it quickly acquired iconic status as a leading edge in the cask beer revolution. When owners Steve Barnes and Will Williams (under whom it had been North London CAMRA Pub of the Year four times) announced their intention to retire, a massive campaign by local people and CAMRA supported by Hackney Council led to the pub being eventually saved. It closed for a refurbishment of the ground floor early in 2013 but has now re-opened with welcome new loos.
Simple snacks menu of toasties, Pieminster pies, baked Camembert and tuna melts are served, at a price which won't break the bank. Traditional ciders and perries are available served by air pressure through what look like keg taps but don't be fooled. Beer menu will of course be subject to regular change, but something from a London brewery should usually be available and a mild!
Two minutes from the Regent's Canal. Five minutes from buses on City Road, 10 to 15 mins from Old St stations. A member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme. Runner-up in the North London CAMRA Pub of the Year competition 2016, Winner in 2017. Also a winner of the Cider Pub of the Year category. Occasionally serves beer from their own cellar - BLOCK brewery. Reported as being "good stuff" but not always available as they sell it as fast as they can brew it.
moc.sbupnodnollaer@faehstaehw(020) 7580 1585
25 Rathbone Place
Attractively fronted mock Tudor pub rebuilt by Youngers in 1931 and designed by John T Quilter. There is some beautiful stained glass in the windows including a Younger's sign. Inside is a narrow bar which widens out at the rear, and a restaurant cum function room on the first floor. This is yet another pub said to have been frequented by Dylan Thomas, George Orwell, and the wartime Fitzrovian crowd, many of whom were in, or desperate for, jobs at the nearby BBC. Part of the attraction for them was the stronger and hard-to-find Younger's Scotch Ale here. Dylan Thomas is said to have met his wife Caitlin Macnamara in this pub; they got married at the third attempt having twice spent the licence fee on booze. It was a marriage made in heaven - both were adulterous and drunken but she was physically violent towards him as well. The dilettante Julian Maclaren-Ross was also a regular in the thirties and forties, often with his trademark silver-knobbed cane and teddy-bear overcoat. Court-martialled in 1943, he features as X.Trapnell in Anthony Powell's Dance to the Music of Time series of books. Yet another regular was the bohemian Welsh artist Nina Hamnett, whose fondness for boozing in Fitzrovia's pubs eventually led to a sad and penurious alcoholic decline accompanied by one-night stands with any of the lower end of the clientele willing to buy her a drink. For those interested in more of this pub's literary and artistic history, a fascinating download is on the pub website. The pub is home to the 99 Comedy Club every Saturday night in the top bar. The pub is now part of a small chain with another pub in Brighton.
- White Hart
ku.oc.sbupsm@trahetihweht(020) 7242 2317
191 Drury Lane
A pub that is much larger than it looks from the outside. There is a narrow bar leading to a large baronial rear area. Rebuilt in 1912 by Hoare and Company's Red Lion Brewery, the pub claims from Old Bailey archives to have been in existence since 1216 and to be the oldest licensed premises in London. It, and the surrounding Drury Lane area, was a plague hotspot in the Great Plague of 1665. Reputed, like many others in the area, to be a pub where condemned men had their last drink and the company of a good (bad) woman; it is on record that the highwayman Jack Sheppard had his last glass here. The White Hart was a favourite emblem of Richard II though the origins of the creature date at least from Alexander the Great's time. Archive photos of this pub as a Charrington's Ales house may be seen at http://www.historypin.org/en/white-hart/
- White Mustache
ku.oc.ehcatsumetihw@OFNI(020) 7388 0944
7 Stanhope Parade, Stanhope Street
This pub closed in May 2013 but in October 2014 reopened after a make-over styling itself as a gastro pub with new name "White Mustache" offering coffee, craft beer. With craft keg taps and three handpumps. On a visit in Jan 2017 there was a 3.7% beer named White Mustache (brewed by Greene King) plus a beer from Belhaven. Hammerton N1 was the third. However, in an Oct 2018 visit, only the house beer was available. Plenty of searing in a large room broken into two areas around an L-shaped bar.
- White Swan
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@2371p(020) 7288 9050
255-256 Upper Street
A bit more interesting than the regular Wetherspoon's shop conversion, the White Swan was created from disused council /union offices in 2000. It backs onto Swan Yard, the remaining part of a much larger yard belonging to the Old White Swan, demolished in the 1960s, which stood next to the post office, separated from Club Union House by the railway station. This is possibly the best place to drink at the top end of Upper Street and you certainly will not find a better range of beers at better prices anywhere in N1. The tasteful Art Deco interior reminds one of a 1930s cinema, including elaborate banisters, panelling and mirrors, with split levels and an upper gallery floor too. There is an ever-changing range of British real ales, usually at least seven at one time, cider usually comes from Weston's. Regular mini beer festivals and cheap food to boot! Well worth a visit - a real community pub, which is a rarity for the area. Tube, overground - Highbury and Islington.
- Woolf & Whistle
ku.oc.sletohlairepmi@ofni(020) 7636 8383
Tavistock Hotel, Tavistock Square
With its stylish Art Deco entrance and very 1920s style bar (an Art Deco walnut looking bar with Art Deco silver inlay) off to the right from reception, this is a comfortable spot just off a splendid public square; still open fields at the end of the C18, once a place to hunt ducks and fight illegal duels.
