Camden Head
2 Camden WalkLondon
N1 8DY
See more about this pub on WhatPub, CAMRA's national pub guide.
A marvellous example of a Victorian pub, Grade II listed, built in 1899 and restored in 1969 by architect Richard Gradidge. It was then that the pub lost its separate bars (clearly evidenced by the three splendid entrances, albeit one's blocked off); sections of the original partitions, with the engraved faceted glass, being reused to form part of the alcoves. The island bar remains the same with a splendid clock from Pond's of Clerkenwell and a blown glass gin bottle. Most of the etched, bowed windows are original although some were replaced as exact replicas in 1969. Stained and painted glass panels in the function room come from a nearby, demolished pub. Beautiful fireplace is original although tiles added during a more recent refurbishment. Waiter bell mechanism remains. Large outside terrace. Comedy club nightly free. The nearby area is packed with antiques shops and similar establishments. Beer range varies.