The Square has strong literary connections – Dickens lived at the NE corner and here he wrote Bleak House, Little Dorrit and other works; Virginia and Leonard Woolf ran the Hogarth Press from the basement of No 52 and it is indeed from Virginia that the bar takes its inspiration. Reasonable priced hotel accommodation bearing in mind location.
moc.sbupsnoslohcin@kroy(020) 7713 1835
82 Islington High Street
Large, busy, bustling, handsome looking, street corner pub, which confusingly looks as if it's on Upper St., an impression helped by the large outside terrace. Huge, plain windows lighten up the place, while the deep red ceiling, fireplace with mirror above, and the older back bar fittings hint at what it would have looked like in a previous age; being built in the 1850s as the York Hotel and rebuilt in the 1870s. Various photos and displays commemorate the once nearby Islington Studios, where Hitchcock began his career. These and the good-looking mirrors will no doubt be hidden when the large sports screen drops down. On the outside corner there's a fine curved display advertising sign. Food from a large menu, see their website for details and times of serving but in general all day to an hour before closing.
- Albert (020) 3301 5867 11 Princess Road London NW1 8JR
- Muswell Hill
- Famous Royal Oak
(020) 3489 2845
73 St James's Lane
Modern replacement for an old pub, a pub having stood on this site for over 200 years, just below arches of old railway from Highgate to Alexandra Palace now providing a pleasant walkway and impressive vistas. One main bar, with pool table in a large extension to right-hand side, both areas being festooned with bric-a-brac. Main sporting events shown on TV. Large outside seating area at front with impressive hanging baskets. Quiz night on Thursday from 9.15pm. Light snacks available at all times and summer barbecues on the terrace. Live piano sessions every Wednesday evening 6pm-7pm. Plus a retro jukebox with classics from the 1960's to the 00's.
- Maid Of Muswell
ku.oc.llewsumfodiameht@yriuqne(020) 8883 4971
121 Alexandra Park Road
Originally an off-license, opened as a pub by Bass Charrington in 1987. Has undergone a bit of a transformation with shades of gastro in its new furnishings and menu. There is a larger outside seating area and food is served from opening until 21.00 (20.00 Sunday), their website will give a good indication of what is on offer, including Sunday roasts. Stations are a good walk away, bus far more convenient.
Offers a large selection of keg beers as well - "10 hand-picked beers to our collection. They'll be on rotation daily but once they're gone, they're gone."
- Mossy Well
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@4256p(020) 8444 2914
258 Muswell Hill Broadway
Muswell Hill takes its name from a medieval holy well and its hill-top location. The ‘mossy well’ became a place of pilgrimage after a Scottish king was said to have been cured here drinking the water. By the early 1800s, Belle Vue Lodge stood on the site of these premises. In 1900, it was replaced by the Express Dairy tea room, with a milk depot at the rear. In the early 1980s, the property was converted into licensed premises. Much re-engineered, in 1984 it became a pub under various names, latterly the Village. It was opened by Wetherspoons on 13th October 2015, as the Mossy Well, derived from the etymology of Muswell. It's very spacious inside, with a mezzanine floor and outdoor drinking areas at both front and back. Despite the size it can be packed. Four "house" beers plus up to 8 guests. One cider available, from Weston's, bag-in-a-box in the fridge. CAMRA North London Pub of the Season Winter 2016/17.
- Muswell Hillbilly Taproom
14 Avenue Mews
Brewery Taproom. Only has two chiller units so two keg from MHB and two guests. They said they were going to do cask but no-one has ever seen any.
Muswell Hillbilly Brewers are a microbrewery in North London "who aim to share our love of making and drinking good beer. Our beers have distinctive flavours and contain locally sourced ingredients, including our own N10 hops. We currently produce bottle conditioned craft beer, cask and kegged real ales, selling mainly in Muswell Hill, Alexandra Palace and Wood Green.
We now also run a Tap Room in Avenue Mews where we have our own and other local beers on tap, our full range in bottles to drink in or take away and a fine range of wines, spirits and soft drinks."
- Victoria Stakes
ku.oc.sekatsairotciv@snoitavreser(020) 8815 1793
1 Muswell Hill
Single-bar pub nestling in the foothills of Alexandra Palace, on the main Finsbury Park to Muswell Hill bus route. Its name comes from a horse race (it was originally built as a coachouse & stables) and the theme is reinforced throughout the pub. Like several real ale outlets in the area, it describes itself as a 'bar and dining rooms'. Furnishings are a mix of leather sofas and old style wooden chairs; there is a wooden floor throughout on two levels and candle lighting predominates. The pub also offers draught Leffe and Hoegaarden. Food is served, either in the pub or the upstairs restaurant, check website for latest times. The menu takes in a wide ranges of full meals, snacks and tapas, plus various set menus. The pub suffered a massive fire in 2016 and has now been restored to full health with all the damage put right and recently (Oct 2017) had an event to mark its full reopening.
- Village Green
bup.neergegalliveht@olleh(020) 8444 8830
122 Fortis Green Road
Update 27/02/20 - "Relaunched as the Village Green tonight, soft opening. Muswell Hillbillies have tweeted a picture of the beer they will have on there, looks like a keg rather than cask" 20 lines on keg walls. Most of the other info on this site reflects the pub as it was so CAUTION!
NOTE (Jan 2020) - pub closed to carry out "ground floor, first and second floor extensions to existing public house to provide 3 x one bedroom flats and 4 x two bedroom flats at first and second floor level, following grant of planning permission. We are informed by a local resident that this is for 12 weeks. Apparently there will be no Thai food when it reopens.
Fifties pub named after the famous television pioneer; the first broadcasts were made from nearby Alexandra Palace. Former pool-room on left side of bar now 'Black Orchid' Thai restaurant but food is served throughout the pub. Traditional Sunday lunches. TV sports. Larger room to right of bar split by divider. Sports events shown on TV, including screens outside in the rear patio which is a summer sun trap. Large outside covered smoking and drinking area. Dedicated cider and perry pumps. They have a baby changing facility and a disabled toilet. Children are allowed in the bar until 19.00, under the supervision of a responsible adult, and in the restaurant until 21.00. See their website for guest beers on rotation. Occasional beer festivals.
- Famous Royal Oak (020) 3489 2845 73 St James's Lane Muswell Hill N10 3QY
- New Southgate
- Springfield Bar & Grill
ku.oc.liamtoh@llirgrabdleifgnirps(020) 8888 4795
133 Bounds Green Road
The newly refurbished Springfield Bar & Grill opened on September 27th 2013. It's a great new local for everybody in the Bounds Green area, showing all major live sports action and with live music at weekends and open mic nights every Thursday. It also has a food offering, from Classic Pub Favourites to Bar Bites and Sharing Boards Selection, served until 9pm (8pm Sunday). The new layout and decor is very impressive. It has lots of comfortable seating, its warm, clean and fresh. The Springfield Bitter is brewed by Greene King.
- Springfield Bar & Grill ku.oc.liamtoh@llirgrabdleifgnirps(020) 8888 4795 133 Bounds Green Road New Southgate N11 2PP
- Queen's Park
ku.oc.yrubsulaseht@ofni(020) 7238 3286
50-52 Salusbury Road
The owner since 1999 is a company called Masseria Group. Set up by Nick Marsh (ex Lansdowne) and Rob Claassen (ex Duke of Cambridge), they brought their previous gastro experience to bear but with a clear two-room layout separating bar from restaurant, this means diners and drinkers don't trip over each other. Jazz was playing softly in the background and with covers of reggae albums on the walls, it's a sure indication that muzak will not assault your ears. There is a mad mix of unmatched tables and chairs which creates a pleasant jumble that is not your identikit gastro. It exudes a laid-back, comfortable air as good pubs should. The owners also operate the organic food/deli a few doors down, which does take-away pizzas and eat-in at a small area in the back. Nice range of bottled beers. If you get bored, you could always visit Kilburn library or call in at the cop shop. This street sure packs a lot in a small space. IPA was £4.10 and Abbot £4.80 in September 2018.
- Salusbury ku.oc.yrubsulaseht@ofni(020) 7238 3286 50-52 Salusbury Road Queen's Park NW6 6NN
- South Hampstead
- North Star Tavern
(020) 7435 6287
104 Finchley Road
The pub was purpose built in 1850, shortly after the Finchley Road was driven through. The style is high Victorian, with a wrought iron balcony across the frontage. The Jubilee line is 3 feet below the cellar floor. The building is on a steep slope, so drinking spaces are at a different heights, and the large patio at the back, which can be covered and heated and has TV, is on three levels. The interior has only a few original features left: there are two marble fire surrounds. It is a football and TV sports-orientated locals' bar: there is a darts board in the back corner. Food includes bar snacks and daily specials, popular with local workers coming in for lunch. Food served: 12.00 - 20.00 except Fri (closes at 15.00). Extended to 22.00 on match nights. Underground: Finchley Road. Bus: C11, 13, 82, 113, 187, 268.
- North Star Tavern (020) 7435 6287 104 Finchley Road South Hampstead NW3 5JJ
- South Tottenham
- Mannions Prince Arthur
(020) 8365 1899
158 Broad Lane
Thankfully still open and cask beer recently introduced. Another pleasant pub retaining a lot of its original features and is a good example for researching pub architecture and how it has changed over the years. There may be a deal with Sky Sports and Sharp's/Molson Coors, whereby you get the beer cheap (Doom Bar) when you get Sky Sports, probably why lots of smaller keg pubs are now doing Doom Bar. It looks like 30% reduction in cost for Sky Sports negotiated for Punch and Admiral chains.
firstname.lastname@example.org(020) 8245 5689
197 Philip Lane
Now confirmed as being fully open with 2 cask beers from local breweries, our reporter also adds, "Lots of craft beers. Food served. Very expensive for the area."
Update - December 2019 - New Twitter and Instagram accounts set up for The Palm. Note on Instagam: "Public house, formerly The Lord Palmerston, opening 12th December 2019" Twitter: "Some of the beautiful features of this amazing old building, rediscovered during the building works."
Bought by Shoreditch Bars Group, in what seemed quite a surprising move at the time.
Former Truman pub dating from 1857. Two bar layout. The pub's current incarnation was built in the 1930s for Truman, Hanbury & Buxton by A. E. Sewell.
- Mannions Prince Arthur (020) 8365 1899 158 Broad Lane South Tottenham N15 4QJ
- Stoke Newington
- Army & Navy
1-3 Matthias Road
Listed on CAMRA's London Regional inventory of pubs with historic interiors. It is a splendid example of a 1930's Truman pub with much of the interior intact. Family friendly Irish run pub.
moc.bupexaeht@tnilf(020) 7254 9559
18 Northwold Road
Grace Land, operator of the Earl of Essex acquired what was Jan’s Bar to take its portfolio to five sites. It was acquired from a private vendor, via landlord Wellington Pub Company, for an undisclosed sum. Reopened as Axe in May 2017 with a central bar, an impressive beer list of 3 on cask, 15 on keg and lots of bottles. No clips but paper details slotted into board on the wall. A welcome change and return although the pub has no signage!
ku.oc.buppobebeht@ofni(020) 7254 7561
68 Green Lanes
All the Winnicott pubs closed in 2017 as the group went into financial problems. This one has now re-opened. From a Press Release.
"Alma team opens rock ‘n’ roll pub in Stoke Newington: The team behind award-winning north London pub The Alma have launched a rock ‘n’ roll pub in Stoke Newington. Be-Bop-A-Lula is a 1950s-themed pub that has opened in Green Lanes offering American-style diner food and decor featuring guitars and other rock ‘n’ roll memorabilia. The menu features burgers such as the Chick Berry, little bites such as Jailhouse Bait, and rock ‘n’ roast dinners including roast rib eye cut of beef. The menu also offers stone-baked pizza, the Famous Elvis Sandwich, and desserts such as American Pie. The drinks list features US and UK craft beer including offerings from Islington-based Hammerton Brewery, Hot Dinners reports."
As The Winnicott - Reopened 19th August 2015 after a long period of closure. The re-opening has led to the re-emergence of the fine exterior Charrington's fascia and tiling. This leads into what is essentially a single room wrapped around a long bar with the kitchen at one end. The bar extends the length of the pub and with discrete low lighting and a judicious use of candles, an intimate atmosphere results. Plenty of bar stools by the bar and a mixture of small and larger tables for various sized groups.
- Clarence Tavern
moc.liamg@61necneralceht(020) 8712 1188
102 Stoke Newington Church Street
Popular corner house previously named after local author of Robinson Crusoe fame and built in the 1860s. In 2015 the lease was taken on by The Yummy Collection as a "tea-themed" pub, hence its then name change but it seemed a lot of people did not like that so it has, in Aug 2017, reverted to its original name. Pleasant walled garden. Grade II listed in 1975. Lease acquired by Natural Pubs in 2020.
- Clissold Park Tavern
moc.nrevatkrapdlossilc@tcatnoc(020) 7226 7770
177 Green Lanes
The pub faces the SW corner of Clissold Park. After closing for a refurb reopened as Clissold Park Tavern and has been transformed. Now very popular, with younger hipster-type local custom. Still has real ale such as Luppolo Pale, Purity Bunny Hop and Truman Zephyr. Decent keg beers e.g. 40FT Seeing Red, Five Points XPA, Forest Road Work, Fourpure Juicebox, Hackney Session IPA, Lagunitas IPA, Luppolo Lager, Maisels Weiss, Murphy, One Mile End Gose Fleur de Sel. Nice big patio at side and rear, under trees, with fairy lights and table football, plus front patio inside a low wall. Check in bar or on social media for weekly changes. Bus 141,341,393 pass the door. Kitchen open daily midday - 10pm Fri & Sat pizza only is extended until 11pm
We had the pub listed as offering as discount to CAMRA members but a recent visitor said that was not the case.
- Coach & Horses
moc.61nsesrohdnahcaoc@ofni(020) 7254 6697
178 Stoke Newington High Street
Originally a coach house (a small building for housing coaches, carriages and other vehicles) dating back to the 1700′s, it is one of the oldest remaining public houses in the borough of Hackney which was formerly in the county of Middlesex. Varied food offering, see their website for full details.
moc.liamg@bupdleifnocel(020) 7354 2791
79 Green Lanes
The Oak Bar in Newington Green has had a make over and has emerged as the Leconfield, the name of the road behind the pub. It's an corner building, an inter war pub with mock Tudor frontage and some remaining features (marvelous tiled exterior with old Courage signage), but it has opened out inside and has a lovely large space with a mish-mash of distressed tables and chairs and an open-plan kitchen. Four handpumps dispense real ales in dimpled jugs from breweries across the country with an increasing focus on London. Quiz Thursday.
A welcome addition to the Newington Green area. Their website gives some very interesting historical information and details on the refurbishment. Please note that the beer rotate on a regular basis, their website gives the latest info on what's on. Pub also has its own loyalty scheme. Became an accredited member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme Nov 2014. Cask ales £3 pint on Tuesdays.
moc.hguorobsednoleht@tae(020) 7254 5865
36 Barbauld Road
Refurbished in minimalist style with exposed brickwork, and large retro style chairs and benches. A late licence has been applied for Friday and Saturday to midnight.
- Marquis Of Lansdowne
(020) 7254 1104
48 Stoke Newington Road
Been tarted up outside and a clean up inside. 12.5% surcharge on half pints.
Free of tie lease terms Tenure: Leasehold, Rent: Offers in excess of £90,000 per annum Guide Price:
"AVAILABLE AS A NEW LEASE – fully fitted and equipped RENTAL OFFERS IN EXCESS OF £90,000 PREMIUM OFFERS IN EXCESS OF £100,000"
moc.61necnirpeht@ofni(020) 7043 5210
59 Kynaston Road
Built around 1880 by the philanthropist Thomas Arno which used to be run by the famous Mancini boxing family. Has now transmogrified itself into a fairly typical gastro with all that goes with it, including food that could not be described as inexpensive. However, drinkers are not made to feel unwelcome in this L-shaped single roomed establishment with a zinc metal topped bar. There is an outside drinking area but it has to close at 8.00 to prevent noise disturbing neighbours. At the time of the visit there were 4 handpumps fitted with two ales and two ciders on sale with 12 craft ales, lagers, cider on keg dispense. They run 'A Crafty Drink' offer throughout the weekdays between 5-7pm with 30% off selected products. Also offer tasting flights, takeaway bottles of draught beer (at reduced rates) and host regular collaborative events with breweries throughout the year.
- Red Lion
ku.oc.sbupreitnorf@noilder(020) 7249 7980
132 Stoke Newington Church Street
Reopened March 2017. An inn called the Red Lion stood on this site in 1697 and behind it used to be the local lock-up and fire station. It went through a thorough refurbishment in 1988 when it became the Magpie and Stump, part of the Saxon Inns chain and became the Tup in 1998. Secluded garden. The older Truman's panels featuring the "Red Lion" name are still there and the (full) name is now picked out in a different colour of paint. Hence it seems to have reverted to Red Lion, at least by default. To try and protect it as a pub, an ACV app was filed on 04/01/2017. Decent keg beers include 40FT Pale, Beavertown Gamma Ray, Brixton Electric IPA, Camden Pale and Unfiltered Hells, Chapel Down Curious, Estrella Damm, Five Points XPA, Magic Rock Salty Kiss, Redchurch Brick Lane Lager.
- Rose & Crown
ku.oc.61nnworcdnaesor@reganam(020) 7923 3337
199 Stoke Newington Church Street
Note - payment by card only, no cash.
Close to historic Clissold House and park, this is the "gateway" to central Stoke Newington night-life. This inter-war former Truman's house retains many period features, including distinctive wood panelling which has led to its listing on CAMRA's Regional inventory of pub interiors. Ideal for lazy Sunday afternoons. En suite accommodation available. Food serving times - check their website. Popular and busy pub quiz on Tuesday nights - can be difficult to get a table if you are not playing. Has been known as such since 1612 but the original inns were on the east junction of Albion Rd and it moved to its present position in 1930 which probably goes a long way to explain the inter-war fabric. There was a house beer - Caledonian Edinburgh Castle in another guise - but it has not been seen recently.
- Ryan's N16
moc.liamelgoog@61nsnayr(020) 7275 7807
181 Stoke Newington Church Street
Closed for refurbishment in March 2106, now reopened. The building and 19th century draper's shop extension were listed Grade II in 1975 (clearly a popular year for listings!) and since the late 1980s has been variously La Manch and the Vestry. Decent keg beers include Beavertown Gamma Ray, Beer Hug Hibernation White, Blue Moon, Brooklyn Scorcher IPA, Five Points Pils, Hiver, Kernel Pale Ale, Lervig Sour Suzy, Meantime London Pale Ale, Vedett. Pool and darts seem to have gone. Surprisingly large rear patio garden. Serves Thai food. Various weekly events such as poker and open mic. Sport shown.
ku.oc.sbupelbakramer@eraepsekahs(020) 7254 4190
57 Allen Road
Attractive and welcoming street corner pub. The central bar dominates this pub, which has large windows to both streets and much etched glass. They don’t serve food, but do highly recommend the pizza shop right next door and you can bring their food in. Part of Remarkable Pubs. No entrance after 23.00. Beers can vary but mostly are all from Fuller's with one "guest". Trivia Quiz Monday. Beer garden. Sky TV.
- Turnpike House
270 Stamford Hill
Large single bar street corner locals pub, refurbished in 2019 now with a narrower bar profile, pool table at rear, 5 x TV sports screens. No food, basic snacks only
This pub has reopened as a Craft Union pub (Ei Group, managed house). 4 new hand pumps installed - Pride and Doom both on display but both unavailable on a visit 16th July 2019.
- White Hart
moc.nodnolcitna@trahetihw(020) 7254 6626
69 Stoke Newington High Street
Run by the Antic pub company under whom it reverted to its original name. There is a large garden at the back and lots of things going on including DJs Fri/Sat and live music Sun, events in the function room, live sports and other nightlife activities. There's a large menu including a barbecue, see website for detail. Table football and pinball. The pub's website lists forthcoming beers. A good 15 minute walk from Dalston Kingsland over ground. Previous name(s): White Hart then Murphys Tavern.
(020) 7249 9964
121 Stoke Newington Road
Large Irish bar still serving Pride in 2017. 5 big screens and 15 tvs for sport.
- Army & Navy 07970 763190 1-3 Matthias Road Stoke Newington N16 8NN
- Stroud Green
- Nicholas Nickleby
moc.loa@ybelkcinkcineht(020) 8292 4170
6 Ferme Park Road
The beer range can vary depending upon what the pub can source (on a visit in August 2010 it had Black Sheep Bitter, Spitfire and a beer from Brew Dog in Scotland). Usually busy with a second room mainly for games (darts, pool, bar billiards). A shop conversion (1989), like many Irish bars in North London, majoring on sporting events in an area under-served for pubs. Impressive fireplace and pleasant wood panelling. Outside drinking area at the back where smoking is permitted. Darts played with team in local league and occasional quiz nights. CAMRA Members Discount of 10% - show your card. W3 bus links to Finsbury Park, stop is right outside the pub and from the back bar you can read the indicator showing the time the next bus is due. Sunday lunches. Privately owned by Henry Brewer Ltd. No food.
- Nicholas Nickleby moc.loa@ybelkcinkcineht(020) 8292 4170 6 Ferme Park Road Stroud Green N4 4ED
moc.71neviheeb@ofni(020) 8808 3567
In a side road off the High Road, this two bar pub is on the CAMRA Regional inventory of historic interiors and is a good example of a "Brewer's Tudor" style pub as you will find anywhere. The interior is still as it was in 1927 apart from one screen removed. See it reviewed in CAMRA's London's Heritage Pubs book.
It manages to feel cosy, despite its size. After a period of uncertainty, acquired by Camden Bars and re-opened in March 2014 initially offering a wide range of ever changing ales, from national and local micro breweries. However, subsequently the cask ale range had slowly fallen to just one beer (although this may increase on busy days).
In addition a selection of craft keg beers on draft and in bottles such as Dog Fish DNA and Lagunitas IPA and locally brewed Beavertown plus a wide selection of bottles. Pulled pork sandwiches, burgers to hog roasts all made by Phileas Hogg. Summer barbecues, Sunday roasts. Since 2014 a member of CAMRA's LocAle scheme. CAMRA local Pub of the Season Winter 2014/15. Weds quiz. Outside bar & BBQ on Spurs match days.
moc.bupstaoceulbeht@olleh(020) 8801 4070
614 High Road
Taken over in May 2018 by Background Bars and renamed BLUECOATS, reflecting the old stone-faced building’s original purpose. Cask beer restored, three such as One Mile End Salvation, Redemption Big Chief and Hopspur.
The building was built in 1835, formerly The Bluecoats School for Girls. Bluecoats School started in 1735 and joined All Hallows’ School in 1930. All Hallows’ School joined St Paul’s National School in 1971 to become St Paul’ and All Hallows’ Infant and Junior Schools.
The incarnation before Bluecoats was as an independent cafe bar/restaurant and night club opened by December 2010.
- Elbow Room
email@example.com(020) 8801 8769
503-505 High Road
An excellent local also keen on sport (this is Tottenham after all). A former Wetherspoon's pub, which has kept their low prices. The pub's intimacy is created by the raised area, wooden pillars and a semi separate area to the rear. Large Spurs mirror behind the friendly dark wooden bar as well as lots of Spurs memorabilia on the walls. The footballs on the ceilings, at the time of visiting, reflect the pub's sense of humour. Locals reckon the pub has the best Xmas decorations anywhere. The Courage Best is sold at a very favourable price.
- Ferry Boat Inn
firstname.lastname@example.org(020) 8808 4980
Comfortable large pub with various rooms with a mix of seating ranging from dining tables to settees. The entrance area has high tables and stools and a stone floor and the two areas to left and right are more eating areas. There a couple of fire places that appear original as does the water pump in front of the pub. Framed drawings of London buildings are scattered throughout. Large garden at the back in addition to a few seats at the front. Cask beer from a changing range. On the banks of the Low Maynard reservoir, part of the Lee Valley Reservoir Chain, this tranquil spot consists of wooded islands and marshes, and is a magnet for bird watchers. Existing for over 100 years, its location has made it popular with locals, travellers to London and even holidaymakers. in 1877, over 12,000 holidaymakers arrived at the nearby Bruce Grove Station with droves descending onto the Ferry Boat to dance in the gardens, which from time to time sported a brass band. Can get very busy at times.
(020) 8808 2062
5 Bruce Grove
A family friendly social club for the residents and supporters of Tottenham next to Bruce Grove station.
moc.kooltuo@9491nellakcim(020) 8808 2691
131 Chesnut Road
If leaving the Beehive, follow the cycle route to Tottenham Hale station and you will pass the Volunteer. Somewhat hidden from the major streets in the area, but a busy local pub with an emphasis on sport, aside from the 2 massive televisions that dominate the front of the pub, there are a number of trophies above the bar, mostly for darts. There is a nice beer garden at the front.
- Beehive moc.71neviheeb@ofni(020) 8808 3567 Stoneleigh Road Tottenham N17 9BQ
- Tufnell Park
- Aces & Eights
moc.rabnoolassthgiednaseca@sgnikoob(020) 7485 4033
156-158 Fortess Road
Tweeted 11 June as now selling real ale. However on a visit in Sept 2015 the cask beer had disappeared but in May 2016 it had returned, they do have two engines, one pump currently has Dark Star Hophead with hopes to have a second beer on at some point.
- Aces & Eights moc.rabnoolassthgiednaseca@sgnikoob(020) 7485 4033 156-158 Fortess Road Tufnell Park NW5 2HP
- Upper Holloway
- Boston Arms
ku.oc.smranotsob@ofni(020) 7272 8153
178 Junction Road
A very large pub opposite Tufnell Park tube station featuring live music and a recently added food (restaurant) offering. A majestic looking building dominating the area. Food served at all times.Food Delivery available from Uber Eats and JustEat. Information on the live music offering can be found at https://www.bostonmusicroom.co.uk/
- Charlotte Despard
ku.oc.drapsedettolrahceht@rab(020) 7272 7872
17-19 Archway Road
Close to Archway gyratory. Regular weekly events such as Tuesday quiz nights. Music Sat nights. Charlotte Despard (born Charlotte French) - 1844 to 1939 - was a British born, later Irish based suffragist, novelist and Sinn Féin activist. As The Dog this was a Marlers then a very early Wetherspoons and their corporate offices were above the pub. Now an accredited member of the CAMRA LocAle scheme, the pub serves four cask beers, always LocAle (others can include ELB and London Fields) and up to 80 bottled beers and ciders. Plenty of buses pass by too numerous to list.
Note - the pub is now generally closed on a Monday unless they choose to open for a particular reason - e.g. because of Xmas, for example.
(020) 7272 1819
622 Holloway Road
In May 2018 this pub reinstated cask beer, there are two handpumps which sometimes offer different beers but sometimes just the one, available at a fair price of £3.60 a pint. With its traditional games and large TV, the pub does somewhat evoke a style which has sadly gone out of fashion, when the Holloway road pubs would have been managed by Irish ex-pats with a customer base from the same locale. There are some lovely features, especially the angled, leaded and coloured windows. The upholstery is plush and red with ample seating and bar stools. Impressive entrances on the main road and side road, indicating the different bars that there once would have been. The Umbrella Brewery is in the same building at the back but not connected.
- North Nineteen
ku.oc.neeteninhtron@ofni(020) 7281 2786
194-196 Sussex Way
Back street community pub, formerly named 'Enterprise', modernised and re-opened after a period of closure, with a major refurbishment it is now decidedly up market from the previous offering. The real ale range was expanded with the opening of a "Whisky and ale bar" although now reduced to two on a recent visit. All "home cooked British only" food including a "steak bar" including Sunday roast dinners. The pub has a member's club with a discount of 40p per pint if you join - see their web site for details. The pub has extended the offer to CAMRA members with 20p off a pint of real ale when showing your card, which will be attractive to the casual visitor. The price differential is an incentive for you to join his club and you will get regular email updates as to what is happening at the pub.
- Oak & Pastor
moc.rotsapdnakao@eciffo(020) 8616 0943
86 Junction Road
The origins of this building can be traced back to the 19th century; the first record being a public house in 1889 when it was christened the Junction Arms. During the Second World War this building was damaged by the bombing, however only suffered minor damage to the exterior structure. In 1964 the Junction Arms became the Drum and Monkey, the tenant instigated the story behind this unusual name, at the time owning an ornament depicting a drum and monkey (odd!!). Now a warm and friendly pub with a varied food offering (see their website for menus), nice gardens, open fireplace in winter and lots of reclaimed church furniture. Comedy nights
moc.bupratseht@seiriuqne(020) 7272 2863
47 Chester Road
Formerly the Totnes Castle, the Star is reaping the rewards of reinventing itself as a gastro pub. The emphasis is not just on food though; there is an acoustic music night on Thursdays and the 'Anything Goes' club on the first Sunday of the month lives up to its name with everything from comedy to poetry. The growing number of pump clips behind the bar shows the pub's commitment to a changing range of real ale - even the pub's reading material includes the Timothy Taylor Times. Guest beers in July were Hammerton N1 and Purity Pure Ubu. Food served from 18.30 - 22.30. But don't give any leftovers to the pub dog. Signs advise you not to feed it under any circumstances! Various bottled ciders are also available but the Addlestone's Cloudy on pump is not felt to meet CAMRA's standards on what makes real cider. Beer garden. Bus: C11.
- Whittington Stone
email@example.com(020) 7281 0905
53 Highgate Hill
Newly reopened following a £200,000 refurbishment but still mostly used by locals from the estate that it is part of (it was built in the same style and at the same time as the estate) and workers and visitors to the Whittington hospital. Liver sport can predominate.
- Boston Arms ku.oc.smranotsob@ofni(020) 7272 8153 178 Junction Road Upper Holloway N19 5QQ
- West Hampstead
ku.oc.oohay@bupecnailla(020) 7794 2860
40 Mill Lane
Much modernised corner pub in back streets of West Hampstead, essentially two rooms, the left hand one being the brighter, through having windows along the side with a small partitioned area at the rear. The longer right hand room has a panelled ceiling and a pool table and darts board at the rear. Uplighting is applied to the light pastel coloured walls, to give a comfortable ambience. Toned down to a traditional pub now, only a couple of sports screens, more gastro food, and now five real ales.
A disabled access ramp is available from the road. Very limited pavement space for smokers. The pub also presents periodically changing exhibitions of high class photography and paintings by local artists. Thursday night is quiz night, while Saturday nights feature a wide range of music styles. Bus: C11 (Westbere Road). The Alliance has been listed as an Asset of Community Value March 2016.
In July 2019, the 2 guest beers were from New River. London Tap & Riverside Red.
- Black Lion
ku.oc.6wnnoilkcalbeht@ofni(020) 7435 4389
295 West End Lane
Large main road pub at West Hampstead Green. A mixture of high and low seating and sofas is provided to suit all requirements. Fairly large outdoor drinking areas are provided at both back and front. Food is served from a short but well thought menu with brunches served Friday and Saturday, see their website for more detail. For many years badged as a standard Greene King pub but now trades under its Metropolitan Pub Company brand. This has resulted in an expanding and changing range of real ales which does not seem to feature Greene King standards. Sunday quiz.
- Cumberland Lawn Tennis Club
moc.cch-ctlc@seiriuqne(020) 7435 6022
25 Alvanley Gardens
Private members sports club - Tennis, squash, cricket & hockey. The cafe/bar is only open to members.
ku.oc.gnikeneerg@5918(020) 7624 7611
100 West End Lane
Re-opened after work on the upper floor in the summer of 2015. Large mid-Victorian pub on corner close to the stations, in the style of the North London railway. Comfortable leather covered bench seating in several drinking areas opposite long bar. Television screens in most areas for sporting events. The pub features several varieties of entertainment, Quiz night Sunday, Karaoke on Tuesdays. Student discount card scheme available (students would need to ask for details). The upstairs room was a jazz club and also featured early performances by the Stones and Hendrix.
- Alliance ku.oc.oohay@bupecnailla(020) 7794 2860 40 Mill Lane West Hampstead NW6 1NR
- Willesden Green
- Beer & Burger Store
moc.erotsregrubdnareeb@nedselliw(020) 3019 7575
88 Walm Lane
Converted to pub use in 1996 as one of McGowan's Irish bars which installed handpumps to sell real ale, although it did not last. In winter 2016 became the area's first craft beer bar offering up to 20 keg beers (many from London) and a very large bottled selection, many of which are bottle conditioned. Two bag-in-box ciders/perries are dispensed from the fridge. The tap list is updated on their untappd profile and changes are tweeted regularly. Diagonally opposite Willesden Green tube. The same operator runs The Stag in Hampstead and The Mall in Notting Hill. A nano brewery called Project 88 was also in operation at the site but now, any beers under that brand name, are contract brewed in Swindon.
- Beer & Burger Store moc.erotsregrubdnareeb@nedselliw(020) 3019 7575 88 Walm Lane Willesden Green NW2 4QY
- Wood Green
- Goodness Brewing Company Tap
5a Clarendon Yard, Coburg Road
Note on Saturday the taproom may close at 5pm for events so please check website before travel. Beers coming from on site brewery, has been in production since about July 2019. Four of theirs available on keg plus guests. One handpump on the bar and in use on a visit in Jan 2019. Taproom is £5/pint, we think for all of their beers. Card only, no cash. Pizza and a pint for £10 on Fridays.
(020) 8829 8989
4 Coburg Road
On a recent visit - 22/3/19 - there was no cask beer but the plan is still to have Muswell Hillbilly.
Cafe and events space in the Wood Green Cultural Quarter. Muswell Hillbilly IPA has been here on handpump and their Red has also been on. They have two handpumps, no idea of normal range. On keg they have two beers from Bohem, two Earth Ales and one Pitfield Stout. Bottles of Oddly beers available. Happy hours 5-7. On Thu-Sat they say they are open "until late" but that is not defined further.
If a ticketed event is being held admission may be restricted to ticket holders. If so carry on down to The Prince. Note that on Thu to Saturday they say they are open "until late" without being defined.
- Nag's Head
firstname.lastname@example.orgN(020) 8889 0376
203 High Road
Closed for a refurbishment in Feb 2018 and has now reopened under its former name. Occupying a major corner site in the centre of Wood Green, an impressive exterior leads to a somewhat barn-like interior, a vast drinking den; food is served daily 10.00 - 22.00. It's a lively place, with several drinking areas, some booths for a bit more intimacy, a table football machine and at the back a pool table and outside smoking area. Sports screens all around. House DJ Fri/Sat from 21.00 to closing. Rebellion IPA assumed to be a guest shortly after reopening.
(020) 8365 4356
Palm Court Entrance, Alexandra Palace, Alexandra Park
Reopened in 2011 following a refurbishment, under new management and with a new name and hopefully a more regular availability of real ale. Located in the iconic Alexandra Palace, the home of many things including the original location for CAMRA's Great British Beer Festival. As the name might suggest, the provision of food is a key part of the new offering and the menu includes seafood, salads, grills, and vegetarian dishes, all meals being available in smaller sizes for children who are made welcome. In Nov 2017 - two ales available, a house ale, Alexandre Ale, brewery unknown, along with Arkell''s Spiced Pumpkin Ale. In July 2018 two beers from Fuller's were on handpump. Service is usually in plastic glasses although you can request a proper glass if you are remaining indoors.
- Spouters Corner
ku.oc.noopsrehtewdj@093p(020) 8881 3891
Unit 5, Spouter's Corner, 180 High Rd
Formerly just known as Wetherspoons, in common with the other such generic named pubs in the chain, it has been given a new name, the Spouter's Corner. Part of the Hollywood Green leisure complex, that corner of the High Road was called Spouter's Corner in the past for its popularity for free speech, or "spouting" in a similar style to Speaker's Corner at Hyde Park. Open air meetings were held until the 1950s and it was also an assembly point for hiring workers. You enter through an outside, covered terrace into a very modern pub which it does quite well. Some striking and large murals and wall art adorn the place together with a large sculpture from a local artist. The area to the back is designated as a dining area but this may only apply during peak times. Plenty of story boards on local history and notable residents such as Ted Willis and Jack Hawkins. Ciders were stored in the fridge - Weston's Marcle Hill and Mr Whitehead's Cirrus Minor in August 2011.
- Starting Gate
ku.oc.etaggnitratseht@yriuqne(020) 8889 9436
Built in 1875, the year Alexandra Palace opened. It became the Starting Gate in 1858 when a racecourse was started in Alexandra Park. Much of the interior dates from an 1899 refit, including partitions radiating from the island bar, the different bits served by six external doors. Modern side room with pizza oven. Now M&B, ex-Allied, Spirit, Orchid. Additional info on a recent visit we found Doom Bar as well as Adnams Herbalist, Redemption Pale and Trinity.
moc.22nyrubtsew@rasiv(020) 8889 2059
57 Westbury Avenue
Large, impressive corner pub taken over in 2014 by London Village Inns. A sister pub to the Jolly Butchers in Stoke Newington, a wide range of beers is available including a number from London breweries such as Hammerton & Redemption. Food from an open-plan kitchen will have greater visibility.
Well worth a visit. On bank holidays they are likely to open Sunday hours for drinks and food.
Note - payment by card only, cash not accepted.
- Wood Green Social Club
ku.oc.ilacsit@bulclaicosneergdoow(020) 8888 9917
3/5 Stuarts Cresc, Stirling House
A few minutes walk away from North London’s busy Wood Green Shopping City and the tube station, you will find the club whose origins can be traced back to first decade of the 20th century. Now housed in a very functional looking 60s building, perhaps not the most pleasing of architectural styles making it a club with a modern appearance but with over a hundred years of fascinating history that the current committee and members are proud of. It began life as the Southgate and Wood Green Labour Club and had very strong links with the local Labour party and trades unions. The club has 3 handpumps of which only 1 is used as real ale just about ticks over. The current beer is London Pride.
If members would like to pop into the Wood Green Social Club they will be admitted on production of Camra membership card
- Goodness Brewing Company Tap 5a Clarendon Yard, Coburg Road Wood Green N22 6TZ